Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 540 | Thanked: 288 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#1
I have been driving myself crazy trying to do this, none of the EventBox tricks I found with google work in any usable way.

Basically I have a hildon.Button (also tried with plain gtk.Button) and I want to change the background color between red and green based on state changes.

Tried the following approaches:

1. Put the whole button inside eventbox and change eventbox background (the "official" GTK workaround to the fact that buttons do not generally allow background to be messed with), does "nothing" (ie the button with the default background and all is drawn on top of the eb).

2. Put the first child of the hildon.Button (gtk.Alignment) inside the eventbox: makes ugly mess where there is rectangular box inside the button area with the gray button borders visible, click only works if done in the gray border (i guess the eventbox could be connected to the signals as well, but since this looks fugly I didn't bother experimenting with that).

I wonder if I need to start reading hildon sources to figure out how exactly they build these widgets...
 
Posts: 87 | Thanked: 47 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Sorocaba, Brasil
#2
Isn't the default theme a pixmap one? Is it possible to change the background colors, then?
 
Posts: 529 | Thanked: 46 times | Joined on Sep 2007
#3
hi,

just test basic python script

tried python2.4 example by Teemu

http://www.teemuharju.net/code/uitest.py

run under python2.5
generated errors

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "uitest.py", line 179, in <module>
uitest = UITest( )
File "uitest.py", line 16, in _init_
self.app = hildon.App( )
AttributeError: 'module' object has no attribute 'App'

(770, OS2008He, python2.5)

Any chance to have this hildon example to work

or how to contact Theemu

Last edited by Darius2006; 2010-02-12 at 01:04.
 
Posts: 53 | Thanked: 90 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Manaus, Brazil
#4
Originally Posted by Darius2006 View Post
hi,

just test basic python script

tried python2.4 example by Teemu

http://www.teemuharju.net/code/uitest.py
If I understand correctly, you are trying to run this example on Diablo ? If I remember, "hildon.App" does not exist anymore there, and this example is terribly outdated
__________________
Anderson Lizardo
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to lizardo For This Useful Post:
Posts: 529 | Thanked: 46 times | Joined on Sep 2007
#5
@lizardo

this example is only 3 years old

Any chance for GUI python2.5 examples to run on Diablo (2008He ?)
 
Posts: 53 | Thanked: 90 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Manaus, Brazil
#6
Originally Posted by Darius2006 View Post
@lizardo

this example is only 3 years old

Any chance for GUI python2.5 examples to run on Diablo (2008He ?)
You mean Maemo 5 (Fremantle) examples ? No

I suggest you take example code from existing projects on the diablo extras repository. Just find projects written in python (and which have functionality similar to what you want), and get sources from:

http://repository.maemo.org/extras-d...o/free/source/

Be careful to look at the code license, though.
__________________
Anderson Lizardo
 

The Following User Says Thank You to lizardo For This Useful Post:
Posts: 529 | Thanked: 46 times | Joined on Sep 2007
#7
Originally Posted by lizardo View Post
You mean Maemo 5 (Fremantle) examples ? No

I suggest you take example code from existing projects on the diablo extras repository. Just find projects written in python (and which have functionality similar to what you want), and get sources from:

http://repository.maemo.org/extras-d...o/free/source/

Be careful to look at the code license, though.

I don't mean Maemo 5 (Fremantle) examples.
Is diablo or 2008He a Fremantle ?

---
Originally Posted by Darius2006 View Post

@lizardo

this example is only 3 years old

Any chance for GUI python2.5 examples to run on Diablo (2008He ?)
---
Thanks for the repository as the previous posted was for Fremantle only with python2.5 examples

I am careful about .. but first I need to test anything working
under 2008He on 770 and please don't ask me if it's diablo or not (have no idea in secret codes

My OS is 2008He on 770 + python2.5 installed
and just need to test few examples coming with GUI, clicable buttons, menu, just to see and learn what can be done with python2.5 and how fast a code can be run
as I use gpsbt lib to read gps data
and need to learn how to write basic
map tile (image) viewer, centering a map around GPS location.

If you are aware of any such python example and of it's name, just tell me.

Open image file (map tile)
get pin in the center and move map tile image
as GPS updates
nothing more , just for fun

If your opinion is that python is not suitable for this task, just tell me in advance.

Last edited by Darius2006; 2010-02-12 at 03:18.
 
Posts: 540 | Thanked: 288 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#8
Originally Posted by dalonso View Post
Isn't the default theme a pixmap one? Is it possible to change the background colors, then?
I have no idea about the themes, however if "everything" is bitmaps how do they scale the buttons etc according to packing ?

Edit: Looking at theme maker it indeed looks like everything is done in bitmaps, so I guess the next thing is to figure how to bypass the theme and supply my own bitmaps (I could probably live with re-using the call-end and answer button backgound styles from the theme too, but how to do that ?)

Last edited by rambo; 2010-02-12 at 07:10.
 
Posts: 540 | Thanked: 288 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#9
Originally Posted by Darius2006 View Post
I don't mean Maemo 5 (Fremantle) examples.

as I use gpsbt lib to read gps data
and need to learn how to write basic
map tile (image) viewer, centering a map around GPS location.

If you are aware of any such python example and of it's name, just tell me.

Open image file (map tile)
get pin in the center and move map tile image
as GPS updates
nothing more , just for fun
libchamplain has python bindings, so unless you have specific reasons for doing all the grunt work yourself I suggest checking it out first.

Codenames: http://wiki.maemo.org/Codenames

Originally Posted by Darius2006 View Post
If your opinion is that python is not suitable for this task, just tell me in advance.
On 770 it might be a tad slow to start but in general should run fine, map panning (if implemented in pure python) might also be sluggish.

But I don't consider it unsuitable.
 
Posts: 540 | Thanked: 288 times | Joined on Sep 2009
#10
On slightly off-topic note, anyone figure out why I fail to launch a python program from .desktop file but from terminal it works (See the files in SVN)

Basically the hotspot_frontend.py is copied to /usr/bin/mobilehotspot (see debian/rules for path details), clicking on the program entry in menu clearly does something but it would seem he thing crashes or something.

Running from terminal works.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:58.