Active Topics

I've been searching and I haven't quite found what I'm looking for.

I went to plug my phone into my computer to charge, and it started charging but the led blinks red and stops charging with a message "not charging". When off, it starts charging, then reboots a couple times before the led going black.

I'm hoping this is not the dreaded USB problem. It has been so good to me up to this point...

Posts: 99 | Thanked: 65 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Finland
Originally Posted by TheLongshot View Post
I went to plug my phone into my computer to charge, and it started charging but the led blinks red and stops charging with a message "not charging". When off, it starts charging, then reboots a couple times before the led going black.
I'm new to N900 myself, but from the experience I've had with N810, I wonder if this has something to do with an aging battery. "Not charging" doesn't sound familiar but reboots do. See what /var/lib/dsme/stats/lifeguard_resets has in it -- if it lists bme_RX-51, there's a very good chance you'll have to find a new battery.

The Following User Says Thank You to wnd For This Useful Post:
I actually do have a new battery on the way, and was thinking that could be the problem. I'll wait until it does arrive before trying anything else.

Posts: 99 | Thanked: 65 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Finland
Originally Posted by TheLongshot View Post
I'll wait until it does arrive before trying anything else.
Well, out of curiosity, you could still take a look at that file. :-) My N900 doesn't have that file, but then again it hasn't had any spontaneous reboots either. However, it is present on my N810 for which I have a collection of bad batteries...

check the connectors on the battery i bent mine a bit..
The red LED appears when battery is not persent.. so might be the case..

Posts: 25 | Thanked: 8 times | Joined on Feb 2009 @ Venezia
Same problem here (since a few monthes, but never reflashed since then).