Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
bingomion's Avatar
Posts: 528 | Thanked: 345 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ MLB.AU
#11
Hello good little app thanks!
Just some feedback..
An excersise instruction button (even if it launches to ur wiki page) would really helpfull.
Ie, i had to google dish excersise and side crunches and a few others lol.

Thanks again!
 

The Following User Says Thank You to bingomion For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,290 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ UK
#12
Originally Posted by bingomion View Post
Hello good little app thanks!
Just some feedback..
An excersise instruction button (even if it launches to ur wiki page) would really helpfull.
Ie, i had to google dish excersise and side crunches and a few others lol.
Good idea I will see what I can do.
The source script has some extra notes on alternative names for the exercises, not like that's much use.

Do beware there is still a bug (memory leak) in the current version (0.0.4)
I have not had time to look at it properly, if you press the Start button over and over it will start another instance of the script over and over. This is far from ideal.

Even though Marxian has been very very helpful I am completely new to Qt and C+ etc...

Thanks for the feedback, hope you find it useful.
__________________

Wiki Admin
sixwheeledbeast's wiki
Testing Squad Subscriber
- mcallerx - tenminutecore - FlopSwap - Qnotted - zzztop - Bander - Fight2048 -


Before posting or starting a thread please try this.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to sixwheeledbeast For This Useful Post:
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 445 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#13
How about showing a pictogram for each exercise?
 
marxian's Avatar
Posts: 2,448 | Thanked: 9,523 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Wigan, UK
#14
To fix the memory leak, I made the QProcess a private member and changed the methods to use this object to start the scripts when the buttons are clicked. The code is untested, but it should work.

I also noticed from the package page that there is a typo in your control file. The section field has user/utilites instead of user/utilities. This will probably prevent your application from being visible in HAM.
Attached Files
File Type: zip mainwindow.zip (1.5 KB, 64 views)
__________________
'Men of high position are allowed, by a special act of grace, to accomodate their reasoning to the answer they need. Logic is only required in those of lesser rank.' - J K Galbraith

My website

GitHub

Last edited by marxian; 2012-10-24 at 23:57.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to marxian For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,290 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ UK
#15
Originally Posted by marxian View Post
To fix the memory leak, I made the QProcess a private member and changed the methods to use this object to start the scripts when the buttons are clicked. The code is untested, but it should work.

I also noticed from the package page that there is a typo in your control file. The section field has user/utilites instead of user/utilities. This will probably prevent your application from being visible in HAM.
Thank you I will have a look tonight on the desktop.

As for the utilites thing I thought I fixed this in version 0.0.2, however I will double check the debian files.

With the daft way I have to copy the debian files from the release to the to the source I could have miss something in a later release.

Thank you again.
__________________

Wiki Admin
sixwheeledbeast's wiki
Testing Squad Subscriber
- mcallerx - tenminutecore - FlopSwap - Qnotted - zzztop - Bander - Fight2048 -


Before posting or starting a thread please try this.
 
Posts: 2,290 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ UK
#16
Originally Posted by marxian View Post
To fix the memory leak, I made the QProcess a private member and changed the methods to use this object to start the scripts when the buttons are clicked. The code is untested, but it should work.

I also noticed from the package page that there is a typo in your control file. The section field has user/utilites instead of user/utilities. This will probably prevent your application from being visible in HAM.
Thank you this helped me loads.

After your changes I had an issue were the stop button would no longer function. I am guessing this is due to it being a separate process to the Start button.

However I have binned the stop button off, to stop the script closing the application will suffice. This button has been replaced with a QUrl link button to the wiki page.

Also fixed the typo in the control file, well spotted.

I fixed the rotation issue by simply removing a group the buttons were on and allowing more flexible button resizing.

Originally Posted by foobar View Post
How about showing a pictogram for each exercise?
The new "Help" button links to the updated wiki page were you can find gif's or explanations of the exercises.

Changelog

0.0.5 (Current Devel)

Fixed memory leak, thanks to Marxian.
Fixed typo in Control file
Removed Stop button (Now close app to kill script)
Added help button link to new wiki page
Rotation should now work
__________________

Wiki Admin
sixwheeledbeast's wiki
Testing Squad Subscriber
- mcallerx - tenminutecore - FlopSwap - Qnotted - zzztop - Bander - Fight2048 -


Before posting or starting a thread please try this.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sixwheeledbeast For This Useful Post:
marxian's Avatar
Posts: 2,448 | Thanked: 9,523 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Wigan, UK
#17
Originally Posted by sixwheeledbeast View Post
Thank you this helped me loads.

After your changes I had an issue were the stop button would no longer function. I am guessing this is due to it being a separate process to the Start button.
It will be because the start script is still running when you press the stop button, so pressing the stop button is asking the QProcess object to run two processes at the same time. Having two separate QProcess instances would solve it, or alternatively using the static method startDetached().
__________________
'Men of high position are allowed, by a special act of grace, to accomodate their reasoning to the answer they need. Logic is only required in those of lesser rank.' - J K Galbraith

My website

GitHub
 

The Following User Says Thank You to marxian For This Useful Post:
Posts: 203 | Thanked: 445 times | Joined on Mar 2010
#18
Originally Posted by sixwheeledbeast View Post
The new "Help" button links to the updated wiki page were you can find gif's or explanations of the exercises.
Thanks, but how about showing the current exercise's picture in the application?
 
Posts: 2,290 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ UK
#19
Originally Posted by foobar View Post
Thanks, but how about showing the current exercise's picture in the application?
I had a feeling you meant this.

Although I am not saying no, this is well out of my league as regards programming at the moment.
The application is only a GUI push button to start a shell script I wrote for myself.

Ideally to have pictures per exercise it would be better to do a complete overhaul and code the current script in C.

Then I could add a clock, a way to edit exercises and timings etc etc.

I would love to get the application to there but I have a lot to learn yet.

@tenminutecore users
Is the current version working OK (no bugs)?
How do you find the exercise?
__________________

Wiki Admin
sixwheeledbeast's wiki
Testing Squad Subscriber
- mcallerx - tenminutecore - FlopSwap - Qnotted - zzztop - Bander - Fight2048 -


Before posting or starting a thread please try this.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to sixwheeledbeast For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2,290 | Thanked: 4,133 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ UK
#20
Update on way to Devel, nothing special.
Been playing with QDialogs to add nice looking About and Help sections.

Changelog

0.0.6 (Current Devel)

* Added MenuBar
* Added new About and Help dialogs
* Removed help button on MainWindow
If no negative feedback will push to Testing.
__________________

Wiki Admin
sixwheeledbeast's wiki
Testing Squad Subscriber
- mcallerx - tenminutecore - FlopSwap - Qnotted - zzztop - Bander - Fight2048 -


Before posting or starting a thread please try this.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to sixwheeledbeast For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
bouldering, exercise, tenminutecore, training


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 22:57.