Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,048 | Thanked: 1,127 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Amsterdam
#1
Hello all,

Moving on to a new provider, I need to find out the ICC ID of my SIM card in order to be able to use the same phone number with my new provider.

I have searched the forum but could not find anything relevant. Is there a way to find out, either by terminal or something else?

I do not have alternative phone OS's available, like Android and such, and because I am travelling I do not carry a USB cable around either.

So the question is: Am I stuck or is there some way?

kind regards,
anthonie

EDIT: Solved, thanks to DA5, use the code below
Code:
dbus-send --system --type=method_call --print-reply --dest=com.nokia.phone.SSC /com/nokia/phone/SSC com.nokia.phone.SSC.get_iccid|awk -F "\"" '/g/ {print $2}'

Last edited by anthonie; 2015-10-29 at 08:13.
 
Posts: 1,288 | Thanked: 4,316 times | Joined on Oct 2014
#2
Originally Posted by anthonie View Post
Hello all,

Moving on to a new provider, I need to find out the ICC ID of my SIM card in order to be able to use the same phone number with my new provider.

I have searched the forum but could not find anything relevant. Is there a way to find out, either by terminal or something else?

I do not have alternative phone OS's available, like Android and such, and because I am travelling I do not carry a USB cable around either.

So the question is: Am I stuck or is there some way?

kind regards,
anthonie
Not possible on Harmattan.

You can:
1. Insert SIM in another phone, like iPhone, which can show this
2. Read on SIM card
 

The Following User Says Thank You to nieldk For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,048 | Thanked: 1,127 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Amsterdam
#3
Something that's possible on an iPhone and Android but not on our N900 or N9's?

That's simply horrific and should not be allowed.

* Meh *
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to anthonie For This Useful Post:
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 6,445 | Thanked: 20,981 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#4
There are features that make me keep my 15 years old Motorola "dumb" phone because I have not found them on any "modern" "smart" phone. Such as read and edit various SIM entries, set preferred network, show non-resettable call timers...

Last edited by pichlo; 2015-10-28 at 12:21. Reason: 15 years old, not 25
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,048 | Thanked: 1,127 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Amsterdam
#5
Learnt that lesson today, pichlo!

It ended all well. When I first spoke to my old provider, they told me they were unable to give me that number and suggested alternative methods like other phones and such.

Later on I called back, explained the situation and this time the bloke on the phone simply gave me the number without asking any questions. Kudos to them or him!

Problem solved, albeit in a different way than I would have liked.

I keep thinking this info should be floating around in /dev/ somewhere...
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to anthonie For This Useful Post:
DA5's Avatar
Posts: 70 | Thanked: 338 times | Joined on Jan 2013
#6
Originally Posted by anthonie View Post
Something that's possible on an iPhone and Android but not on our N900 or N9's?

That's simply horrific and should not be allowed.

* Meh *
It does seem to be possible on the N900:

Code:
dbus-send --system --type=method_call --print-reply --dest=com.nokia.phone.SSC /com/nokia/phone/SSC com.nokia.phone.SSC.get_iccid|awk -F "\"" '/g/ {print $2}'
https://wiki.maemo.org/Phone_control#Get_ICCID

Edit: Actually, after testing this on an N900 and an N9, the N9 returned the correct number.

Last edited by DA5; 2015-10-28 at 15:20.
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to DA5 For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#7
On N900
you need cellnet-info to read correct ICCID.
It is somehow compressed/stored in another way (forgot which one).
If you like read about it in cellnet-info announce thread.
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,048 | Thanked: 1,127 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Amsterdam
#8
Originally Posted by DA5 View Post
It does seem to be possible on the N900:

Code:
dbus-send --system --type=method_call --print-reply --dest=com.nokia.phone.SSC /com/nokia/phone/SSC com.nokia.phone.SSC.get_iccid|awk -F "\"" '/g/ {print $2}'
https://wiki.maemo.org/Phone_control#Get_ICCID

Edit: Actually, after testing this on an N900 and an N9, the N9 returned the correct number.
One stone, two birds. Thanks, DA5! Have not tested it on the N900, though.

Always nice to be able to put "solved" in a threat title. Even better when it's for two systems!

Last edited by anthonie; 2015-10-29 at 08:29.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to anthonie For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
iccid, sim card

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:45.