Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#1
hey all,
let me begin by saying my n900 is in an unusable state:
long story short it came on a boat ride and now the digitizer is completely buggered...the screen still shows its image but i cannot press anything.

so ive got a problem that i need help fixing. i need to backup my phone using the backup app (or other) but cannot interact with phone except for keyboard. ive been able to open up xterm and even type the command to install x11vnc inorder to control the phone via computer but the wifi is not connected on the phone and will not automatically connect as xterm needs it, it seems like i need to open say the web app and then xterm so it can install vnc.

is there any way i can connect to wifi via xterm, or is there any way to open apps on the phone via xterm?
is it possible a sccreen recalibration will do the trick, and if so how could i do that without being able to bring up the menu?
will a hard reset help?

thanks for your help all. i will be putting it into nokia to be fixed but would love the backup before that
 
Posts: 1,680 | Thanked: 3,685 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#2
NP bro. Open xterm and type in this mutha:

Code:
dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.icd /com/nokia/icd com.nokia.icd.connect string:"[ANY]" uint32:0 | echo ""
That will get you online. From there you can either try and install backup menu or just use x11vnc to pull stuff off the device.

Ok?
__________________
N900: One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die.
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#3
much appreciated. how would i go about doing the standard backup via xterm?
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#4
by the way, i just went to put that in xterm and i cannot put in the "[]" characters because they require the sym menu and touch selection

any other ideas?
 
Posts: 701 | Thanked: 585 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ London, England
#5
Check out this thread.
 
Posts: 212 | Thanked: 189 times | Joined on Oct 2010
#6
maybe copying a deb of backupmenu onto a sd card, or a script for going online and install what you need
 
Posts: 692 | Thanked: 264 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#7
Another option for backing it up is via rsync, and you cen definitely do that without using the touchscreen:

http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=59328

Just be aware that you'll have a bit less free rootfs space after restoring (even if you do everything correctly) due to some files being de-sparsed.
__________________
"Impossible is not in the Maemo vocabulary" - Caballero

Last edited by GameboyRMH; 2011-02-17 at 13:01.
 
pH5's Avatar
Posts: 138 | Thanked: 375 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Berlin
#8
Originally Posted by sherman91 View Post
by the way, i just went to put that in xterm and i cannot put in the "[]" characters because they require the sym menu and touch selection

any other ideas?
Let $(echo -e ...) evaluate ASCII codes:
Code:
$(echo -e dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=com.nokia.icd /com/nokia/icd com.nokia.icd.connect string:"\x5bANY\x5d" uint32:0)
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pH5 For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 19:09.