Posts: 1,296 | Thanked: 1,773 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Budapest, Hungary
Hi,

I'm pretty new to Qt development, and I've just encountered something that I wasn't able to figure out for hours.

How come that the following code doesn't work:
Code:
QNetworkRequest request(QUrl("http://venemo.net/Default.aspx"));
QNetworkAccessManager manager(this);
connect(&manager, SIGNAL(finished(QNetworkReply*)), this, SLOT(finishedSlot(QNetworkReply*)));
manager.get(request);
while the following does:
Code:
QNetworkRequest request(QUrl("http://venemo.net/Default.aspx"));
QNetworkAccessManager *manager = new QNetworkAccessManager(this);
connect(manager, SIGNAL(finished(QNetworkReply*)), this, SLOT(finishedSlot(QNetworkReply*)));
manager->get(request);
I think that both syntaxes SHOULD do the same, or at least, when I was at university, they did at my C++ course.

Can anyone elaborate on this?

The difference in your code is that in one, you create the QNetworkManager on the stack

QNetworkManager m;

and in the other you create it on the heap

m = new QNetworkManager();

When you create on the stack, at the end of the current closure, the memory will be freed, and the ~QNetworkManager() method called.

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to StewartHolmes For This Useful Post:
Posts: 388 | Thanked: 842 times | Joined on Sep 2009 @ Finland
It's not exactly the same. In first case the manager object gets automatically deleted when it goes out of scope (that is, when '}' is reached if I remember correctly).

In the second case the manager object (to which the pointer refers to) allocated with "new" never gets deleted unless "delete" is used on it. It results in memory leak if you forget to delete it.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hqh For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,296 | Thanked: 1,773 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Budapest, Hungary
Thanks!

Indeed, those C++ courses were quite long ago.