Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 418 | Thanked: 90 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#11
Originally Posted by PurpleXS8 View Post
Please calm down. How is the device acting right now?

You shouldn't have renamed the file this way, that folder, you should've saved that file locally on the device in MyDocs or on your computer.

Using terminal you should now delete that file using the command:

Code:
sudo gainroot
rm /usr/share/hildon-desktop/transitions.ini(original)
killall hildon-desktop
Now reboot your device.
wont that remove my original transition.ini i renamed to transitions.ini(original) though?

i need to delete transition.ini and rename transitions.in(original) to transitions.ini

sorry if im being dumb.
 
Banned | Posts: 280 | Thanked: 295 times | Joined on Apr 2013 @ Romania
#12
Originally Posted by crail View Post
wont that remove my original transition.ini i renamed to transitions.ini(original) though?

i need to delete transition.ini and rename transitions.in(original) to transitions.ini

sorry if im being dumb.
Yes, that's exactly what that command does.

Here is what you should try.

Code:
sudo gainroot
cd /usr/share/hildon-desktop/
mv transitions.ini(original)  /home/user/MyDocs
killall hildon-desktop
At this point your folder contains only the custom transitions file and with the kill command you can check if it works.

Now, if it's not working try this

Code:
sudo gainroot
cd /home/user/MyDocs
mv transitions.ini(original) transitions.ini
mv transitions.ini /usr/share/hildon-desktop/
The "MV" command in linux can move a file from a folder to another, but also renames the file in the same folder my overwriting.

Last edited by TheoX; 2013-08-11 at 17:08.
 
Posts: 418 | Thanked: 90 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#13
right, the transitions have gone back to normal but im still left with all the problems.

constant flashing notification ! that doesnt go even if i select ignore.

high cpu usage of hildon-thumbnail

photos not loading in gallery

thumbnails of contacts have gone

filebox is still missing icons within the app
 
Banned | Posts: 280 | Thanked: 295 times | Joined on Apr 2013 @ Romania
#14
Originally Posted by crail View Post
right, the transitions have gone back to normal but im still left with all the problems.

constant flashing notification ! that doesnt go even if i select ignore.

high cpu usage of hildon-thumbnail

photos not loading in gallery

thumbnails of contacts have gone

filebox is still missing icons within the app
I don't think that can be caused by this file. This file is not related to those. You maybe affected some other important files while installing this mod.

Please, can you post some screenshot for further assistance?
 
Posts: 418 | Thanked: 90 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#15
see filebox has no icons. also my photos arent refreshing. theyre just black.
Attached Images
   
 
Banned | Posts: 280 | Thanked: 295 times | Joined on Apr 2013 @ Romania
#16
Originally Posted by crail View Post
see filebox has no icons. also my photos arent refreshing. theyre just black.
Awww damn... The "(" in your file name is causing the command line to give an syntax error. Sorry.

Type the filename as this

Code:
 transitions.ini\(original\)
This is a big problem I mostly encounter in PHP too, but I was too stupid not to observe it.

@elros34 was right.
 
Posts: 418 | Thanked: 90 times | Joined on Nov 2009
#17
right now how do i get my thumbnails back? in my gallery my photos are all black and not loading even if i wait. theyre even broken in bookmarks, and hildon-thumbnail is going mental in the background. how do i restart it?
 
Banned | Posts: 280 | Thanked: 295 times | Joined on Apr 2013 @ Romania
#18
Originally Posted by crail View Post
right now how do i get my thumbnails back? in my gallery my photos are all black and not loading even if i wait. theyre even broken in bookmarks, and hildon-thumbnail is going mental in the background. how do i restart it?
I am going to do some reasearch on it, and I am going to try to fix this problem for you. I don't have an answer by now.
 
Banned | Posts: 280 | Thanked: 295 times | Joined on Apr 2013 @ Romania
#19
Originally Posted by crail View Post
right now how do i get my thumbnails back? in my gallery my photos are all black and not loading even if i wait. theyre even broken in bookmarks, and hildon-thumbnail is going mental in the background. how do i restart it?
Okay, here, I did some research on this and this is my solution for your problem.

Start off by deleting all the thumbnails generated until now (maybe data corruption). You can find those files in this folder: /home/user/.thumbnails/fail/hildon-thumbnail/

After doing this please run the following command to regenerate all media information: tracker-processes -r

After doing that, please visit the folder: /home/user/.thumbnails/cropped/ and delete all the contents there.

Run the tracker-processes -r again and reboot.

This is the first solution. If this fails you:

Open X Terminal:

1. Type "cd .thumbnails/fail/" (without quotation)
2. Type "rm -rf hildon-thumbnail" (without quotation)
3. Reboot your n900


Run the tracker-processes -r again and reboot.

Please update me on your status after trying this.
 
DfLo1913's Avatar
Posts: 115 | Thanked: 54 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ Texas
#20
Any chance of a deb file?
 
Reply

Tags
n900 mod, new mod, nokia n900, smooth, transitions

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:39.