Active Topics

I'm totally new to N800 and OS2008 and want a good music and video player either one app or one for music and one for video. By the looks of it there seems to be 4 main ones:

Kagu
UKMP
Canola
Mplayer

Canola looks good but is a beta version so I'm a little put off. Kagu and UKMP look good but which one is best. Mplayer from what I've read can play a lot of video formats but can it be used for music and is it good.

Using the built in player for video it was struggling to play avi files and kept freezing. Any views on what to install and use.

Cheers

Posts: 1,605 | Thanked: 1,601 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Southern California
To tell you the truth, if you don't mind the bare-bones look/feel, the default maemo media player isn't bad.

I'm partial to UKMP, because it works closest to how other industry media players work -- it looks cool too. I think Kagu is a little more intuitive -- although, keep in mind that it's only an audio player at the moment -- but currently, you have to create playlists in order to play music (i.e., you can't just click on a song and play it). Also, Kagu has A2DP support.

And, one must also have MPlayer on-hand for those media files which nothing else plays.

Tim

Originally Posted by slypie View Post
I'm totally new to N800 and OS2008 and want a good music and video player either one app or one for music and one for video.
I'd recommend you check out MediaBox:

http://mediabox.garage.maemo.org/

It's newish and there's clearly work still to be done, but so far I like it. It uses MPlayer for video playback, so you'll need that installed, but so far it seems pretty stable and it looks like there's a lot of promise.

cheers for the info guys, food for thought. Also is canola any good?

anyone know when/why mplayer doesn't play the videos produced by Nokia's Video Converter app??

Posts: 1,605 | Thanked: 1,601 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Southern California
Originally Posted by slypie View Post