Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Apr 2013
#431
Originally Posted by sLumPia View Post
Could you give the output of this command:
# fdisk -l /dev/mmcblk0
fdisk -l /dev/mmcblk0

/dev/mmcblk0p1 2 622721 19927040 c W
win95 FAT32 (LBA)

/dev/mmcblk0p2 884866 950401 2097152 83 L
linux

/dev/mmcblk0p3 95402 974977 786432 82 L
linux
/dev/mmcblk0p4 622722 884865 8388608 5 E
extended
/dev/mmcblk0p5 622722 844865 8388600 76 U
unknown

last unknown is because device wasnt reset at moment of giving command
 
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Apr 2013
#432
arch boor until the moment it wants to initial lize rx51 audio en and achip for bleutooth or something
 
Posts: 153 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ P town
#433
Originally Posted by sojab0on View Post
fdisk -l /dev/mmcblk0

/dev/mmcblk0p1 2 622721 19927040 c W
win95 FAT32 (LBA)

/dev/mmcblk0p2 884866 950401 2097152 83 L
linux

/dev/mmcblk0p3 95402 974977 786432 82 L
linux
/dev/mmcblk0p4 622722 884865 8388608 5 E
extended
/dev/mmcblk0p5 622722 844865 8388600 76 U
unknown

last unknown is because device wasnt reset at moment of giving command
Please reboot your phone and try this after reboot:
0. Move your Arch image to safe place, let say /home/user/MyDocs/tmp
1. Make sure /dev/mmcblk0p5 is set to linux partition (code: 83) and then format it
Code:
# mkfs.ext4 /dev/mmcblk0p5
2. mount it to /mnt
Code:
# modprobe ext4   (in my phone, ext4 module not load automatically)
# mkfs.ext4 /dev/mmcblk0p5 /mnt
3. tar Arch image to /mnt
Code:
# cd /home/user/MyDocs/tmp
# tar xvf ArchLinuxARM-N900-2013.02-rootfs.tar.gz -C /mnt
4. edit your item file and run u-boot-update-bootmenu
Code:
# leafpad /etc/bootmenu.d/20-archlinux.item
put this in it:
Code:
ITEM_NAME="Arch Linux ARM"
ITEM_KERNEL="/boot/uImage"
ITEM_DEVICE="${INT_CARD}p5"
ITEM_FSTYPE="ext4"
ITEM_OMAPATAG="1"
ITEM_CMDLINE="root=/dev/mmcblk1p5 rootwait init=/bin/systemd omapfb.vram=0:3M,1:3M,2:3M quiet"
Explanation of the above config:
ITEM_NAME="Arch Linux ARM" --> just label
ITEM_KERNEL="/boot/uImage"
--> Because you use absolute path, then this line will tell u-boot to look for uImage file on /boot folder in partition define on ITEM_DEVICE.
ITEM_DEVICE="${INT_CARD}p5" --> This line to u-boot to use internal card partition 5 as it new root (/) partition
ITEM_FSTYPE="ext4" --> tell u-boot that ITEM_DEVICE use ext4 file system
ITEM_OMAPATAG="1" --> I don't know
ITEM_CMDLINE="root=/dev/mmcblk1p5 rootwait init=/bin/systemd omapfb.vram=0:3M,1:3M,2:3M quiet"

@Pali, please correct me if my above explanation wrong.

Run u-boot-update-bootmenu
Code:
# u-boot-update-bootmenu
Make sure there is uImage in your Arch /boot partition:
Code:
# ls -l /mnt/boot/uImage
If there is uImage file in /mnt/boot, then you should be able to boot to Arch.
 
Posts: 153 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ P town
#434
Originally Posted by sojab0on View Post
arch boor until the moment it wants to initial lize rx51 audio en and achip for bleutooth or something
Which image you're download, official or unofficial?
If you're using official image, don't forget to update & configure your Arch system (see opening post).
 
Posts: 74 | Thanked: 142 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Chicago, US
#435
What kernel version does Arch Linux on N900 use? Also, is USB host mode supported like it is on maemo?

I'm trying to connected an "easycap USB TV dongle" to my N900 but the driver (https://code.google.com/p/easycap-somagic-linux/) is designed for Linux 3.6 and newer. Maemo uses 2.6.28, so I could either try to back-port the driver or use a more recent kernel. I like the latter better and I'm using Arch Linux for ARM on my Raspberry Pi, it would be nice to use it on my N900 as well (I'm no longer using it as my primary phone.. but as a device to hack on).
 
Posts: 204 | Thanked: 754 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Finland
#436
Host mode is not working with 3.5, and probably not with 3.9 either though I'm not sure.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Skry For This Useful Post:
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Apr 2013
#437
the big problem now lays at the point

mkfs.ext4 /dev/mmcblk0p5 /mnt i get error

mkfs.ext4: invailid block count - /mnt

and it even after reformating en new untar to /mnt it hangs at loading bleutooth and that goes on til point of sound and then hangs there
 
Posts: 153 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ P town
#438
Originally Posted by sojab0on View Post
mkfs.ext4 /dev/mmcblk0p5 /mnt i get error
mkfs.ext4: invailid block count - /mnt
???
Of course it gives an error.
You know what mkfs.ext4 for right? It's a command to format a partition with ext4 filesystem.
You can't format /mnt, because it is not a partition.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sLumPia For This Useful Post:
Posts: 204 | Thanked: 754 times | Joined on Jan 2012 @ Finland
#439
At this point, I'd like to point a few words to everyone inexperienced enough: There is probably nothing to see in here for you. This effort is essentially a Linux base system aimed for experienced users. No fancy GUI, or anything you probably expect. For beginners, the only rationale in installing this one, would be learning about Linux, and to be honest, that is something that can be done a lot easier on PC.
 

The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Skry For This Useful Post:
Posts: 330 | Thanked: 556 times | Joined on Oct 2012
#440
Originally Posted by caveman View Post
Not yet. I have basically two use cases I care. The first is the terminal: in this case the plain console had been a good companion.

The second is basic reading without the keyboard. Picture the n900 slider closed. In this case I would like to scroll, click links and have basic navigation between windows. I still don't think I have a nice solution here.

I enjoyed awesome, and I have been using it on the desktop, but is not functional without the keyboard.

I tried e17; currently it fits best my needs. Or it used to, before the last two upgrades

Now I am experimenting with window maker. Too soon to have an opinion, but it may have a conceptual best fit with a touch screen.

In conclusion, I am still looking for a solution. Skry's experiments with hildon desktop and e17 may provide a few more options the table, so we may eventually focus on one fair solution.
I see, thank you.

Notice that I can use Fluxbox completely from the keyboard in the Zaurus. I set it up myself. The one awesome thing about Fluxbox is that you can configure key shortcuts to do pretty much anything.

The other nice thing is unlimited (in theory) desktops. I think fluxbox would easily satisfy your second use case scenario (keyboard closed) via the root (or desktop) menu. You could hold the finger on a desktop, then the menu would come up, and you could navigate from there to any other desktop (window). I suppose you could have 1 application per desktop, and then have application windows in tab groups (another nice feature of fluxbox).

You could assign the Volume rocker buttons to move between desktops (another thought). I set everything up in my Zaurus with the help of xev, and everything ended working really well.

Here is information on Fluxbox key shortcuts.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to malfunctioning For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:36.