Active Topics

Notices

Posts: 634 | Thanked: 3,266 times | Joined on May 2010 @ Colombia
There's a story behind this release...

Back in early 2010 I found my new love, my shiny new N900 . I'm not a proper dev, sys admin is my forte (although I do like to also think of myself as a semi-competent hacker) but one of the first things I played about with was with building stuff, initially on the device under EasyDebian, then later with the proper SDK rootstrap and eventually on my PC under Scratchbox (rather backwards, I know :P). Curious as I was, I wondered how hard it would be to port desktop Linux games to the N900 so I decided to look for something entertaining that no one had ported yet and came across Steven Fuller's Linux port of Aliens versus Predator. Without too much trouble I got it to build but then I had the problem of tracking down the game and finding a Windows machine that I could install it to in order to get the game data files to be copied to the N900. Eventually I got the little bastard running my N900. I soon found out about some of the N900's quirks such as that the Enter key actually maps to the Keypad Enter key and discovered where to fix it in the AvP source code. So I finally had the game running, the only problem was that it was unplayable, it was bloody slow. I wasn't ready to give up. I planned to do a Harmattan port thinking that maybe the better hardware would solve the slowness problem. Eventually I discovered that the problem was that it wasn't using hardware accelerated video and I would need to port it from OpenGL to OpenGL ES. After learning some GL/GLES and some lame attempts to port it, I gave up.

Fast forward to March this year and I happened to stumble onto this! My agony was finally over. I applied my feeble changes, encountered another problem, fixed that (or rather worked around it) and now it works full speed on the N900 at 600MHz! No lame life-shortening overclocking required!