Reply
Thread Tools
solbrit's Avatar
Posts: 126 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#11
I know how to enable a proxy in settings, but how do you enable it from terminal? I thought this would do the trick
Code:
export http_proxy=http://server:port
but it seems to do nothing, neither as user nor as root...
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#12
It does.

But only for that terminal.
And what a bout http_user and http_pass?
or htttp_proxy=user***@server.comort
What do you try to establish?

--edit
Nice one
http_proxy = user : pass @ server.com : port
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 

The Following User Says Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
solbrit's Avatar
Posts: 126 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#13
Basically I want to make a desktop file that'll run a script that first enables http/https (or better yet, socks) proxy and then opens an ssh tunnel to the server.

Edit: What I'd really like to know is how to enable through terminal the same global proxy settings (not just that terminal) that you can get going to settings and editing the network connection in there.

Last edited by solbrit; 2015-02-11 at 00:36.
 
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#14
Problem with Harmattan (also Fremantle) is there is no real 'global' proxy settings. The one from settings mainly (only?) affeccts browser but not any terminal proggie.

Not sure atm where it is stored, I would peek with
gconftool -R / | grep -i proxy
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 
solbrit's Avatar
Posts: 126 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#15
Originally Posted by peterleinchen View Post
Problem with Harmattan (also Fremantle) is there is no real 'global' proxy settings. The one from settings mainly (only?) affeccts browser but not any terminal proggie.

Not sure atm where it is stored, I would peek with
gconftool -R / | grep -i proxy
Thanks, that shows the server and port are set, so I tried this:
Code:
gconftool --set /system/proxy/mode --type string manual
gconftool --set /system/http_proxy/use_http_proxy --type bool true
But checking the browser it seems nothing has changed...
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:43.