Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 669 | Thanked: 433 times | Joined on May 2010
#211
ok - issue solved - the following made it work:

swapon /dev/mmcblk0p3
insmod /lib/modules/current/ramzswap.ko disksize_kb=65536
swapon /dev/ramzswap0 -p 10
swapoff /dev/mmcblk0p3

it seems that enabling the internal memory's swap was needed to avoid the crash - i don't know why.

Now i have 2 swaps:

/dev/mmcblk1p4 (P -1)
/dev/ramzswap0 (P - 10)

Thanks for the help.
 
Posts: 3,074 | Thanked: 12,960 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Sofia,Bulgaria
#212
I tend to support that, I am running /proc/sys/vm/page-cluster = 0 for ages and it definitely makes a difference.

On the other hand it seems there should be some system tweaking for compcache to be effective. Unfortunately I have NFC where and what to tweak besides what i've already posted.
__________________
Never fear. I is here.

720p video support on N900,SmartReflex on N900,Keyboard and mouse support on N900
Nothing is impossible - Stable thumb2 on n900

Community SSU developer
kernel-power developer and maintainer

 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to freemangordon For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,680 | Thanked: 3,685 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#213
Originally Posted by impeham View Post
ok - issue solved - the following made it work:

swapon /dev/mmcblk0p3
insmod /lib/modules/current/ramzswap.ko disksize_kb=65536
swapon /dev/ramzswap0 -p 10
swapoff /dev/mmcblk0p3

it seems that enabling the internal memory's swap was needed to avoid the crash - i don't know why.

Now i have 2 swaps:

/dev/mmcblk1p4 (P -1)
/dev/ramzswap0 (P - 10)

Thanks for the help.
Uh, why would you set the prioroty of ramzswap LOWER than emmc swap? That completely defeats the point of ramzswap. Now VM will use emmc till it is full THEN use ramzswap.
__________________
N900: One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die.
 
Posts: 669 | Thanked: 433 times | Joined on May 2010
#214
Originally Posted by vi_ View Post
Uh, why would you set the prioroty of ramzswap LOWER than emmc swap? That completely defeats the point of ramzswap. Now VM will use emmc till it is full THEN use ramzswap.
Why lower? ramzswap priority 10, card swap priority 1 - the "-" char was confusing .
 
Posts: 1,680 | Thanked: 3,685 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#215
Originally Posted by freemangordon View Post
I tend to support that, I am running /proc/sys/vm/page-cluster = 0 for ages and it definitely makes a difference.

On the other hand it seems there should be some system tweaking for compcache to be effective. Unfortunately I have NFC where and what to tweak besides what i've already posted.
From this morning I am using:

64MB ramzswap
swap on eMMC

echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_background_ratio
echo 100 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_writeback_centisecs
echo 100 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_expire_centisecs
echo 32 > /proc/sys/vm/min_free_kbytes
echo 95 > /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
echo 666 > /proc/sys/vm/vfs_cache_pressure
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/page-cluster
echo 4 > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/nr_requests
echo 4 > /sys/block/mmcblk1/queue/nr_requests

All is as smooth as Bulgarian butter so far, and yes I have opened many webpages, have a video playing in the background and conversations+images+file manager.

Cat /proc/swaps shows ramz is well full ages ago.

Will report later.
__________________
N900: One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die.
 

The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to vi_ For This Useful Post:
Raimu's Avatar
Posts: 139 | Thanked: 181 times | Joined on Nov 2011 @ Oulu, Finland
#216
...again with the butter... but this is quite interesting, do report back! Thanks.

Last edited by Raimu; 2012-05-27 at 12:45.
 
Posts: 669 | Thanked: 433 times | Joined on May 2010
#217
Does the "ramzswap" suffer from fragmentation issue same as with the mmc/internal swap? does it need to get swapoff+swapon also to fix it?
 
Posts: 3,074 | Thanked: 12,960 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Sofia,Bulgaria
#218
Originally Posted by impeham View Post
Does the "ramzswap" suffer from fragmentation issue same as with the mmc/internal swap? does it need to get swapoff+swapon also to fix it?
ramzswap ignores Nokia swap algorithm (i.e. the one that tries to write using large blocks of consecutive pages). And there is no penalty for writing non-consecutive blocks, as there is no physical media present. There could be penalty for fragmentation, but the algorithm used in ramzswap for memory allocation/distribution is pretty effective afaik.
__________________
Never fear. I is here.

720p video support on N900,SmartReflex on N900,Keyboard and mouse support on N900
Nothing is impossible - Stable thumb2 on n900

Community SSU developer
kernel-power developer and maintainer

 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to freemangordon For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 4,117 | Thanked: 8,901 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#219
vi_
any (good) news?

What I think I forgot to mention in my former post, that when ramzswap was enabled and I had both other (eMMC, SD) swaps enabled, both were used simultaneously (same amount of data written); even the SD swap had higher priority than eMMC.
 
Posts: 669 | Thanked: 433 times | Joined on May 2010
#220
Originally Posted by vi_ View Post
From this morning I am using:

64MB ramzswap
swap on eMMC

echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_ratio
echo 3 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_background_ratio
echo 100 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_writeback_centisecs
echo 100 > /proc/sys/vm/dirty_expire_centisecs
echo 32 > /proc/sys/vm/min_free_kbytes
echo 95 > /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
echo 666 > /proc/sys/vm/vfs_cache_pressure
echo 0 > /proc/sys/vm/page-cluster
echo 4 > /sys/block/mmcblk0/queue/nr_requests
echo 4 > /sys/block/mmcblk1/queue/nr_requests

All is as smooth as Bulgarian butter so far, and yes I have opened many webpages, have a video playing in the background and conversations+images+file manager.

Cat /proc/swaps shows ramz is well full ages ago.

Will report later.
I've tested same configuration as yours since you posted it - the device's response feels amazing - smooth and fast. i've tested with several applications open which affected the desktop response before and not anymore.

Thanks for sharing
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to impeham For This Useful Post:
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:25.