I've managed to set up a dual booting with OS2007 on the memory card, and OS2008 on the internal flash. It sort of works. As the initfs was generated on os2008, this one works ok. OS2007 works aside from wifi connectivity It still might be useful for some gaming (wesnoth at least) and some non network dependent applications which had not been ported to os2008 yet. Procedure was simple. First the OS2007 had been transferred to the memory card, then the N800 reflashed and bootmenu initfs reinstalled from the fresh os2008 install.

Posts: 2,152 | Thanked: 1,490 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Czech Republic
Yes, wi-fi and arrow keys do not work, bluetooth works
http://www.internettablettalk.com/fo...ad.php?t=11703

If you really need to PM me with troubleshooting question please consider posting it to the forum instead. It is OK to PM me a link to such post then. Thank you.

Fanoush,

I just asked you this on another post, but I will try again in case it doesn't come up.
I'm new to linux and I barely understand this dual boot.
I would like if possible to have my os2008 on my n800 run from my internal 16gb card. Is this possible? I don't want or need os2007. Will all my os2008 apps work, and all my n800 functions(web, d-pad, etc...)
My dream is to have my os2008 on the removeable internal card and move it at will if necessary. It would make from what I've read in other threads load faster and run smoother.
Thanks for all the great work you've done on the Nokia and maemo and this site. lol, Dan

Posts: 3,096 | Thanked: 1,525 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Michigan, USA
If you really really want to run both you could. you could make a script using Fanoush's kernel and initfs flasher. You would then in 2008 run a script to write out 2007 kernel/initfs and shutdown. Then when booting boot to 2007OS. When you want to boot back to 2008OS, In 2007OS you could then run a script to write out 2008 kernel/initfs and shutdown. Then select the 2008OS on boot.