Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 875 | Thanked: 918 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#21
Originally Posted by jakfish View Post
I am using the Diablo Turbo kernel, but when I put the cifs.ko in the /lib/modules directory and insmod it, I get an "Unknown symbol in module (-1): No such file or directory."
You need to install the "last DT test kernel zImage" to use that cifs module.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to auouymous For This Useful Post:
endsormeans's Avatar
Posts: 3,139 | Thanked: 8,156 times | Joined on Feb 2013 @ From my Gabriola Island hermitage, near the Edge of the World
#22
yup ... (+ whatever how many characters)
__________________
Lurker since 2007, Member since 2013, Certifiable since 1972

Owner of :
1-n770 (in retirement), 3-n800's / 3-n810's (still in daily use), 5-n900's ((3 are flawless, 1 loose usb ( parts), 1 has no telephony (parts))
3-nexus 5's : 1 w/ Floko Pie 9.1 (running beautifully) waiting for Stable Droid 10 rom, 1 w/ ̶Ubuntu Touch, 1 with Maru OS (intend maemo leste when ready)

1/2 - neo900 pre- "purchased" in 2013. N̶o̶w̶ ̶A̶w̶a̶i̶t̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶r̶e̶f̶u̶n̶d̶ ̶p̶r̶o̶c̶e̶s̶s̶ ̶l̶a̶s̶t̶ ̶f̶e̶w̶ ̶y̶e̶a̶r̶s̶ - neo900 start up declared officially dead -
Lost invested funds.


PIMP MY N8X0 (Idiot's Guide and a video walkthrough)http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94294
THE LOST GRONMAYER CATALOGShttp://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ight=gronmayer
N8X0 VIDEO ENCODING THE EASY WAYhttp://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ght=mediacoder
242gb ON N800http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=90634
THE PAIN-FREE MAEMO DEVELOPMENT LIVE DISTRO-ISO FOR THE NOOB TO THE PROhttp://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=95567
AFFORDABLE MASS PRODUCTION FOR MAEMO PARTShttp://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=93325

Meateo balloons now available @ Dave999's Meateo Emporium
 

The Following User Says Thank You to endsormeans For This Useful Post:
Posts: 56 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on Jan 2015
#23
That did it. cifs.ko successfully used.

This command worked for a password-less Win8.1 public folder:

mount -t cifs //10.0.0.6/Documents /media/mmc2/mnt -o noperm,sec=none,uid=user,guest

BUT this does not mount:

mount -t cifs //C4/Documents /media/mmc2/mnt -o noperm,sec=none,uid=user,guest

If I can't use the share name (C4), only the ip, I'm kinda stuck where I was--having to depend on a shifting dynamic address.

Any other cifs command come to mind to bring up the share name rather than the ip?

Jake
 
Posts: 875 | Thanked: 918 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#24
Make a script that mounts every IP your network can use, most will fail, but one will work.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to auouymous For This Useful Post:
Posts: 56 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on Jan 2015
#25
I laughed outloud when I read your post, but then, I realized that it might work. Since comcast uses only about 11 addresses (10.0.0.2-12), the script might not take forever.

How might I set up the script? Something like this:


insmod /lib/modules/2.6.21-omap1/extra/cifs.ko
mount -t cifs //10.0.0.2/Documents /media/mmc2/mnt -o noperm,sec=none,uid=user,guest
mount -t cifs //10.0.0.3/Documents /media/mmc2/mnt -o noperm,sec=none,uid=user,guest
etc up to ... cifs //10.0.0.12

Jake
 
Posts: 875 | Thanked: 918 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#26
Originally Posted by jakfish View Post
How might I set up the script? Something like this:

insmod /lib/modules/2.6.21-omap1/extra/cifs.ko
mount -t cifs //10.0.0.2/Documents /media/mmc2/mnt -o noperm,sec=none,uid=user,guest
mount -t cifs //10.0.0.3/Documents /media/mmc2/mnt -o noperm,sec=none,uid=user,guest
etc up to ... cifs //10.0.0.12
Yup, and put #!/bin/sh on the first line of the file. Then "chmod 700" it. Make a second file with umount and rmmod commands. You only need one umount since it doesn't need the IP.

Put "&& exit" on the end of each mount command line. This makes the script exit when the mount works.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to auouymous For This Useful Post:
Posts: 56 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on Jan 2015
#27
My goodness, this might actually work A couple of things:

1) I can use chmod 700 as in gainroot/chmod 700 /chosenDirectory/sharescript.sh ?

2) I would rmmod cifs.ko?

3) I've looked into ASUI "edit buttons" (to run the scripts), and I'm confused, starting with its tiny font. Any pointers you could suggest?

Many thanks for all your help,
Jake
 
Posts: 875 | Thanked: 918 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#28
Originally Posted by jakfish View Post
1) I can use chmod 700 as in gainroot/chmod 700 /chosenDirectory/sharescript.sh ?
Use whatever terminal command you use to get root shell. I'd create a "bin" folder inside "/root" which is the root user's home. Then "chmod 700 /root/bin/name-of-script.sh".


Originally Posted by jakfish View Post
2) I would rmmod cifs.ko?
Use "rmmod cifs" to ReMove the cifs module and "lsmod" to LiSt all loaded modules.


Originally Posted by jakfish View Post
3) I've looked into ASUI "edit buttons" (to run the scripts), and I'm confused, starting with its tiny font. Any pointers you could suggest?
Open the ASUI settings program, either from your app launcher or with the "settings" button in ASUI. Then click "command buttons" and select a button number that has no command listed. Put "/root/bin/name-of-script.sh" in the command box, give it a name, check run as root, maybe require double tap to avoid accidental pressed.

Take a look at this page for more info on command buttons. http://asui.garage.maemo.org/buttons.html#commands
 
Posts: 56 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on Jan 2015
#29
Your help has almost gotten me there. I have the chmodded scripts ready in /root/bin/

But for the life of me, I can not find the "command buttons" on the second page of the ASUI settings menu.

I went to the screen shots here:

http://asui.garage.maemo.org/screenshots.html#

and on the portrait screen shot, I see the same menu headings--"Battery" "Clock" etc--and I don't see command buttons on the screen shot, either.

I do not have screen rotation installed (didn't repo the Community SSU), but that's the only variable I can find.

What am I not seeing, and thanks again for your splendid help,
Jake
 
endsormeans's Avatar
Posts: 3,139 | Thanked: 8,156 times | Joined on Feb 2013 @ From my Gabriola Island hermitage, near the Edge of the World
#30
Hm.
So let me get this straight...
you are saying that initially, you didn't install cssu and you installed diablo turbo kinda...but not all of it.

If I understand what you said...I would suggest not installing and upgrading bits and pieces.
Not following through results in all kinds of unknown.
I myself found through experimentation, stuff that wouldn't work properly and some that did.
For a positive example... something that did work well I found...
I got 2 - 128 gb sdhc adata standard size cards recognized and to work in the n800 with normal diablo and cssu installed (but not diablo turbo installed) .
But with the next stage of updating...installing diablo turbo. After which point the device lost the ability to recognize and access the card. Odd. I'm still fiddling with the why of that.
But I do know partial installations of turbo didn't help me. (Experimented with that)
And most definitely installing diablo turbo without cssu won't help.
Just my opinion from all I've gone through or tried.
__________________
Lurker since 2007, Member since 2013, Certifiable since 1972

Owner of :
1-n770 (in retirement), 3-n800's / 3-n810's (still in daily use), 5-n900's ((3 are flawless, 1 loose usb ( parts), 1 has no telephony (parts))
3-nexus 5's : 1 w/ Floko Pie 9.1 (running beautifully) waiting for Stable Droid 10 rom, 1 w/ ̶Ubuntu Touch, 1 with Maru OS (intend maemo leste when ready)

1/2 - neo900 pre- "purchased" in 2013. N̶o̶w̶ ̶A̶w̶a̶i̶t̶i̶n̶g̶ ̶r̶e̶f̶u̶n̶d̶ ̶p̶r̶o̶c̶e̶s̶s̶ ̶l̶a̶s̶t̶ ̶f̶e̶w̶ ̶y̶e̶a̶r̶s̶ - neo900 start up declared officially dead -
Lost invested funds.


PIMP MY N8X0 (Idiot's Guide and a video walkthrough)http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94294
THE LOST GRONMAYER CATALOGShttp://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ight=gronmayer
N8X0 VIDEO ENCODING THE EASY WAYhttp://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ght=mediacoder
242gb ON N800http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=90634
THE PAIN-FREE MAEMO DEVELOPMENT LIVE DISTRO-ISO FOR THE NOOB TO THE PROhttp://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=95567
AFFORDABLE MASS PRODUCTION FOR MAEMO PARTShttp://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=93325

Meateo balloons now available @ Dave999's Meateo Emporium
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:58.