Reply
Thread Tools
OSEmuTech's Avatar
Posts: 466 | Thanked: 142 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Temple Terrorist, FL
#21
Launching Windows for Workgroups 3.11 from the "DOS" prompt takes less than 20 seconds for me.

My dosbox.conf:

Code:
 
[sdl]
# fullscreen -- Start dosbox directly in fullscreen.
# fulldouble -- Use double buffering in fullscreen.
#====Changed in 0.65. Orginal corresponds with the fullfixed=false in 0.63===
# fullresolution -- What resolution to use for fullscreen: original or fixed size (e.g. 1024x768).
#====NEW in 0.65
# windowresolution -- Scale the window to this size IF the output device supports hardware scaling.
# output -- What to use for output: surface,overlay,opengl,openglnb.
# autolock -- Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen.
# sensitiviy -- Mouse sensitivity.
# waitonerror -- Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.
# priority -- Priority levels for dosbox: lowest,lower,normal,higher,highest.
#             Second entry behind the comma is for when dosbox is not focused/minimized.
# mapperfile -- File used to load/save the key/event mappings from.
#====NEW in 0.65 usescancodes=false is the 0.63 like behaviour.
# usescancodes -- Avoid usage of symkeys, might not work on all operating systems.
fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=original
windowresolution=original
output=surface
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper.txt
usescancodes=false
[dosbox]
# language -- Select another language file.
# memsize -- Amount of memory dosbox has in megabytes.
# machine -- The type of machine tries to emulate:hercules,cga,tandy,pcjr,vga.
# captures -- Directory where things like wave,midi,screenshot get captured.
language=
machine=vga
captures=capture
memsize=16
[render]
# frameskip -- How many frames dosbox skips before drawing one.
# aspect -- Do aspect correction, if your output method doesn't support scaling this can slow things down!.
# scaler -- Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes.
#           Supported are none,normal2x,normal3x,advmame2x,advmame3x,advinterp2x,advinterp3x,tv2x,tv3x,rgb2x,rgb3x,scan2x,scan3x.
frameskip=2
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x
[cpu]
# core -- CPU Core used in emulation: simple,normal,full,dynamic.
# cycles -- Amount of instructions dosbox tries to emulate each millisecond.
#           Setting this higher than your machine can handle is bad!
#           You can also let DOSBox guess the correct value by setting it to auto.
#           Please note that this guessing feature is still experimental.
# cycleup   -- Amount of cycles to increase/decrease with keycombo.
# cycledown    Setting it lower than 100 will be a percentage.
core=simple
cycles=800
cycleup=100
cycledown=100
[mixer]
# nosound -- Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
# rate -- Mixer sample rate, setting any devices higher than this will
#         probably lower their sound quality.
# blocksize -- Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering
#              but sound will also be more lagged.
# prebuffer -- How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.
nosound=false
rate=11025
blocksize=64
prebuffer=100
[midi]
#====Changed in 0.65. Option intelligent=true/false has been merged into this one
# mpu401      -- Type of MPU-401 to emulate: none, uart or intelligent.
# device      -- Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
#                This can be default,alsa,oss,win32,coreaudio,none.
# config      -- Special configuration options for the device. In Windows put
#                the id of the device you want to use. See README for details.
mpu401=none
device=default
config=
[sblaster]
#====Renamed in 0.65 type=>sbtype
# sbtype -- Type of sblaster to emulate:none,sb1,sb2,sbpro1,sbpro2,sb16.
# sbbase,irq,dma,hdma -- The IO/IRQ/DMA/High DMA address of the soundblaster.
# mixer -- Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the dosbox mixer.
# oplmode -- Type of OPL emulation: auto,cms,opl2,dualopl2,opl3.
#            On auto the mode is determined by sblaster type.
#            All OPL modes are 'Adlib', except for CMS.
# oplrate -- Sample rate of OPL music emulation.
sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
mixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplrate=11025
[gus]
# gus -- Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
#====Renamed in 0.65
# gusbase,irq1,irq2,dma1,dma2 -- The IO/IRQ/DMA addresses of the 
#            Gravis Ultrasound. (Same IRQ's and DMA's are OK.)
# gusrate -- Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
# ultradir -- Path to Ultrasound directory.  In this directory
#             there should be a MIDI directory that contains
#             the patch files for GUS playback.  Patch sets used
#             with Timidity should work fine.
gus=false
gusrate=11025
gusbase=240
irq1=5
irq2=5
dma1=3
dma2=3
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND
[speaker]
# pcspeaker -- Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
# pcrate -- Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
# tandy -- Enable Tandy Sound System emulation (off,on,auto).
#          For auto Tandysound emulation is present only if machine is set to tandy.
# tandyrate -- Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
# disney -- Enable Disney Sound Source emulation.
pcspeaker=true
pcrate=11025
tandy=auto
tandyrate=11025
disney=true
[bios]
#====NEW in 0.65
# joysticktype -- Type of joystick to emulate: none, 2axis, 4axis,
#                 fcs (Thrustmaster) ,ch (CH Flightstick).
#                 none disables joystick emulation.
#                 2axis is the default and supports two joysticks.
joysticktype=2axis
[serial]
#====NEW/Changed in 0.65
# serial1-4 -- set type of device connected to com port.
#              Can be disabled, dummy, modem, directserial.
#              Additional parameters must be in the same line in the form of
#              parameter:value. Parameters for all types are irq, startbps, bytesize,
#              stopbits, parity (all optional).
#              for directserial: realport (required).
#              for modem: listenport (optional).
#              Example: serial1=modem listenport:5000
serial1=disabled
serial2=disabled
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled
[dos]
# xms -- Enable XMS support.
# ems -- Enable EMS support.
#====NEW in 0.65
# umb -- Enable UMB support (false,true,max).
xms=true
ems=true
umb=true
[ipx]
# ipx -- Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.
ipx=false
[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.
@echo off
mount c: /media/mmc2/dos
SET PATH=c:\WINDOWS;C:\MASM\BIN;F:\dos\MSVC\BIN;F:\dos\MAPLE\BIN;%PATH%
SET INCLUDE=C:\MASM\INCLUDE;F:\dos\MSVC\INCLUDE;%INCLUDE%
set lib=c:\MASM\LIB;F:\dos\MSVC\LIB;%lib%
SET INIT=C:\MASM\INIT
SET HELPFILES=C:\MASM\HELP\*.HLP
SET TMP=C:\MASM\TMP
C:\WINDOWS\SMARTDRV.EXE
c:
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to OSEmuTech For This Useful Post:
OSEmuTech's Avatar
Posts: 466 | Thanked: 142 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Temple Terrorist, FL
#22
PS: Change autolock=true to autolock=false
 
Slixor's Avatar
Posts: 79 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ England
#23
when ive installed on my n800 where do i find the dosbox.conf?
 
Posts: 42 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Dec 2007 @ Biel/Bienne - Switzerland
#24
you have to put it into the same folder as the dosbox binary (unless you specify it). If you extracted the tgz to your home directory you have to put it there.
 
Slixor's Avatar
Posts: 79 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ England
#25
i just installed this:

http://pupnik.de/gregale/dosbox_0.72-0.1_armel.deb

xD where is the config?
 
OSEmuTech's Avatar
Posts: 466 | Thanked: 142 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Temple Terrorist, FL
#26
If you launch dosbox via a terminal it will use any dosbox.conf file found in the directory the terminal is currently in. I leave mine in /home/user so I can launch it immediately after launching the terminal.

Does anyone know a fix for allowing the OS 2008 terminal to predict the text being typed like OS 2007 does? Text prediction works for other programs, but not the terminal.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to OSEmuTech For This Useful Post:
OSEmuTech's Avatar
Posts: 466 | Thanked: 142 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Temple Terrorist, FL
#27
Originally Posted by Slixor View Post
i just installed this:

http://pupnik.de/gregale/dosbox_0.72-0.1_armel.deb

xD where is the config?
Grab it from here: http://pupnik.de/dosbox.html
 

The Following User Says Thank You to OSEmuTech For This Useful Post:
Slixor's Avatar
Posts: 79 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ England
#28
edit again: i undertand now

Last edited by Slixor; 2008-01-30 at 21:55.
 
Posts: 11 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jan 2008
#29
Well now all i need is a working version of win95, 98 or 2k. I cant get any of them off Ebay. I wish there was a legal way of downloading it. I wish i could pay 5 bucks and download it off Microsofts site or something like that. I guess i will have to keep browsing around for some old cd to buy. This Sucks LOL.
 
Slixor's Avatar
Posts: 79 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ England
#30
why when i use win 3.1 does the resolution screw up? i can only see top half of screen
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:54.