Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 147 | Thanked: 7 times | Joined on Aug 2010
#21
what is compcache do ?

it's useful to install ?
 
TMavica's Avatar
Posts: 1,951 | Thanked: 893 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Hong Kong
#22
After a reboot, the ramzswap0 gone...
 
Posts: 855 | Thanked: 1,674 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Aleppo ,Syria
#23
i have been using it for about an hour
personally haven't noticed an improvement with the performance
but the negative side i have noticed
is after using metasploit3
N900 starts to lag so deadly
with out using ramzswap0 it runs normal after using metasploit3

will do more tests anyway
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to karam For This Useful Post:
Estel's Avatar
Posts: 5,029 | Thanked: 8,582 times | Joined on Mar 2011
#24
Originally Posted by TMavica View Post
After a reboot, the ramzswap0 gone...
Orly?

Just crete a script, to load it after every boot + manipulate swaps as needed, then place it in event.d folder.

There are *many* threads about it + article(s) in wiki.
__________________
N900's aluminum backcover / body replacement
-
N900's HDMI-Out
-
Camera cover MOD
-
Measure battery's real capacity on-device
-
TrueCrypt 7.1 | ereswap | bnf
-
Hardware's mods research is costly. To support my work, please consider donating. Thank You!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Estel For This Useful Post:
Posts: 136 | Thanked: 115 times | Joined on Jul 2010 @ Greece
#25
Originally Posted by TMavica View Post
After a reboot, the ramzswap0 gone...
ofcourse it is. only the default swap partition starts at boot time.
so far with heavy usage it behaves very nicely. looks like a winner to me.

edit: after some time it did become unresponsive. I had to close two microb windows and to wait for a whole minute to respond and close them. all the time I could not even check with terminal or any other way what was using the cpu. when it woke up, i did not reboot and everything was ok again.

Last edited by evan; 2011-08-27 at 21:09.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to evan For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,007 | Thanked: 12,351 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Sofia,Bulgaria
#26
TBH negative feedbacks are somehow expected, as without notifications enabled memory consumption is suboptimal, I will do my best to make them run, but I realy need some help from the guy who has made notifications patch (some guy from BFS kernel developers)

EDIT: btw I would not expect miracles as we are adding only about 60 MB for 128MB swap

Last edited by freemangordon; 2011-08-27 at 22:10.
 

The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to freemangordon For This Useful Post:
Posts: 3,007 | Thanked: 12,351 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Sofia,Bulgaria
#27
Originally Posted by evan View Post
I am installing right now..
should we be more careful with compcache enabled about swappiness value? a value of 100 would make the cpu compressing data all the time?
edit: installed with priorities correct!. testing begins..
I am using swapiness 30 and tbh definitely there is improvement when using compcache, have been running it on my primary device for about 8 hours with no single lag.

Last edited by freemangordon; 2011-08-27 at 22:24.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to freemangordon For This Useful Post:
Posts: 855 | Thanked: 1,674 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Aleppo ,Syria
#28
ok now this is my final feedback

my first one was negative
reason: lags after metasploit3
how to fix: set up more space for ramzswap0
increasing the internal swap to 1.5gb #not sure if it is important
setting a event.d script to use ramzswap0 directly after the boot
and set up a script using dbus to refresh the ramzswap0 when the device is inactive

------

and after all that i kindda felt a bit faster performance
maybe others will feel more performance
(cause i use speedpatch) which might makes me feel a bit of increased performance


anyway thanks for your effort freemangordon (btw i love half-life *)



//EDIT
even whith the above
when after a period of time
Well N900 gets laggy to death
cat /proc/swap
i can see that the ramzswap0 almost finished

hmm
how much is the max disksize for ramzswap can N900 take?
i tried 200mb ended with an instant reboot

Last edited by karam; 2011-08-28 at 01:58.
 
Posts: 3,007 | Thanked: 12,351 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Sofia,Bulgaria
#29
Originally Posted by karam View Post
ok now this is my final feedback

my first one was negative
reason: lags after metasploit3
how to fix: set up more space for ramzswap0
increasing the internal swap to 1.5gb #not sure if it is important
setting a event.d script to use ramzswap0 directly after the boot
and set up a script using dbus to refresh the ramzswap0 when the device is inactive

------

and after all that i kindda felt a bit faster performance
maybe others will feel more performance
(cause i use speedpatch) which might makes me feel a bit of increased performance


anyway thanks for your effort freemangordon (btw i love half-life *)



//EDIT
even whith the above
when after a period of time
Well N900 gets laggy to death
cat /proc/swap
i can see that the ramzswap0 almost finished

hmm
how much is the max disksize for ramzswap can N900 take?
i tried 200mb ended with an instant reboot
using more than about 130-140MB of ramzswap is a recipe for a trouble, you will have oom kills for sure
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to freemangordon For This Useful Post:
Posts: 855 | Thanked: 1,674 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Aleppo ,Syria
#30
even if i used 100mb
N900 gets laggy (very much) when the ramzswap is nearly full

i see 20mb does no problems but not sure if any better performance
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:24.