Would it be possible to get pulse audio up and running on maemo?

For those of you who dont know, pulse audio is a new linux sound system that allow you to stram audio to any other computers speakers that has the server running. If that system has multiple speaker outputs you can select which ones to pipe the audio stream to.

If this were up and running I could set up a linux box with a few different sound cards and run the audio to different room in my house. I could then use pulse audio serer to stream the audio to any one or all or whichever set of speaker I want.

I am no developer, but I know pulse uses alsa. I'm not sure if maemo uses alsa or oss or what. But a pulse audio interface would really open up some possibilities. You could then easily (point and click) and stream audio to any device that can run pulse. like a toaster. ha

jk, but seriously, we need this. youtube it "pulse audio"

eric

The Following User Says Thank You to ericcmi For This Useful Post:
Posts: 201 | Thanked: 88 times | Joined on Aug 2007 @ San Francisco, CA
I've thought about doing this a few times so I could use my N810 as a wireless headset; I haven't had the spare time lately, but I'd be interested in trying it out if someone else ported it.

Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing
i <3 pulse audio, i use pulse audio on ubuntu

i'd be interested in looking at porting but my user account iis broken on my computer

idm, i haden't given much thought to using the nit as a server(headphones), but rather the other way around as in piping my canola audio to one of the outputs on my nix box.

This begs the question... What audio stream is it that a desktop can play that the nit cannot? Playing a CD??? That makes no sence.

I'm sure there are many good reasons to use pulse in this mannor. But using the nit as a client(player) has many more.

Posts: 4,274 | Thanked: 5,358 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ Looking at y'all and sighing