Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 428 | Thanked: 54 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Washington DC
#1
So, does anyone know if the Tablet can use this profile and if so, can it used to access the interweb?

Someone else has posted a question about the T-mobile Dash (that has the PAN profile but not the DUN profile) here, but I figure this is the root of the problem.
 
Posts: 2,152 | Thanked: 1,490 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Czech Republic
#2
current system does not support it officially but since it is linux and debian it can be made to work. Instructions are in maemo wiki. Something has been mentioned also here, just use the search. You need dummy IAP connection configured and setup script in shell which starts pand daemon and sets up dns and IP address. Works for me with my notebook with conection sharing over Bluetooth LAN Access Server (part of widcomm bt stack) in Windows XP.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to fanoush For This Useful Post:
runestone's Avatar
Posts: 43 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jan 2006
#3
I was wondering how to configure the 770 to share a WiFi connection over BT PAN, or even a BT 3G connection that could be shared over PAN. Is this doable, any hints, links etc

I have a Sony Ericsson M600i that supports surfing over BT PAN, but since I have a free 3G (WCDMA) access with my other cellphone (corporate), it would be cool to share that connection from the 770 to the M600i, or even an active WLAN connection.
 
Posts: 428 | Thanked: 54 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Washington DC
#4
fanoush, do you have a script I can copy off of?
 
Posts: 2,152 | Thanked: 1,490 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Czech Republic
#5
up script
Code:
#!/bin/sh
# use gainroot to become root and relaunch itself
if [ `id -u` != 0 ] ; then
#if not already root, call itself as root
        sudo gainroot <<EOF
$0 $*
EOF
        exit
fi
# real script follows
BTADDR='xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx'
IP=192.168.2.2
GW=192.168.2.1
NS=192.168.2.1
IFACE=bnep0

#insmod just to be sure
insmod /mnt/initfs/lib/modules/current/bnep.ko
#start PAN Bluetooth connection
pand --connect $BTADDR

# wait for the interface created by pand
s=60
echo -n "Waiting $s secs for $IFACE"
while [ $s -gt 0 ] ; do
        ifconfig $IFACE >/dev/null 2>&1 && break
        s=$((s-1))
        echo -n "."
        sleep 1
done
echo
if ifconfig $IFACE >/dev/null 2>&1 ; then
# bring it up
echo "OK, bringing $IFACE up"
ifconfig $IFACE $IP up
route add default gw $GW
echo "nameserver $NS" >/tmp/resolv.conf.lo
else
    echo "Error: $IFACE not available."
fi
down script

Code:
#!/bin/sh
# use gainroot to become root and relaunch itself
if [ `id -u` != 0 ] ; then
#if not already root, call itself as root
        sudo gainroot <<EOF
$0 $*
EOF
        exit
fi
# real script follows
echo -n '' >/tmp/resolv.conf.lo
pand -K
sleep 1
rmmod bnep
you need to open dummy connection before executing 'up' script or DNS details wil get overwritten in /tmp/resolv/conf.lo
 
Posts: 428 | Thanked: 54 times | Joined on Mar 2006 @ Washington DC
#6
sweet! that worked. Thanks!

Did you have to enable R&D mode so the script would work correctly?

I have becomeroot installed as well as dropbear as well but I'm trying to figure out how to streamline connecting so its less painful.

Last edited by phi; 2006-11-02 at 00:22.
 
Posts: 2,152 | Thanked: 1,490 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Czech Republic
#7
Originally Posted by phi
Did you have to enable R&D mode so the script would work correctly?
Yes either that or after you become root by other ways you can modify /sbin/gainroot as described here (step 4) http://maemo.org/maemowiki/HowDoiBecomeRoot2

IMO becomeroot should modify /sbin/gainroot to be compatible with R&D mode and not play with /etc/sudoers and invent another way of becoming root.
 
aflegg's Avatar
Posts: 1,463 | Thanked: 81 times | Joined on Oct 2005 @ UK
#8
fanoush: agreed entirely. Is there an email address for the author somewhere?
__________________
Andrew Flegg -- mailto:andrew@bleb.org | http://www.bleb.org
Now known as
Jaffa
 
Posts: 2,152 | Thanked: 1,490 times | Joined on Jan 2006 @ Czech Republic
#9
 
Posts: 116 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jun 2006 @ Warsaw, Poland
#10
Originally Posted by fanoush
found this http://eko.one.pl/index.php?page=Nokia770_software , mailed him
Why not. Probably this is good idea.
--
Cezary
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:10.