Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
NerdKnight's Avatar
Posts: 113 | Thanked: 334 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Argentina
#1
I'm trying to port FreeSynd (reimplementation of engine for the classic Bullfrog game, Syndicate).
Freesynd depends on various SDL libraries: libSDL-1.2, libSDL_mixer, libSDL_image; the last two seem to be outdated in the maemo repos, so I managed to compile the game commenting some lines of code, the game runs but it is unstable, is someone interested in helping with this?
 

The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to NerdKnight For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,076 | Thanked: 3,268 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#2
Search the forum for sdlmixer, Aapo started a thread, though it was mostly about not playing ogg and such and only mp3, error I'm getting atm:
error: ‘Mix_LoadMUS_RW’ was not declared in this scope
There also is sdl1.3 package in repos, have you tried it? (gave me quite a lot of errors when compiling with 1.2 went ok, some time ago, not sure if this is good advice, but trying won't hurt)
 
Posts: 838 | Thanked: 3,384 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#3
There are newer sdlmixer, libsdl-mixer1.2.8-dev

I made for testing purpose newer sdl-image (1.2.10), not yet sure how it should be renamed so it can be installed parallel with old version (as there might be some differences).

Download debs: http://cc.oulu.fi/~rantalai/maemo5/

Code:
apt-cache policy libsdl-mixer1.2.8-dev libsdl-image1.2-dev
libsdl-mixer1.2.8-dev:
  Installed: 1.2.8-6maemo4
libsdl-image1.2-dev:
  Installed: 1.2.10-2.1
Code:
wget Freesynd-0.6
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ..
make
There were lots of warning: comparison is always true due to limited range of data type
Give this link to upstream: http://www.arm.linux.org.uk/docs/faqs/signedchar.php
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to AapoRantalainen For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,076 | Thanked: 3,268 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#4
kudos
edit: if you can think of a way/script to perform testing if they are backwards compatible, count me in
 
Posts: 2,076 | Thanked: 3,268 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#5
Aapo: just so you know Gigalomania fell prey to newer mixer (also couple of webos games sadly)
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to szopin For This Useful Post:
Posts: 131 | Thanked: 241 times | Joined on Feb 2012
#6
You can also use libsdl-mixeroggwav1.2-dev instead of libsdl-mixer1.2-dev.
 
Posts: 838 | Thanked: 3,384 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#7
Originally Posted by szopin View Post
Aapo: just so you know Gigalomania fell prey to newer mixer (also couple of webos games sadly)
No sound? Or crash?
 
NerdKnight's Avatar
Posts: 113 | Thanked: 334 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Argentina
#8
Originally Posted by AapoRantalainen View Post
There are newer sdlmixer, libsdl-mixer1.2.8-dev

I made for testing purpose newer sdl-image (1.2.10), not yet sure how it should be renamed so it can be installed parallel with old version (as there might be some differences).

Download debs: http://cc.oulu.fi/~rantalai/maemo5/

Code:
apt-cache policy libsdl-mixer1.2.8-dev libsdl-image1.2-dev
libsdl-mixer1.2.8-dev:
  Installed: 1.2.8-6maemo4
libsdl-image1.2-dev:
  Installed: 1.2.10-2.1
Code:
wget Freesynd-0.6
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ..
make
There were lots of warning: comparison is always true due to limited range of data type
Give this link to upstream: http://www.arm.linux.org.uk/docs/faqs/signedchar.php
Thanks!, it compiles with those libs, but when I try to build the deb package it fails with:
Code:
dpkg-shlibdeps: error: no dependency information found for /usr/lib/libSDL_mixer-1.2.so.0 (used by debian/freesynd/usr/local/bin/freesynd).
dh_shlibdeps: dpkg-shlibdeps -Tdebian/freesynd.substvars debian/freesynd/opt/freesynd/freesynd debian/freesynd/usr/local/bin/freesynd returned exit code 2
I think this is because of the package name.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to NerdKnight For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,076 | Thanked: 3,268 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#9
Disabling test-data made it run for me, sound intro mission choosing all works (not sure how to shoot yet), ctrl-c resulted in a megahalt though. Battery-forced reboot required. Very good-looking (especially as this game rocked)
 

The Following User Says Thank You to szopin For This Useful Post:
NerdKnight's Avatar
Posts: 113 | Thanked: 334 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Argentina
#10
Originally Posted by szopin View Post
Disabling test-data made it run for me, sound intro mission choosing all works (not sure how to shoot yet), ctrl-c resulted in a megahalt though. Battery-forced reboot required. Very good-looking (especially as this game rocked)
It shoots with right mouse button, I'll try to emulate this holding a key.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:00.