Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2,153 | Thanked: 8,462 times | Joined on May 2010
#501
not storing anything secure in n900 :-)
..but LUKS is good method for crypting data
 
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on May 2012
#502
thanks... the Iphone 4 or N9 also are unsafe?
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#503
Originally Posted by pali View Post
If you use RescueOS or other bootable system for Maemo which is booted from flasher, eMMC and rootfs can be read without problem.
Yep, true. Sorry for not considering.
Thanks for clarification!

Originally Posted by pali View Post
So *nothing* is safe unless is *strong* encrypted!
Seems to be true for any digital data nowadays ...
 
Posts: 153 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ P town
#504
Originally Posted by peterleinchen View Post
Cmon, you are not serious, or?
Menu - System Settings - Section General, Device lock
sorry if my question is not clear enough.
Let me rephrase my question:
Is it possible to change the device autolock timeout to lower/faster timeout?
say 1 minute or 30 seconds. right now the most faster timout is 5 minutes
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#505
Ah, okay.
Now I got it.

Please check this code:
PHP Code:
#!/bin/sh

#configure timeout, may be any integer value from 1 to 999?
#iTimeout=1
echo "input timeout in minutes (integer)"
read iTimeout

##read
#system
echo old system settings
gconftool 
-/system/osso/dsm/locks/devicelock_autolock_enabled 
gconftool 
-/system/osso/dsm/locks/devicelock_autolock_timeout
#applet
echo old applet settings
gconftool 
-/apps/osso/applet/osso-applet-devicelock/device_lock
gconftool 
-/apps/osso/applet/osso-applet-devicelock/autolock_period

##set
#system 
gconftool -/system/osso/dsm/locks/devicelock_autolock_enabled -t bool true 
gconftool 
-/system/osso/dsm/locks/devicelock_autolock_timeout -t int $iTimeout
#applet, will only accept and show 5, 10, 30, 60 
gconftool -/apps/osso/applet/osso-applet-devicelock/device_lock -t bool true
gconftool 
-/apps/osso/applet/osso-applet-devicelock/autolock_period -t int $iTimeout

#new values
echo new system settings
gconftool 
-/system/osso/dsm/locks/devicelock_autolock_enabled 
gconftool 
-/system/osso/dsm/locks/devicelock_autolock_timeout
echo "new (maybe not displayable) applet settings"
gconftool -/apps/osso/applet/osso-applet-devicelock/device_lock
gconftool 
-/apps/osso/applet/osso-applet-devicelock/autolock_period 
Please be aware, that you have to specify timeout in full minutes ( so 90 second is not possible ).

For noobies: download att, put it in N900, open x-term and type
"sh MyDocs/DeviceLock.txt"
Attached Files
File Type: txt DeviceLock.txt (1.2 KB, 91 views)

Last edited by peterleinchen; 2012-05-28 at 19:05.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
Posts: 153 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ P town
#506
peterleinche,
Thanks for the script
Are your script replace the the lowest value (5 minutes)?
Is it permanent? Will it still there after reboot?

btw, your echo line need "\", otherwise it complain about unexpected ")"
echo new \(maybe not displayable\) applet settings
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#507
Originally Posted by sLumPia View Post
peterleinchen,
Thanks for the script
You are welcome.

Originally Posted by sLumPia View Post
Are your script replace the the lowest value (5 minutes)?
Is it permanent? Will it still there after reboot?
Yes, the read command may accept any integer value from 1 (1 minute timeout, tested) up to maybe 60 or 999 minutes (not tested ).
It should stay after reboot, just test it yourself.

Originally Posted by sLumPia View Post
btw, your echo line need "\", otherwise it complain about unexpected ")"
echo new \(maybe not displayable\) applet settings
Sorry, ut it does not disturb functionality . Just put some more comments afterwards and it slipped in ....

Edited above post and script.

Last edited by peterleinchen; 2012-05-28 at 19:19.
 
Posts: 153 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ P town
#508
peterleinchen,
I have edited your script, to make it cleaner.
Code:
#!/bin/sh
#configure timeout, may be any integer value from 1 to 999?
lock=`gconftool -g /system/osso/dsm/locks/devicelock_autolock_enabled` 
Timeout=`gconftool -g /system/osso/dsm/locks/devicelock_autolock_timeout`
if $lock ; then
 echo "input timeout in minutes (integer)"
 read iTimeout
 gconftool -s /system/osso/dsm/locks/devicelock_autolock_enabled -t bool true 
 gconftool -s /system/osso/dsm/locks/devicelock_autolock_timeout -t int $iTimeout
 #applet, will only accept and show 5, 10, 30, 60 
 gconftool -s /apps/osso/applet/osso-applet-devicelock/device_lock -t bool true
 gconftool -s /apps/osso/applet/osso-applet-devicelock/autolock_period -t int $iTimeout
 echo Change device lock timeout from $Timeout minute\(s\) to $iTimeout minute\(s\)
else
 echo "Device autolock disable. Enable it from Menu->System->Settings->Device lock."
fi
Thanks again. Sorry for asking an oot question.
Attached Files
File Type: txt DeviceLock.txt (847 Bytes, 70 views)

Last edited by sLumPia; 2012-05-29 at 07:19. Reason: add attachment
 
Posts: 1 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on May 2012
#509
Hi, Im new to this forum, wonder can anyone help me out. One day, my lock code suddenly not recognised by my n900, I m sure i didnt change the code, and no one can access my n900 and change it. It just happened, I keep getting the error lock code message. I have reflash both the firmware and EMMC many time, after it reboots, the lock code window appears. How can I get over the lock code window? Lucky enough, I have backed up all my media before it happens. So I dont mind to erase everything in the phone. Can someone help me out?? Many thanks.
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#510
Originally Posted by sLumPia View Post
peterleinchen,
I have edited your script, to make it cleaner.

Thanks again. Sorry for asking an oot question.
But now you have to first enable it from applet and then set the interval. The applet will only show enabled when 5, 10, 30, 60 minutes timeout is selected.
But please feel free to use and modify as you like.

In the end it was not an oot (?, are you scottish or from MA?) question at all
 
Reply

Tags
devicelock, nokia n900


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:52.