Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 13 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Feb 2012
#421
One more thing, has anyone tried to suspend the system? Suspend to RAM to be particular.

For my configuration, suspending and resuming all works, but it seems that proximity sensor keeps working and will force the kernel to resume if it catches any "input".

I have been googling for a while and didn't seem to find a good solution. No one has mentioned how to tell the kernel to suspend input devices upon suspending to ram, or ignoring some input events that could cause the kernel to wake.
 
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Apr 2013
#422
i am getting an error at u-boot when trying to boot the Arch Linux menu entry

Reading bootmenu.img.d/uImage
** Unable te read “bootmenu.img.d/uImage” from mmc 1:1 **

Some one who can tell me what the hell is going wrong

i tried every thing step by step and evry thing from the guide did go as it needed to go by the guide but i still get the error
 
Posts: 22 | Thanked: 42 times | Joined on May 2012 @ Poland
#423
Is there any way to manually lock the screen in X ? Xscreensaver and xlock are just crashing my desktop(LXDE).
 
Posts: 153 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ P town
#424
Originally Posted by sojab0on View Post
i am getting an error at u-boot when trying to boot the Arch Linux menu entry
Reading bootmenu.img.d/uImage
** Unable te read “bootmenu.img.d/uImage” from mmc 1:1 **
What is the content of your item file?
Where is your Arch partition reside?
Which guide did you follow?

Let say you have /dev/mmcblk0p5 (formatted as ext3 filesystem) as your Arch partition and you have installed u-boot to boot into Arch.
Then you need to put this on your item file (/etc/bootmenu.d/40-ArchLinuxARM.item):
Code:
ITEM_NAME="Arch Linux ARM"
ITEM_KERNEL="/boot/uImage"
ITEM_DEVICE="${INT_CARD}p5"
ITEM_FSTYPE="ext3"
ITEM_OMAPATAG="1"
ITEM_CMDLINE="root=/dev/mmcblk1p5 rootwait init=/bin/systemd omapfb.vram=0:3M,1:3M,2:3M quiet"
run u-boot-update-bootmenu (as root) command to add Arch Linux ARM into u-boot menu:
Code:
# u-boot-update-bootmenu
Reboot your phone and you shold be able to boot into Arch Linux ARM installed on your phone.
 
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Apr 2013
#425
i have got exactly the same in the item file as you posted
it wil boot until the point it gives mee alot of tty lines.

EXT4-fs (mmcblk0p4) unable to read superblock.
smia-sensor 2-0010: read from offset 0x0 error -121

and it hangs there wih blinkin cursor

Last edited by sojab0on; 2013-05-21 at 17:27.
 
Posts: 153 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ P town
#426
If you have EXACTLY the same content in item file, you won't be able to boot to Arch.
You should have this on your item file:
Code:
ITEM_NAME="Arch Linux ARM"
ITEM_KERNEL="/boot/uImage"
ITEM_DEVICE="${INT_CARD}p4"
ITEM_FSTYPE="ext4"
ITEM_OMAPATAG="1"
ITEM_CMDLINE="root=/dev/mmcblk1p4 rootwait init=/bin/systemd omapfb.vram=0:3M,1:3M,2:3M quiet"
Then run u-boot-update-bootmenu again.

Anyway, try fsck-ing your Arch partition from Maemo to check any error on your Arch partition:
Code:
$ sudo gainroot
# fsck.ext4 -fv /dev/mmcblk0p4

Last edited by sLumPia; 2013-05-21 at 23:20. Reason: correction
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to sLumPia For This Useful Post:
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Apr 2013
#427
ok i will give that a try

it then give back invailid partition 4

why do i need to use partition 4 instead of 5

because when i do the steps of the guide itgive me this config file

ITEM_NAME="Arch Linux ARM (eMMC)"
ITEM_KERNEL="/boot/uImage"
ITEM_DEVICE="${INT_CARD}p5"
ITEM_FSTYPE="ext4"
ITEM_OMAPATAG="1"
ITEM_CMDLINE="root=/dev/mmcblk0p5 rootwait
init=/bin/systemdomapfb.vram=0:3M,1:3M,2:3M quiet"


and later on it lets you untar the root fs to mmcblk0p5
(root) mount /dev/mmcblk0p5 /mnt/ && cd /mnt
(root) wget ftp://bokmal.de/arch-n900/ArchLinuxA...-rootfs.tar.gz
(root) tar -zxvf

so someone can give me some guidence for where its gooing wrong

the guide i reverd to is here
http://blog.jakgibb.com/2013/03/28/a...stall-on-n900/

Last edited by sojab0on; 2013-05-22 at 11:06. Reason: code change and guide revering
 

The Following User Says Thank You to sojab0on For This Useful Post:
Posts: 153 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ P town
#428
Originally Posted by sojab0on View Post
why do i need to use partition 4 instead of 5
Because on your previous post, you write
EXT4-fs (mmcblk0p4) unable to read superblock
and later on it lets you untar the root fs to mmcblk0p5
(root) mount /dev/mmcblk0p5 /mnt/ && cd /mnt
(root) wget ftp://bokmal.de/arch-n900/ArchLinuxA...-rootfs.tar.gz
(root) tar -zxvf
From this information, it seems you want to install Arch on /dev/mmcblk0p5 (5th partition on you Internal MMC). Is it true?
If it is, then you should follow my previous post.
btw have you previously format /dev/mmcblk0p5 with mkfs.ext4?
 
Posts: 8 | Thanked: 1 time | Joined on Apr 2013
#429
yes thats what the guide on that site also does.

and yes i did that and i did it over agian bofore i worte this post its unpacking the root of to mmcblk0p5 as im writing this.
 
Posts: 153 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Dec 2011 @ P town
#430
Originally Posted by sojab0on View Post
yes thats what the guide on that site also does.

and yes i did that and i did it over agian bofore i worte this post its unpacking the root of to mmcblk0p5 as im writing this.
Could you give the output of this command:
# fdisk -l /dev/mmcblk0

---edit---
btw, in the tutorial, it has:
ITEM_CMDLINE="root=/dev/mmcblk0p5 rootwait init=/bin/systemdomapfb.vram=0:3M,1:3M,2:3M quiet"

when it should be:
ITEM_CMDLINE="root=/dev/mmcblk0p5 rootwait init=/bin/systemd omapfb.vram=0:3M,1:3M,2:3M quiet"

there is a space between systemd and omapfb

Last edited by sLumPia; 2013-05-22 at 12:41. Reason: edit
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 17:56.