Is it possible to load a different OS on the N810? Perhaps a different version of Linux? Please explain how or why not I'm a beginner at this stuff.

Yeah-- I would like to know the same thing.

Posts: 1,605 | Thanked: 1,601 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Southern California
I usually don't say anything and just provide an answer or a link to an answer, but... You guys really need to look around on the site and do some searches. There are tons of conversations about this subject.

Here's the latest on how to install KDE for example (right from the front page of ITT):

http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...ad.php?t=14680

Tim

Posts: 3,220 | Thanked: 326 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ "Almost there!" (Monte Christo, Count of)
Originally Posted by timsamoff View Post
I usually don't say anything and just provide an answer or a link to an answer, but... You guys really need to look around on the site and do some searches. There are tons of conversations about this subject.

Here's the latest on how to install KDE for example (right from the front page of ITT):

http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...ad.php?t=14680

Tim
Nitpicking:

Penguinbait's (bodaciously excellent) KDE port isn't exactly a different operating system, but rather a different windowing environment. A KDE-ified Itablet still runs Nokia's kernel.

People are, however, very busy getting Debian on the Itablet; that would definitely qualify as a different operating system.

Personally, I've been running Vista on my N800 for the last six months. I'm just not telling anyone how I did it.

Posts: 5,335 | Thanked: 8,187 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Pennsylvania, USA
Originally Posted by Karel Jansens View Post
I'm just not telling anyone how I did it.
Thank you.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sjgadsby For This Useful Post:
Posts: 469 | Thanked: 88 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Montana