Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
coderus's Avatar
Posts: 6,436 | Thanked: 12,699 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Ängelholm, Sweden
#511
why not to use it in profilematic??
__________________
Telegram | Openrepos | GitHub | Revolut donations
 
Win7Mac's Avatar
Community Council | Posts: 664 | Thanked: 1,648 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Hamburg
#512
I have a much better question: why not to use it in terminal??

Last edited by Win7Mac; 2013-01-15 at 00:26.
 
Posts: 277 | Thanked: 319 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#513
No, he means it's supposed to be used with profilematic's idle rule as it says in the description. If you set the script to execute when the phone goes to idle, Billboard refreshes everytime you press the power button to lock the phone or the screen turns itself off. Very useful.
 
Win7Mac's Avatar
Community Council | Posts: 664 | Thanked: 1,648 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Hamburg
#514
I know, I read the description.
But then it must be possible in terminal too, no?

Originally Posted by slarti View Post
Coderus' script takes the gconf value that gets written by Billboard and stores it in the variable $text. Then it replaces that value in gconf with "Updating..." and immediately after that it writes over that with the original text. This forces an update in Billboard. It works like a charm but probably the last command didn't get executed when you tried it in terminal. It should be used as a script so that all commands get executed.
How is it possible to have the last command not get executed when trying in terminal? Is it the 1000ms timeout limit?
__________________
Nokia 5110 > 3310 > 6230 > N70 > N9 BLACK 64GB
Hildon Foundation Board member
Maemo Community e.V. co-creator, founder and director since Q4/2016
Current Maemo Community Council member
 
coderus's Avatar
Posts: 6,436 | Thanked: 12,699 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Ängelholm, Sweden
#515
you made a typo. 100%
 
Win7Mac's Avatar
Community Council | Posts: 664 | Thanked: 1,648 times | Joined on Apr 2012 @ Hamburg
#516
Just tried again without any scripts, only BB-inserts, so it can't be timeout -doesn't work.
 
coderus's Avatar
Posts: 6,436 | Thanked: 12,699 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Ängelholm, Sweden
#517
show me terminal window screenshot, and MAYBE i will believe you
__________________
Telegram | Openrepos | GitHub | Revolut donations
 
Posts: 24 | Thanked: 13 times | Joined on Oct 2011
#518
I have a script ready, which gets the travel times in current traffic from google, for different routes. The idea is to run the query every 15 minutes on weekday evenings, so that I can determine fastest route in current traffic.
I can't directly run the script from Billboard, as it takes about 2 seconds for curl to get the data, and billboard would time out. I need to cache the result (in a file), and have billboard display it.

I just found out that the N9 doesn't have cron on it, and profilematic isn't very suited to the task. How can I get the script to run every 15 minutes during the scheduled times? Is using sleep (15*60) in a shell script power efficient?
 
Moderator | Posts: 6,215 | Thanked: 6,400 times | Joined on Nov 2011
#519
stats0,

You can install cron on your device too
 
Posts: 277 | Thanked: 319 times | Joined on Jan 2010
#520
@win7mac,



Try entering the commands one by one in terminal.



Code:
text=$(gconftool -g /apps/billboard/text)
After this make sure the variable has the correct string by doing:



Code:
echo $text
This should show the text you have in billboard.



Code:
gconftool -s -t string /apps/billboard/text "{{white}}Updating..."
After this your low power screen will have the text "Updating...".



Code:
gconftool -s -t string /apps/billboard/text "${text}"
After this it's back to normal but refreshed.
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:51.