Posts: 95 | Thanked: 6 times | Joined on Apr 2007 @ the Imperial Homeland

I disagree completely with boycotting the IPhone. I think that there could be a treasury of great tablet-friendly sites courtesy of the minions of Steve Jobs worshippers. Nokia really needs to get on the ball and make the N800 as compatible as possible with the sites that are being created with the Iphone in mind. There's a new blog at CNET with a bunch of IPhone "apps" that I tried with my N800. Several worked beautifully, some worked okay, and some wouldn't work at all. I'm not a programmer by any means, but as an end user, I think Nokia and our community here would benefit from being IPhone website compatible.

Click on this example (containing a link for more apps) and see what I mean. Simple, but functional web apps.

http://awasteofpixels.com/iphoneapps/amazon/amazon.php

It's not going away, so make it a part of the Nokia package. If Apple wants to limit 3rd party developers by insisting Web 2.0 is a sdk- that's a door wide open to competition... right???

That's got to be the stupidest thing I've seen on the net. "Waaa, it's locked to AT&T!" They asked the other cell companies, everybody else said no thanks. "Waaa, it's not open to developers!" Not right now, besides that's all they need some dufus making some app that screws it up. It's a cell phone, it has to work, alot of people only have cellular, no land line. That's all they need is some grandma falling down and breaking a hip and can't call 911 because her new chuzzles game borked the phone.

SEARCH! It's probably already been answered.

Posts: 1,463 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ UK
Originally Posted by mjparker75 View Post
I'm not a programmer by any means, but as an end user, I think Nokia and our community here would benefit from being IPhone website compatible.
Agreed entirely, unfortunately it's going to require a WebKit port. But then, Nokia have one...