Reply
Thread Tools
Ancelad's Avatar
Posts: 1,552 | Thanked: 3,108 times | Joined on Jun 2012 @ Russia, 96
#1
SWAP Manager for MeeGo Harmattan with user-friendly interface.



Installation:

1) OpenMode users: just download and install

2) Other users: you should use aegis-hack-installer

a) install aegis-hack-installer

b) enable my WareHouse-repository

c) run terminal and do this:

Code:
devel-su
apt-get update
aegis-apt-get swapmanagement*
d) enjoy!

Download from OpenRepos

Post your wishes or bugreports here =)

Last edited by Ancelad; 2014-10-06 at 12:02.
 

The Following 16 Users Say Thank You to Ancelad For This Useful Post:
Posts: 245 | Thanked: 233 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Ljubljana, Slovenia
#2
Need to test and see an effect, but still -- thanks for effort & not forgetting N9
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to sponka For This Useful Post:
Posts: 207 | Thanked: 66 times | Joined on Dec 2012 @ Syria - Tartus
#3
Thanxs for that useful app , its make the phone faster
 

The Following User Says Thank You to milad ghusn For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#4
Thanks.

Even I do not really see the necessity. I do in no way want to criticize your work, but:
We have 1G of mem, from which 256M is reserved for ramzwap (swap usage). So if you not have heavily modded your device, lots of daemons running and/or tons of apps open at the same time, this should not make the device any faster.
And I do not know of any problems with swap fragmentation (as on te N900, need to defrag/re-swap).

Out of curiosity: where do you gain the additional swap space from? Increasing ramzwap (hereby decreasing real RAM) would not make sense. Or from "unused" mtd5? In latter case you should give a hint/warning (at least to 'old-style' ubiboot users) about using that device.
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
Ancelad's Avatar
Posts: 1,552 | Thanked: 3,108 times | Joined on Jun 2012 @ Russia, 96
#5
Originally Posted by peterleinchen View Post
Thanks.

Even I do not really see the necessity. I do in no way want to criticize your work, but:
We have 1G of mem, from which 256M is reserved for ramzwap (swap usage). So if you not have heavily modded your device, lots of daemons running and/or tons of apps open at the same time, this should not make the device any faster.
And I do not know of any problems with swap fragmentation (as on te N900, need to defrag/re-swap).

Out of curiosity: where do you gain the additional swap space from? Increasing ramzwap (hereby decreasing real RAM) would not make sense. Or from "unused" mtd5? In latter case you should give a hint/warning (at least to 'old-style' ubiboot users) about using that device.
I often have situations, then I have about 50 mb RAM and ~400 mb (from 768) of SWAP free... With 255 mb SWAP my device works slower than with 768 mb...

Additional space - from rootfs.

Code:
dd if=/dev/zero of=myswapfile bs=1M count=513
So, I think, old-ubiboot users can sleep quietly...
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Ancelad For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#6
Sounds good (use of swap file, have that still ages )

Go ahead, folks
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 

The Following User Says Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
Posts: 649 | Thanked: 762 times | Joined on Mar 2012 @ Ohio
#7
Thank you for this. I am excited to see if there is any performance increase.

I use Drop Cache, and in that program it still has the SWAP listed at a maximum of 255mb available. I'm assuming that has more to do with the app than an actual reading of available SWAP. How to I check available swap from the command line, since my usual way is not giving a proper reading?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to imaginaryenemy For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#8
Code:
cat /proc/swaps
afair DropCache does only similar thing as swap defragmentation. So possibly it just drops ramzwap, not any swap files/devices/partitions. Most probably, as DropCache did not know about Swap Management
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature

Last edited by peterleinchen; 2014-09-30 at 21:53.
 
Posts: 649 | Thanked: 762 times | Joined on Mar 2012 @ Ohio
#9
Originally Posted by peterleinchen View Post
Code:
cat /proc/swaps
afair DropCache does only similar thing as swap defragmentation. So possibly it just drops ramzwap, not any swap files/devices/partitions. Most probably, as DropCache did not know about Swap Management
Code:
~ $ cat /proc/swaps
Filename            Type         Size        Used    Priority
/dev/ramzswap0      partition    262136       0        -1
Not sure that was what I was looking for...

It seems to tell me the same thing Drop Cache told me.

Last edited by imaginaryenemy; 2014-09-30 at 22:23.
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#10
Then what?

The output states that you have 256M of swap (ramzwap). Stock configuration.

I do not know the details, but if ancelad created a swap file it should show up here. (assuming you installed swap management)
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:22.