Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
VDVsx's Avatar
Posts: 1,070 | Thanked: 1,604 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Helsinki
#11
If you want to mess with account settings there's a command line tool, no sqlFu required:

Code:
pkcon install libaccounts-glib-tools
ag-tool list-accounts
ag-toot list-settings <account id>
ag-tool update-service <account id> <service name>
                       (int|uint|bool|string):<key>=<value>
Service name for generic email accounts is 'email'

Nothing bad should happen if you mess the settings, but if things stop working remove the account from the UI, don't try to wipe the DB.

As per the basic settings, there was no time to add more options, so it supports most common cases, updates will improve this.
__________________
Valério Valério
www.valeriovalerio.org

Last edited by VDVsx; 2013-12-23 at 12:32.
 

The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to VDVsx For This Useful Post:
Posts: 95 | Thanked: 196 times | Joined on Oct 2010
#12
actually, in my case the username and e-mail address are identical, but I can still not send mails from jolla.
sen
is that related to a different bug then?
 
Posts: 3,464 | Thanked: 5,107 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Gothenburg in Sweden
#13
Originally Posted by Casanunda View Post
actually, in my case the username and e-mail address are identical, but I can still not send mails from jolla.
sen
is that related to a different bug then?
Be more specific what error do you get?

In my case I get "Cannot sync message" when try send mail, not even sure it related to this thread but just getting desperate test everything to get it to work..

Btw.. SMTP is always PITA if not using those big cooperations like google and so on
__________________
Keep safe and healthy
 
VDVsx's Avatar
Posts: 1,070 | Thanked: 1,604 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Helsinki
#14
Originally Posted by Casanunda View Post
actually, in my case the username and e-mail address are identical, but I can still not send mails from jolla.
sen
is that related to a different bug then?
What is the authentication method used ?
Jolla only supports no auth, password, encrypted password(CRAM-MD5), last one does not work for all cases, issue fixed in next update.
__________________
Valério Valério
www.valeriovalerio.org
 
VDVsx's Avatar
Posts: 1,070 | Thanked: 1,604 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Helsinki
#15
Originally Posted by mikecomputing View Post
Be more specific what error do you get?

In my case I get "Cannot sync message" when try send mail, not even sure it related to this thread but just getting desperate test everything to get it to work..

Btw.. SMTP is always PITA if not using those big cooperations like google and so on
Might be a authentication issue ? Do you know what auth is supported by your server ? If you want to play with ag-tool supported values for 'smtp/authentication' are:

Code:
0 - No auth
1 - Login (commonly used, but obsoleted by Plain)
2 - Plain (commonly used)
3 - CRAM-MD5
Unfortunately most common issue with SMTP seems to be restrictions to the connection done by the ISPs, i.e if you are not in their network it won't work.
__________________
Valério Valério
www.valeriovalerio.org
 

The Following User Says Thank You to VDVsx For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,464 | Thanked: 5,107 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Gothenburg in Sweden
#16
Originally Posted by VDVsx View Post
Might be a authentication issue ? Do you know what auth is supported by your server ? If you want to play with ag-tool supported values for 'smtp/authentication' are:

Code:
0 - No auth
1 - Login (commonly used, but obsoleted by Plain)
2 - Plain (commonly used)
3 - CRAM-MD5
Unfortunately most common issue with SMTP seems to be restrictions to the connection done by the ISPs, i.e if you are not in their network it won't work.
Yes thats really crap with SMTP but.... I am home when testing this so it should work, works on N9(account says "normal password" dunno if thats means 1 or 2) and in kmail option is 2 - Plain.

I will check using ag-tool now...

Originally Posted by VDVsx View Post
That's a already fixed bug, but does not matter what appear in the UI as long as the settings listed by ag-tool are correct, still does not work now ? Should be 2 in your case.
EDIT:

okey finally it works deleted account and set it to 2
and changed emailaddress field manually using:

Code:
ag-tool update-service YOURACCOUNTID email int:smtp/authentication=2
ag-tool update-service YOURACCOUNTID email string:emailaddress=YOUREMAIL
where ag-tool list-accounts lists the ACCOUNTID:s
__________________
Keep safe and healthy

Last edited by mikecomputing; 2013-12-23 at 18:41.
 
Posts: 144 | Thanked: 134 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Hamburg
#17
Originally Posted by VDVsx View Post
If you want to mess with account settings there's a command line tool, no sqlFu required:

Code:
pkcon install libaccounts-glib-tools
ag-tool list-accounts
ag-toot list-settings <account id>
ag-tool update-service <account id> <service name>
                       (int|uint|bool|string):<key>=<value>
Thanks a lot, fixed the issue. Finally I can send emails too!
 
Posts: 738 | Thanked: 819 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Berlin
#18
Originally Posted by VDVsx View Post
Code:
pkcon install libaccounts-glib-tools
ag-tool list-accounts
ag-toot list-settings <account id>
ag-tool update-service <account id> <service name>
                       (int|uint|bool|string):<key>=<value>
okay i need help here...

ag-tool list-accounts
ag-toot list-settings <account id>

this i have understand, my ID is 4 and 8 because i have two.

buuuuuut what i have to put here for informations?

Code:
ag-tool update-service <account id> <service name>
                       (int|uint|bool|string):<key>=<value>
service name?
int|uint|bool|string ?
key?
value?

please explain what i (we) have to do!?
__________________
www.sailfishmods.de
 
VDVsx's Avatar
Posts: 1,070 | Thanked: 1,604 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Helsinki
#19
Originally Posted by mikecomputing View Post

EDIT: tested with 2 still getting sync. And the account UI app set the combo to cryptated.
That's a already fixed bug, but does not matter what appear in the UI as long as the settings listed by ag-tool are correct, still does not work now ? Should be 2 in your case.
__________________
Valério Valério
www.valeriovalerio.org
 
VDVsx's Avatar
Posts: 1,070 | Thanked: 1,604 times | Joined on Sep 2008 @ Helsinki
#20
Originally Posted by cvp View Post
okay i need help here...

ag-tool list-accounts
ag-toot list-settings <account id>

this i have understand, my ID is 4 and 8 because i have two.

buuuuuut what i have to put here for informations?

Code:
ag-tool update-service <account id> <service name>
                       (int|uint|bool|string):<key>=<value>
service name?
int|uint|bool|string ?
key?
value?

please explain what i (we) have to do!?
if you email address is different from username:
Code:
ag-tool update-service YOURACCOUNTID email string:emailaddress=YOUR-EMAILADRRESS
Btw, this option is available in next update.
__________________
Valério Valério
www.valeriovalerio.org
 

The Following User Says Thank You to VDVsx For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
jolla

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:16.