Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,288 | Thanked: 4,316 times | Joined on Oct 2014
#11
Someone on that forum set up a server.
Obviously, needs to be carefull trusting just anybody. But, as a test, if that trick solves the issue. You could add

151.248.114.158 connectivity-test.ext.nokia.com

To /etc/hosts
 
ginggs's Avatar
Posts: 306 | Thanked: 582 times | Joined on Mar 2012
#12
Originally Posted by nieldk View Post
You could add

151.248.114.158 connectivity-test.ext.nokia.com

To /etc/hosts
I tried that, and when establishing a wifi connection, the web browser opens up http://connectivity-test.ext.nokia.com, as if I was using a wifi connection with a landing page. The wifi connection still gets changed from Automatically used to Manually used.

If the server was working as described, I would expect the following to work, but it doesn't:
Code:
wget --spider --server-response --header='X-Nokia-WLAN-Connectivity-Test: true' http://connectivity-test.ext.nokia.com/
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ginggs For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#13
On my side it may have nothimg to do with connectivity-test.ext.nokia.com.

I happened to change also my account online states with Profilematic.
And set all to offline when outside my WLAN. They will be set back online when WLAN detected. But on scanning all accounts are still offline.
So I get that message in syslog
nect[7593]: GLIB DEBUG default - No online accounts require ip routing, exiting
and after setting my accounts to online and exiting flight mode it works!?
It also works when updating mail accounts manually.

What is strange is that I expect my WLAN connection to start automatically on automatic (scheduled) update of mails. But that seems not to happen!
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 
ginggs's Avatar
Posts: 306 | Thanked: 582 times | Joined on Mar 2012
#14
I set up a local apache2/php5 web server with the following in /var/www/html/index.php:
Code:
<?php
$headers = apache_request_headers();

if(isset($headers['X-Nokia-WLAN-Connectivity-Test']))
{
    header('X-Nokia-WLAN-Connectivity-Test: true');
    exit();
}
?>
I made a slight change to the header() call.

After adding connectivity-test.ext.nokia.com to /etc/hosts on my N9, I could see the 'X-Nokia-WLAN-Connectivity-Test: true' header in the server's response to the wget command. However, the web browser still pops up http://connectivity-test.ext.nokia.com and changes the connection to Manually used when connecting.
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#15
I do not expect that to influence our prob.
But what I really do not get: does your connection really reset itself back to manually used? That would not only be strange but ghostery. (please.forgive.me.in.advance - as I do not expect you to do so: do you press save before leaving that setting page? It is not sfos )
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 
Posts: 242 | Thanked: 169 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#16
Wlan connection reverting to manual is happening to me too, on used N9 bought a couple of days ago (initially I thought a damaged wlan antenna would cause disconnections, then I saw this thread).

Anyway at the moment this is my configuration:
- PR1.3 (I think stock one)
- no sim card, so wlan disconnection stops internet connection
- I'm connecting to hidden wlan: maybe I should try to let router visible
- it seems N9 gets lower signal on hidden wlan than other devices do: after loosing connection I search for available wlans and the hidden one comes up after a bit, showing lower signal
 

The Following User Says Thank You to enne30 For This Useful Post:
ginggs's Avatar
Posts: 306 | Thanked: 582 times | Joined on Mar 2012
#17
Originally Posted by peterleinchen View Post
But what I really do not get: does your connection really reset itself back to manually used? That would not only be strange but ghostery.
Yes, really.
Originally Posted by peterleinchen View Post
(please.forgive.me.in.advance - as I do not expect you to do so: do you press save before leaving that setting page? It is not sfos )
Yes, definitely pressing save on the 'Edit WLAN' page.
I have also tried the alternative method of pressing and holding on the connection on the 'Edit networks' page and selecting 'Use automatically' from the menu that pops up.

I ran 'strings' on /usr/sbin/icd2 and found some of interest:
Code:
IAP is not temporary and browser login is not needed
http_check_host
Proxy in use, skipping check
http://connectivity-test.ext.nokia.com
http_check_url
Checking connection to %s
X-Nokia-WLAN-Connectivity-Test: true
Changing connection to manual
HTTP response code from %s: %ld
No browser check is needed for new IAP
Setting mode to no needed for an old connection
Setting browser login on
login_needed
Sending browser request to %s
open_browser
I also found icd2 has some additional logging options:
Code:
%s - Internet Connectivity daemon 2 version 0.213.4+0m8
Usage: %s [OPTION]...
Options:
-h, --help		Display this help and exit
-V, --version		Output version information and exit
-d, --daemon		Send process to the background
-l, --loglevel		Set logging level (0 (debug) gives all logs, 1 (info) is default)
I will try running with debug level logging and see what it reports.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ginggs For This Useful Post:
ginggs's Avatar
Posts: 306 | Thanked: 582 times | Joined on Mar 2012
#18
Originally Posted by peterleinchen View Post
But I remember this server has been shut down months ago. Right? Or not?
Article on AllAboutSymbian is from December 13:
http://www.allaboutsymbian.com/news/...ectivity_t.php
If you've seen the odd error message recently on a Symbian smartphone, at least when using it on Wi-fi, it's because Nokia's longstanding connectivity-test.ext.nokia.com server is now offline, the latest in a long line of Symbian support resources to disappear under Microsoft's ownership of Nokia's Devices division. All a bit disappointing, but what can you do when there's 0.0% enthusiasm for keeping the OS going at Microsoft and very little legal imperative to do so? The good news is that Wifi connectivity does work on the whole still, albeit without automatic connection.
Thread on DailyMobile started on November 26:
http://forum.dailymobile.net/forums/...nectivity.html

I checked my backup history on my N9 and I did 'Restore settings' on December 13.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ginggs For This Useful Post:
Posts: 242 | Thanked: 169 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#19
Dunno if could be useful, anyway I see this in dmesg:
Code:
[  750.987091] wl1271: down
[  750.993682]     (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  750.993713]     (2457000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  750.993713]     (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  750.993713]     (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  750.993743]     (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  756.750793] wl1271: firmware booted (Rev 6.1.1.39.339)
[  770.485870] wl1271: down
[  792.455841] wl1271: firmware booted (Rev 6.1.1.39.339)
[  794.346740] wlan0: authenticate with 9c:41:7c:xx:xx:xx (try 1)
[  794.349304] wlan0: authenticated
[  794.363708] wlan0: associate with 9c:41:7c:xx:xx:xx (try 1)
[  794.381103] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 9c:41:7c:xx:xx:xx (capab=0x431 status=0 aid=3)
[  794.381103] wlan0: associated
[  794.650848] wl1271: Association completed.
[  806.988769] wlan0: deauthenticating from 9c:41:7c:xx:xx:xx by local choice (reason=3)
[  807.020782] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[  807.029083] cfg80211: World regulatory domain updated:
[  807.029083]     (start_freq - end_freq @ bandwidth), (max_antenna_gain, max_eirp)
[  807.029113]     (2402000 KHz - 2472000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  807.029113]     (2457000 KHz - 2482000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  807.029113]     (2474000 KHz - 2494000 KHz @ 20000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  807.029144]     (5170000 KHz - 5250000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  807.029144]     (5735000 KHz - 5835000 KHz @ 40000 KHz), (300 mBi, 2000 mBm)
[  807.031005] wl1271: down
[  825.703460] wl1271: firmware booted (Rev 6.1.1.39.339)
[  839.485931] wl1271: down
p.s. Now writing from my "new" N9, between a disconnection and another one... Hidden wlan is not the issue..
 
ginggs's Avatar
Posts: 306 | Thanked: 582 times | Joined on Mar 2012
#20
Below is an excerpt from /var/log/syslog with icd2 started with verbose logging:
Code:
/sbin/initctl stop xsession/icd2
/usr/sbin/icd2 -l 0
This is just after the wifi connection was connected automatically:
Code:
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: connecting iap 0x71488 in state ICD_IAP_STATE_IP_UP: interface is 'wlan0'
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: No other ip_up functions found
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: no service module for iap 0x71488 since service type or service id is empty: '(null)'/'(null)'
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: No service provider module to call
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: no service module for iap 0x71488 since service type or service id is empty: '(null)'/'(null)'
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: Proxytype: NONE
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: Checking connection to http://connectivity-test.ext.nokia.com
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: HTTP response code from http://connectivity-test.ext.nokia.com: 200
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: policy nw disconnect restricted mode set to 1, restricted in roaming set to 1
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: icd refcount restricted mode set to 1, restricted in roaming set to 1
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: icd refcount reference counting restored to on
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: refcount checking orpahed requests after 2 secs
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: policy merge restricted mode set to 1, restricted in roaming set to 1
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: always online restricted mode set to 1, restricted in roaming set to 1
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: Changing connection to manual
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: Setting browser login on
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: Sending browser request to http://connectivity-test.ext.nokia.com
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: IAP for f84f726d-b8cd-4d05-b77c-d808ea6cb701 and local FALSE found
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: Found PID 1284 in request
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: Browser request done
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: Starting to poll
Dec 26 10:36:48 (2015) icd2 0.213.4+0m8[6342]: connecting iap 0x71488 in state ICD_IAP_STATE_SCRIPT_POST_UP: interface is 'wlan0'
Just after this, icd2 brought the wifi connection down and brought the mobile connection up.

This is with connectivity-test.ext.nokia.com pointing at my local web server.
Maybe I just need to return the correct HTTP response code?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ginggs For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:47.