Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1,100 | Thanked: 2,797 times | Joined on Apr 2011 @ Netherlands
#151
IDon't,

I'm experiencing something that looks like some bug in busybox-power_1.19.3power2. But it is strange I have heard no one else about it.
Yesterday I noticed Python apps started losing their skin/buttons.

I traced it down to this:

For some reason, TMPDIR is not set (or unset) in the user shell (it is still set in the root shell).
Because it is not set, python starts looking in /tmp for the sapwood-engine entry (/tmp/sapwood-:0.0), but is is running in /var/tmp. First exporting TMPDIR to /var/tmp before starting solves it for that session.

When I reverted back to busybox-power_1.19.3power1, TMPDIR was set again. Upgraded to busybox-power_1.19.3power2 again, and TMPDIR was gone.
Setting the export in /etc/profile or ~/.profile does not work. The problem does not occur in the bash shell.

Edit: the issue is visable then a sh shell is opened in a existing shell. TMPDIR is not passed on to the next shell.

Last edited by ade; 2011-11-24 at 15:46.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to ade For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,680 | Thanked: 3,685 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#152
Originally Posted by ade View Post
IDon't,

I'm experiencing something that looks like some bug in busybox-power_1.19.3power2. But it is strange I have heard no one else about it.
Yesterday I noticed Python apps started losing their skin/buttons.

I traced it down to this:

For some reason, TMPDIR is not set (or unset) in the user shell (it is still set in the root shell).
Because it is not set, python starts looking in /tmp for the sapwood-engine entry (/tmp/sapwood-:0.0), but is is running in /var/tmp. First exporting TMPDIR to /var/tmp before starting solves it for that session.

When I reverted back to busybox-power_1.19.3power1, TMPDIR was set again. Upgraded to busybox-power_1.19.3power2 again, and TMPDIR was gone.
Setting the export in /etc/profile or ~/.profile does not work. The problem does not occur in the bash shell.
I noticed this with recaller. I simply 'apt-get purge recaller', rebooted then installed again.

Currently I am running BB-P 1.19v2 with no issues to python programs.
__________________
N900: One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to vi_ For This Useful Post:
pusak gaoq's Avatar
Posts: 723 | Thanked: 519 times | Joined on Nov 2010 @ Kuching:Malaysia
#153
Originally Posted by vi_ View Post
I noticed this with recaller. I simply 'apt-get purge recaller', rebooted then installed again.

Currently I am running BB-P 1.19v2 with no issues to python programs.
removing(purge) then re-installed didn't help....still no skin/button on theme customizer,advanced clock plugin,CSSU features configuration, recaller & etc....
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pusak gaoq For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,100 | Thanked: 2,797 times | Joined on Apr 2011 @ Netherlands
#154
Originally Posted by vi_ View Post
I noticed this with recaller. I simply 'apt-get purge recaller', rebooted then installed again.

Currently I am running BB-P 1.19v2 with no issues to python programs.
I don't have recaller installed. It is not just one program, it's every program based on python. Vi_, what does a "echo $TMPDIR" give you in a sh usershell?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to ade For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,100 | Thanked: 2,797 times | Joined on Apr 2011 @ Netherlands
#155
Originally Posted by pusak gaoq View Post
removing(purge) then re-installed didn't help....still no skin/button on theme customizer,advanced clock plugin,CSSU features configuration, recaller & etc....
All python based programs. Your are facing the same problem.

Could you start an sh shell (x-terminal) as user and do
Code:
echo $TMPDIR
Big chance it will return an empty value...
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ade For This Useful Post:
Posts: 856 | Thanked: 1,681 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ Aleppo ,Syria
#156
having the same as ade...

reversing to the older version solves it
 

The Following User Says Thank You to karam For This Useful Post:
artpra's Avatar
Posts: 158 | Thanked: 355 times | Joined on Sep 2011
#157
I have the same problem.
Code:
echo $TMPDIR
returned
Code:
/var/tmp
 
Posts: 1,100 | Thanked: 2,797 times | Joined on Apr 2011 @ Netherlands
#158
Originally Posted by artpra View Post
I have the same problem.
Code:
echo $TMPDIR
returned
Code:
/var/tmp
In this case it should be okay. but did you test correctly?
You must use the sh shell and be user.

echo $0
must return: sh
id
must return: uid=29999(user) gid=29999(users) groups=20(dialout),29(audio),44(video),670(pulse-access),29999(users)

Then do you still get /var/tmp as a value for TMPDIR?
 
Posts: 3,617 | Thanked: 2,412 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Cambridge, UK
#159
Originally Posted by ade View Post
In this case it should be okay. but did you test correctly?
You must use the sh shell and be user.

echo $0
must return: sh
id
must return: uid=29999(user) gid=29999(users) groups=20(dialout),29(audio),44(video),670(pulse-access),29999(users)

Then do you still get /var/tmp as a value for TMPDIR?
On mine, the initial shell (from running X Terminal or via ssh) reports "-sh" as $0 and has TMPDIR set to /var/tmp. Running "sh" to start a new shell reports "sh" as $0 and has no TMPDIR set though.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Rob1n For This Useful Post:
pusak gaoq's Avatar
Posts: 723 | Thanked: 519 times | Joined on Nov 2010 @ Kuching:Malaysia
#160
Originally Posted by ade View Post
In this case it should be okay. but did you test correctly?
You must use the sh shell and be user.

echo $0
must return: sh
id
must return: uid=29999(user) gid=29999(users) groups=20(dialout),29(audio),44(video),670(pulse-access),29999(users)

Then do you still get /var/tmp as a value for TMPDIR?
i did try your step & yes i got /var/tmp as value TMPDIR.....
is it the right thing or wrong cause i still got bug in TC...
__________________
My Phone Evolution : Nokia 3650-Nokia 6600-Nokia 6630-Motorola Rizr-Sony P1i-Nokia E63-Nokia X3-Samsung E980-Iphone 2G-Sony W595-Nokia E71-Nokia 5800-Nokia N900-HTC Hero-Xperia Mini Pro
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 23:51.