Reply
Thread Tools
Rassilon7's Avatar
Posts: 220 | Thanked: 41 times | Joined on Oct 2008
#1
Hi

I have been given some memory cards as gifts and wanted to test their speeds, how should I go about doing this?

I looked back through the archives and found this command:

sync; time sh -c "dd if=/dev/zero of=/media/mmc1/testfile bs=1M count=100; sync"

But I keep getting "media/mmc1/testfile No such file of directory" Should I be specifiying a file, or have things changed with OS2008?

Thanks in advance

Steve
 
pycage's Avatar
Posts: 3,404 | Thanked: 4,474 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ Germany
#2
If you have a Linux box, maybe the best way to test is to use
Code:
hdparm -tT /dev/sda
as root. /dev/sda should be replaced by the actual device file.
This will report read and write speeds.

But I keep getting "media/mmc1/testfile No such file of directory" Should I be specifiying a file, or have things changed with OS2008?
Make sure that /media/mmc1 exists and has the card mounted.
 
Rassilon7's Avatar
Posts: 220 | Thanked: 41 times | Joined on Oct 2008
#3
I'm on a Mac.

Yes media/mmc1 exists and the card has been mounted.

I'm doing this on the N810 is that correct?
 
pycage's Avatar
Posts: 3,404 | Thanked: 4,474 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ Germany
#4
Code:
sync; time sh -c "dd if=/dev/zero of=/media/mmc1/testfile bs=1M count=100; sync"
This looks correct to me. Maybe you made a typo when trying on your N810?
 
Rassilon7's Avatar
Posts: 220 | Thanked: 41 times | Joined on Oct 2008
#5
Ha!

I wasn't logged in as root... Idiot!

Thanks for your help.

Steve
 
ace's Avatar
Posts: 296 | Thanked: 80 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#6
Originally Posted by Rassilon7 View Post
But I keep getting "media/mmc1/testfile No such file of directory" Should I be specifiying a file, or have things changed with OS2008?
Maybe the memory card had errors and was mounted read-only? Run "mount" and confirm that mmc1 is mounted read-write "rw".

As for OS2008, on my N800, the following command worked for me.

sync && time sh -c "dd if=/dev/zero of=/media/mmc1/test.data bs=1M count=100 && sync && echo success"
I changed the semi-colons to "&&", so that errors in one command stop the next command from being executed.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
 
ace's Avatar
Posts: 296 | Thanked: 80 times | Joined on Dec 2007
#7
Originally Posted by Rassilon7 View Post
I wasn't logged in as root... Idiot!
The normal user should have write permission to the memory cards, I didn't have to run the command as root. Are you using a filesystem on the memory cards other than the typical FAT? What's "mount" say about the memory card?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ace For This Useful Post:
Rassilon7's Avatar
Posts: 220 | Thanked: 41 times | Joined on Oct 2008
#8
Well it didn't work before, but now I am root it does.

Either way I got:

Real: 41.86
User: 0.00
Sys: 2.56

It was on an 8 gig Kingston Mini SD, I also tried a 2 gig micro SD and got

Real: 35.58
User 0.00
Sys: 1.60
 
Saturn's Avatar
Posts: 1,648 | Thanked: 2,122 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ UNKLE's Never Never Land
#9
There is also a compiled hdparm if you would like to run it in your tablet.

http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...69&postcount=1

pycage has given the command to use it above..
 
Rassilon7's Avatar
Posts: 220 | Thanked: 41 times | Joined on Oct 2008
#10
Sorry how do I install hdparm? Do I need to save it somewhere in particular?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:31.