Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#1
Hi !

I'm trying to build one project with cmake and I'm getting this error.

qemu: uncaught target signal 11 (Segmentation fault) - core dumped
make: *** [cmake_check_build_system] Error 126

cmake is working totally on X86 target but I can't get it workin on ARMEL..

I'm using scratchbox and newest Maemo5 SDK.

Any ideas ?
 
Posts: 432 | Thanked: 645 times | Joined on Mar 2009
#2
Hi,

which project are you building? Is it available somewhere?

Cheers Daniel
 
Posts: 452 | Thanked: 522 times | Joined on Nov 2007
#3
Originally Posted by vectori View Post
Hi !

I'm trying to build one project with cmake and I'm getting this error.

qemu: uncaught target signal 11 (Segmentation fault) - core dumped
make: *** [cmake_check_build_system] Error 126

cmake is working totally on X86 target but I can't get it workin on ARMEL..

I'm using scratchbox and newest Maemo5 SDK.

Any ideas ?
I get the same thing on a package I'm working on. I'm not sure the cause yet. I get it almost right away in the:
Code:
-- The C compiler identification is GNU
-- The CXX compiler identification is GNU
-- Check for working C compiler: /scratchbox/compilers/bin/gcc
qemu: uncaught target signal 11 (Segmentation fault) - core dumped
I can run gcc. It only crashes when I'm in the armel target trying to compile it.

Nathan.
 
allnameswereout's Avatar
Posts: 3,397 | Thanked: 1,212 times | Joined on Jul 2008 @ Netherlands
#4
Crosscompile it _for_ ARMEL _on_ x86-32?
__________________
Goosfraba! All text written by allnameswereout is public domain unless stated otherwise. Thank you for sharing your output!
 
Posts: 452 | Thanked: 522 times | Joined on Nov 2007
#5
Originally Posted by allnameswereout View Post
Crosscompile it _for_ ARMEL _on_ x86-32?
Ok, maybe you can explain how; because I am obviously missing something. Cmake detects that it is in x86 when I'm in the fremantle x86 target, and armel when I'm in the fremantle armel target. What is the point of the armel target if not to compile the code.

Nathan.
 
mece's Avatar
Posts: 1,111 | Thanked: 1,985 times | Joined on Aug 2009 @ Åbo, Finland
#6
Perhaps there are some files left that you compiled before, that are for x86?

perhaps make clean first?

(Just guessing here)
__________________
Class .. : Meddler, Thread watcher, Developer, Helper
Humor .. : [********--] Alignment: Pacifist
Patience : [*****-----] Weapon(s): N900, N950, Metal music
Agro ... : [----------] Relic(s) : N95, NGage, Tamyia Wild One

Try Tweed Suit for your hardcore twittering needs
http://twitter.com/mece66
I like my coffee black, like my metal.
 
Posts: 452 | Thanked: 522 times | Joined on Nov 2007
#7
It isn't even getting to that point for me -- it is dieing while creating the make files... (Or I should say their is no cache for the cmake building/detecting step)

Code:
mkdir buildarm
cd buildarm
cmake unix ..
On the x86 target is chugs for a long time; on the armel target it dies on the third step with the above segfault. cmake is like ./configure where it detects what is available and it is either dieing on the detection of gcc according to the --trace and --debug-output I am getting to:
Code:
/targets/FREMANTLE_ARMEL/usr/share/cmake-2.6/Modules/CMakeTestCCompiler.cmake(21):  TRY_COMPILE(CMAKE_C_COMPILER_WORKS ${CMAKE_BINARY_DIR} ${CMAKE_BINARY_DIR}${CMAKE_FILES_DIRECTORY}/CMakeTmp/testCCompiler.c OUTPUT_VARIABLE OUTPUT )
   Called from: [2]     /targets/FREMANTLE_ARMEL/usr/share/cmake-2.6/Modules/CMakeTestCCompiler.cmake
                [1]     /home/maemo/MyDocs/source/clucene-0.9.23-0maemo1/CMakeLists.txt
The .c file and support files are created in the CMakeTest directory; but it does not appear to be calling gcc.

I've manually compiled the "test" code with gcc and it compiles fine in the armel target.

Not sure why it is segfaulting out.

Nathan

Last edited by Nathan; 2009-10-14 at 21:20.
 
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#8
Originally Posted by danielwilms View Post
Hi,

which project are you building? Is it available somewhere?

Cheers Daniel
Well I'm developing Qt application which work together with OGRE 3D engine.

And now I'm trying to build OGRE libs for ARMEL.
https://svn.ogre3d.org/svnroot/ogre/trunk <- OGRE source which doesn't build on ARMEL


on X86 I managed to build OGRE libs and build my project.
OGRE renderwindow was succesfully rendered as QWidget. 3D models were also succesfully rendered in renderwindow, etc..

Still that is nothing if I can't get it working on ARMEL..
 
Posts: 9 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Oct 2009
#9
I googled for a while and found that this is a known problem.

http://www.mail-archive.com/maemo-de.../msg20038.html

It sounds like cmake doesn't work on ARMEL at all.
Even that host-gcc didn't work for me.

-Vectori-
 
javispedro's Avatar
Posts: 2,355 | Thanked: 5,249 times | Joined on Jan 2009 @ Barcelona
#10
I don't know what the cmake deps are, but you may consider building a special binary and just dropping it as a scratchbox devkit (search for these two keywords for sbox devkits documentation).

EDIT: But that won't help since the autobuilder won't have it, as the mailing list posts clearly state.

Last edited by javispedro; 2009-10-15 at 14:16.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 19:17.