Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 45 | Thanked: 11 times | Joined on Aug 2008
#21
New version works for me with Tear; no double instance like there was with 1.4.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to sds910 For This Useful Post:
munky261's Avatar
Posts: 1,674 | Thanked: 171 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Anderson, IN
#22
I copied the script and followed the instructions, and tear wouldnt open at all. what am I doing wrong?
__________________
There is only one Return, and it's not of the King, it's of the Jedi.
 
Posts: 45 | Thanked: 11 times | Joined on Aug 2008
#23
Originally Posted by munky261 View Post
I copied the script and followed the instructions, and tear wouldnt open at all. what am I doing wrong?
chmod 755? reboot? copy/paste from a PC? Bet it's one of those...
 
jukey's Avatar
Posts: 246 | Thanked: 204 times | Joined on Jun 2007 @ Potsdam (Germany)
#24
Originally Posted by mgoebel View Post
We have tried it, without problems, with Midori and Fennec.
I am using it with fennec and it works fine but I have two small issues:

1. After booting my tablet I have to do the action which opens the browser for two times. But after opening fennec the first time after a reboot I can open it with one click every time I want.

2. Every time I open fennec it starts as a new application. It would be better for the memory if a new window opens in a new tab.

But beside of this it works very nice. Thanks again.
__________________
-> Join the SailfishOS Meetup Berlin - every first Monday a month <-

Me on twitter
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,252 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#25
Originally Posted by sds910 View Post
chmod 755? reboot? copy/paste from a PC? Bet it's one of those...
with copy/paste from a pc your really saying windows notepad, no?

ugh, i hate the multitude of "standards". especially when linux software have become so good at "hiding" the craziness that comes out of redmond...

if someone could provide the script in a easy to download file, aat least one n800 user would be happy
__________________
Be warned, posts are often line of thoughts at highway speeds...

Last edited by tso; 2009-09-06 at 05:30.
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,252 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#26
Originally Posted by sds910 View Post
chmod 755? reboot? copy/paste from a PC? Bet it's one of those...
done all of them, no change. i see a cpu spike after trying to open a feed in feedcircuit, but then nothing happens.

btw, using tear this way, will it not result in multiple tear processes eating up ram?
__________________
Be warned, posts are often line of thoughts at highway speeds...
 
Bundyo's Avatar
Posts: 4,549 | Thanked: 4,005 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Bulgaria
#27
Nope

On start with parameter Tear passes it to itself through DBus.
__________________
Technically, there are three determinate states the cat could be in: Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,252 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#28
ah, didnt get the memo as iirc, earlier it would start up multiples...
__________________
Be warned, posts are often line of thoughts at highway speeds...
 
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,252 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#29
arg, now i get it...

first of, as i was messing with the text formatting, i forgot that it launches tear pr default.

and after changing that, i found, after a fair bit of back and forth, that there will be a version of this script stuck in ram after first launch, so if one changes the script, one have to kill the existing version in ram first, before the changes will take effect!

so checklist:

1. make sure its in unix format

2. make sure to change the browser launched to what you want

3. make sure there is no existing version running

btw, someone should really look into getting this feature into dbus-switchboard...
__________________
Be warned, posts are often line of thoughts at highway speeds...

Last edited by tso; 2009-09-06 at 19:09.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to tso For This Useful Post:
tso's Avatar
Posts: 4,783 | Thanked: 1,252 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ norway
#30
hmm, have anyone else noticed if this breaks the tear-bookmarks plugin?

it seems to have stopped opening tear except on the "open new window" entry.
__________________
Be warned, posts are often line of thoughts at highway speeds...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to tso For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
browser, default, fennec, microb

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:44.