Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 114 | Thanked: 109 times | Joined on Nov 2010 @ Finland
#1
1. Make two desktops. One with everything portrait and one with everything landscape. Note the number of each desktop. For example I used no. 1 desktop as landscape desktop and no. 2 as portrait desktop.

My landscape:
and portrait:

2. Make a new Queen beecon widget in the landscape desktop. Add new command:

Code:
if [ "`cat /sys/devices/platform/gpoi-switch/slide/state`" = "closed" ]; then
if [ "$QBW_ORIENTATION_MODE" = "portrait" ]; then
gconftool-2 -s /apps/osso/hildon-desktop/views/current -t int 2
fi
fi
where the bold 2 is the number of my portrait desktop. Change update policy to orientation only.

Make the widget invisible if you wish so.
Now when you you tilt your phone when on landscape desktop it switches to portrait desktop.

3. Do the same on portrait desktop, but change the command to
Code:
if [ "$QBW_ORIENTATION_MODE" = "landscape" ]; then
gconftool-2 -s /apps/osso/hildon-desktop/views/current -t int 1
fi
where the bold 1 is the number of landscape desktop.

Now when tilting your phone between landscape and portrait it should also switch the desktops according to devices orientation.

EDIT: Edited the code, this is not so rude anymore!
EDIT2: Now it doesn't switch to portrait if the keyboard is open

Last edited by Keneraali; 2011-04-20 at 11:16.
 

The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Keneraali For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,042 | Thanked: 430 times | Joined on May 2010
#2
So how would we make the widgets portrait? Like the temperature and clock widget? Does it have auto rotate built in?
 
Posts: 114 | Thanked: 109 times | Joined on Nov 2010 @ Finland
#3
That's another issue. Every widget can't be flipped 90 degrees to portrait. For my portrait desktop I used the allmighty Queen Beecon widget that can be set to portrait mode. The clock is DigiClock widget that can also do this.
 
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#4
one question: where to find that theme? It looks great
 
Posts: 114 | Thanked: 109 times | Joined on Nov 2010 @ Finland
#5
It's Array theme with my custom desktop icons.
Attached Images
   
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Keneraali For This Useful Post:
Posts: 395 | Thanked: 509 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Brisbane, Australia
#6
Whats "rude"?
 
Posts: 147 | Thanked: 150 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Finland
#7
Originally Posted by azkay View Post
Whats "rude"?
Rude, as in crude, rough, unfinished.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Aonsaithya For This Useful Post:
Posts: 908 | Thanked: 501 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ West Sussex, England
#8
I don't get it, does the widget change the desktop to the portrait screen, or does it actually rotate? And if it's rotating, why do you need to make a landscape and portrait screen?
 
cfh11's Avatar
Posts: 1,062 | Thanked: 961 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Boston, MA
#9
Originally Posted by Aonsaithya View Post
Rude, as in crude, rough, unfinished.
Rude is also sometimes used in software terms to mean forced or without soliciting user/application input (see fMMS).
__________________
Want to browse streamlined versions of websites automatically when in 2g? Vote for this brainstorm.

Sick of your cell signal not reconnecting after coming out of a bad signal area? Vote for this bug.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to cfh11 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 908 | Thanked: 501 times | Joined on Sep 2010 @ West Sussex, England
#10
Originally Posted by Alfonso Bastos View Post
That's not portrait. You're just fooling yourself. Look at the task luncher its still in the original position. upper left corner if you're holding the phone at landscape.

If you want portrait so badly go buy a phone that is portrait. Such a whus
Kinda missed the point...
I have a portrait screen, and it's specifically for when i'm out and about and landscape is inconvenient. At such times, the task launcher isn't necessary because i don't open the menu or other apps. My portrait screen just has the date/time, and QBW to open phone and conversations. If i'm in need of the menu or other apps, i won't be needing the portrait screen.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:30.