Posts: 2,154 | Thanked: 2,186 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Hellsinki, Finland
Hi there,

I have a scenario like this:
- I've drawn a simple UI in Nokia QT Designer:

- I have a shell script wich does various file manipulations based on variables given

What I would like to do:
- convert that UI to native app which would launch my shell script with variables based on what's been chosen from drop down list's at the UI when hitting the "Apply changes" -button. In this case the command to be launched from the button would be:
/path/to/my/script/script.sh "Enable custom transitions" "Droid Sans" "Black"

I have zero knowledge on coding with anything else than PHP. I would highly appreciate if someone is intrested in helping me with the project

I think this could be done with Python(?) so I could later on easily edit the python "source" if I needed to add more options to the drop down lists?

Edit: and as bonus: this app should be launchable from N900's settings "application", not from program launcher menu.

80's style stadium rock is back - FIRENOTE
Hi-Octane heavy metal - FORCE MAJEURE

Last edited by d-iivil; 2010-07-16 at 08:09.

The Following User Says Thank You to d-iivil For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,296 | Thanked: 1,773 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Budapest, Hungary
Hello,

At the moment I can't write all the code for you, but I can give you some pointers about how to do it.
  • Install Nokia Qt SDK (1.0 final is the latest)
  • Install the newest Qt Creator snapshot from here:
    ftp://ftp.qt.nokia.com/qtcreator/snapshots/
    (The version in the SDK is quite crappy)
  • Launch the newly installed Qt Creator
  • Create a new Gui Application project
  • Set the Maemo 5 Qt 4.6 as build target
  • Add to it a class (or use the generated one) and copy-paste to its .ui file yours from the designer