Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 752 | Thanked: 2,808 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Czech Republic
#3171
Originally Posted by misterc View Post
been doing that for the last 24 hrs so, just one more time, right?
Not sure how big is your backup and how you are transferring it, but what about trying to compress it just like Jolla does it when you have microSD attached?

First
Code:
$ tar -zcvf Backup.tar.gz /home/nemo/.vault
and then
Code:
tar -zxvf Backup.tar.gz
on the other device.
I have transferred backups this way before Jolla enabled the easy transfer through microSD.

Originally Posted by misterc View Post
see above...
What's there to see? I couldn't find anything that would justify the attitude. Yet I'm trying to help you even though you didn't even ask for it.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to nodevel For This Useful Post:
misterc's Avatar
Posts: 1,625 | Thanked: 998 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#3172
Originally Posted by nodevel View Post
Not sure how big is your backup
Code:
[root@Jolla nemo]# du -sm /home/nemo/.vault/
1742    /home/nemo/.vault
and how you are transferring it,
i have a 64GB µSDXC on which i have two ext2 partition (src and src.ins)
it went into src.ins/home/nemo/.vault

but what about trying to compress it just like Jolla does it when you have microSD attached?

First
Code:
$ tar -zcvf Backup.tar.gz /home/nemo/.vault
and then
Code:
tar -zxvf Backup.tar.gz
on the other device.



What's there to see? I couldn't find anything that would justify the attitude. Yet I'm trying to help you even though you didn't even ask for it.
even though the 2 ext2 partitions are only about 8GB in total, plenty of room (for 1742MB?) and i didn't even bother with compressing

btw...
earlier today, about 2 or 3 device resets ago i installed mc
Code:
pkcon local-install mc-4.8.10-1.armv7hl.rpm
guess what... it's still there
not sure what that darn reset does except losing the user's data and going back to version 1, but it doesn't seem very thorough at it
thanks for the help, btw
__________________
information is a necessary though no sufficient condition to rationality...
 
misterc's Avatar
Posts: 1,625 | Thanked: 998 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#3173
Originally Posted by veeall View Post
Yes, though it is possible to zip the .local folder and transfer it using mtp protocol or over wifi using sshfs, ie the geeks way. Or copy it to a sdcard.

I've always backed up .local because it is how i do on a computer, no need to rely on specialized and limited gui.
.vault is not a subdirectory of .local
both are in /home/nemo
__________________
information is a necessary though no sufficient condition to rationality...
 
nthn's Avatar
Posts: 764 | Thanked: 2,888 times | Joined on Jun 2014
#3174
I read somewhere that currently there is no support for SD cards with multiple partitions, or at least only the first partition is used. Maybe that's what you're having problems with?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to nthn For This Useful Post:
misterc's Avatar
Posts: 1,625 | Thanked: 998 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#3175
Originally Posted by nthn View Post
I read somewhere that currently there is no support for SD cards with multiple partitions, or at least only the first partition is used. Maybe that's what you're having problems with?
with version "1" and 1.0.2.5 the SD card wasn't even mounted, indeed
anything >= 1.0.7.16 all the partitions (vFAT and ext2) get mounted
it doesn't seem to know what to do with the two (extended) swap partitions however, but well, only needed it on N900, right?

Edit:
Code:
swapon /dev/mmcblk1p6
works
just need to know which is the default swap partition and all set
__________________
information is a necessary though no sufficient condition to rationality...

Last edited by misterc; 2015-01-18 at 21:57.
 
Posts: 752 | Thanked: 2,808 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Czech Republic
#3176
Originally Posted by misterc View Post
i have a 64GB µSDXC on which i have two ext2 partition (src and src.ins)
it went into src.ins/home/nemo/.vault
If you do own a microSD card, then what about the official way:
  1. Open Settings/Backup and create backup on device 1
  2. Choose 'Copy to memory card' from the pulldown menu
  3. Put the memory card in the device 2
  4. Open Settings/Backup and choose 'Restore from memory card' from the pulldown menu

That doesn't work? Or is that option not yet available on your system version?
 
misterc's Avatar
Posts: 1,625 | Thanked: 998 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#3177
Originally Posted by nodevel View Post
If you do own a microSD card, then what about the official way:
  1. Open Settings/Backup and create backup on device 1
  2. Choose 'Copy to memory card' from the pulldown menu
  3. Put the memory card in the device 2
  4. Open Settings/Backup and choose 'Restore from memory card' from the pulldown menu

That doesn't work? Or is that option not yet available on your system version?
nice
pity it doesn't work
had to provide a (vFAT) card with a single partition
so far, so good
1st troublesome point: from 1.7GB on the source device the backup is now 2.0GB
with interests?
2nd (and most annoying) hardly anything gets restored
calls & messages and that's it
seen that it's a secondary device on which the calls & SMSes are few and far between, i don't really care
(primary is now a NOKIA Lumia 1020)
the rest?
nada

i stroke thru my initial post today even though it's only for the honourable mention
as usual with Jolla, it doesn't work
unlike alright
__________________
information is a necessary though no sufficient condition to rationality...
 
Posts: 752 | Thanked: 2,808 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Czech Republic
#3178
Originally Posted by misterc View Post
1st troublesome point: from 1.7GB on the source device the backup is now 2.0GB
That's quite weird, considering my compressed backup (using the same official way) is under 30MB. But I don't backup photos this way, because I find copying them using sftp easier.
 
misterc's Avatar
Posts: 1,625 | Thanked: 998 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#3179
Originally Posted by nodevel View Post
That's quite weird, considering my compressed backup (using the same official way) is under 30MB. But I don't backup photos this way, because I find copying them using sftp easier.
the Jolla backup.tar is not compressed, thus (at least) 1:1 the original data (1742MBs in my case)
i meanwhile discovered that Jolla doesn't only transfer the last backup (as one might expect) but all of them
however that works, as there is only one .vault dir (which is 1742MBs)

yet another unlike thing, i guess

i have the NOKIA Lumia 1020 for the photos thus yet another thing i don't need the Jolla for
__________________
information is a necessary though no sufficient condition to rationality...
 
Posts: 752 | Thanked: 2,808 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Czech Republic
#3180
Originally Posted by misterc View Post
the Jolla backup.tar is not compressed, thus (at least) 1:1 the original data (1742MBs in my case)
I see. Therefore I have < 30MB uncompressed
Originally Posted by misterc View Post
i meanwhile discovered that Jolla doesn't only transfer the last backup (as one might expect) but all of them
however that works, as there is only one .vault dir (which is 1742MBs)

yet another unlike thing, i guess
I love complaining without actually knowing how it works.

The backup system in Jolla (The Vault) is based on git, therefore you can have 50 backups, but the files have just one copy per version.
Let's illustrate on photos:
If you make one backup in April, another in August (taking pictures in the meanwhile) and a third one in December (again, lots of pictures in between), then the size of the three backups combined will be the same as the size of the last (December) backup.
Of course, it is up to you how many backups you want to preserve (you can delete the rest), but complaining that Jolla saves all backups is beyond my understanding.

I'd call it smart, if anything.
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to nodevel For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
jolla, review, sailfish, the other half, user experience

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:58.