I was hoping someone could help me get my two new iMpulse controllers working with my n900.

Here's the site for those wondering what they are,

http://impulsecontroller.com/

also the user guide,

http://impulsecontroller.com/tour/TheTour_P1.html

Basically they are just wireless blue-tooth controllers which use a keyboard layout (afaik) to send input.

I can pair the device to my n900 but the impulse controller seems to go into lock mode and has no interaction with the n900 beyond the pairing. The n900 sees it as a peripheral.

I've used my six axis as a controller with my n900 before so I have some experience with something similar. Perhaps I simply need an already existing application? Or perhaps one would need to be coded?

Anyone more knowledgeable than me in this topic who could enlighten me as to my chances of getting my new controllers working with my n900 would have my thanks!

The Following User Says Thank You to AnAnarchist For This Useful Post:
UPDATE

I've made some good progress tonight. I installed External Keyboard Support - extkbd (http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=65577) and I it recognizes the iMpulse as a keyboard.

I can pair / unpair at will with the iMpulse user button as it describes in the manual.

When I open notepad on the n900 and press buttons on the iMpulse they are recognized as the keys they should be

At that point I thought everything was 100% fixed!

But alas although I can map the keys with the iMpulse in drnoksnes, when I attempt to play a game the n900 (or maybe just drnoksnes) doesn't react to the button presses on the iMpulse.

Are there any known issues with drnoksnes and bluetooth keyboards using extkbd?

Hm, no idea... Could you try it with gpSP from extras-devel? I don't see any reason why (even fancy named) 8-keys bluetooth keyboard that works in some parts of Maemo, should fail on others (excluding things like ED, that need different mapping).

/Estel
-
Camera cover MOD
-
Measure battery's real capacity on-device
-