Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,636 | Thanked: 3,586 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ North Potomac MD
#181
Originally Posted by wrm View Post
I had the same problem with earlier update last year, just updated via terminal version --dup, other updates after that went fine.
Hi. Thanks for you suggestion. I tried "version --dup" in terminal and while it appears to clear up cache it did not appear to work properly or was failing to resolve some issue. Showed an error about not finding a web site location. Also it did show an update was available. There was also a message that some optimizations were needed before the update could proceed. Needed about 1.5GB memory which was available. It appears to me that when trying to update that the download is not completed. Once download was completed it asked to update and it failed.I then get the message to try again later as if there might have been a bad internet connection such that the download was corrupted. Sorry if this is a little vague as I don't have phone with me so I'm simply recalling what happened. Should I have run "version --dup" as superuser? Any other insights?
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mscion For This Useful Post:
Posts: 166 | Thanked: 183 times | Joined on Mar 2014 @ .LT
#182
Originally Posted by Martinhsl68hw View Post
Is anyone else getting warm phone/faster battery drain with the new update?
Xperia draining as hell. Much worse than JP1.. Dont know if this related with last update.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to wrm For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,177 | Thanked: 3,946 times | Joined on Oct 2014
#183
Originally Posted by wrm View Post
Xperia draining as hell. Much worse than JP1.. Dont know if this related with last update.
Well, it is, but donít forget, itís an EA release. Probably have some debugging enabled which can explain that
__________________
You can still support my work by donation - click here

ETH: 0xFcD031609DB739C62730589361940C68ceEbC913
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to nieldk For This Useful Post:
Amboss's Avatar
Posts: 177 | Thanked: 268 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Mittelfranken, Germany
#184
Its not EA. I never use EA and I was notified on friday I think
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Amboss For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,177 | Thanked: 3,946 times | Joined on Oct 2014
#185
Originally Posted by Amboss View Post
Its not EA. I never use EA and I was notified on friday I think
My bad, 2.1.4.14 is indeed not EA.
__________________
You can still support my work by donation - click here

ETH: 0xFcD031609DB739C62730589361940C68ceEbC913
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to nieldk For This Useful Post:
Dave999's Avatar
Posts: 6,810 | Thanked: 8,287 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Moon! It's not the East or the West side... it's the Dark Side
#186
I think the battary drain is OK. A bigger issue is that it can jump from 40% to shutdown so have I no clue when it will checkout So you can trust it. Its a gamble.

N9 also had this feature
__________________
Do something for the climate today! Anything!

I don't trust poeple without a Nokia n900...I'm also supporting Apple 2016 or until Jolla fully refund or ship the jPad to all backers and supports!

"waited over a year for no tablet Ė and then the same again for potential refund? inspires confidence!"
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Dave999 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 166 | Thanked: 183 times | Joined on Mar 2014 @ .LT
#187
N9 had, never experienced that with JP1 or SFOSX.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to wrm For This Useful Post:
olf's Avatar
Posts: 103 | Thanked: 383 times | Joined on Aug 2015
#188
Originally Posted by mscion View Post
Hi. I just tried updating my tablet and Jolla 1 phone. The tablet seems to update fine. But, similar to melmoth.sk I was not able to update Jolla 1 phone. The error message is "Sailfish could not be updated. Please try again later" Then it asks to reboot. One thing that sounds strange is the message says to try later, which seems like the problem would be on Jolla's end. Is that the case?
No, usually not: It is just a generic message, that something went wrong.
For details see /var/log/systemupdate.log

Originally Posted by mscion View Post
[...] Should I have run "version --dup" as superuser?
Yes, see e.g. Sailfish OS Cheat Sheet.

Any other insights?
As it is a quite generic error message, the reasons for it may vary greatly.
I ran into the same message the last couple of SFOS updates, but believe that in my case this is linked to Battery notifier 2 and / or BTRFS balance checker 2. If you have one of them installed, you may disable their autostart, reboot, try updating SFOS, and please report your experience (preferably in aforementioned TJC thread).

Last edited by olf; 2018-03-13 at 20:23.
 

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to olf For This Useful Post:
Posts: 284 | Thanked: 887 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ USA
#189
I'm not experiencing unusual battery drain on 2.1.4.14 Xperia X. I did the first day or two, but after the indexing settles down it's normal, as good as 2.1.3.7.
__________________
Sony Xperia X SFOS 2.1.3.7, Nokia N810
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to deprecated For This Useful Post:
Posts: 45 | Thanked: 101 times | Joined on May 2011
#190
Originally Posted by deprecated View Post
I'm not experiencing unusual battery drain on 2.1.4.14 Xperia X. I did the first day or two, but after the indexing settles down it's normal, as good as 2.1.3.7.
Ah - I didn't think of that - I had previously restricted my indexing I think
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Martinhsl68hw For This Useful Post:
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:05.