Notices

I couldn't find a proper Backgammon for maemo. Does someone else? If not, any interest in porting some? Would Gnu backgammon be the best for it? I would be glad to participate in the effort, but I am new to the maemo community and don't have the skills to undertake such an effort by myself.

The Following User Says Thank You to pillar For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,605 | Thanked: 1,601 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Southern California
I don't think there is currently a Backgammon app for Maemo. If you can find a version that's suitable for porting (open source, Linux-based python,, etc.) you may be able to coax (or offer a bounty to) a developer into doing the work.

There is a "suitable" app that analyzed Backgammon games, but I don't know if it was actually playable:

http://directory.fsf.org/project/gnubg/

There may be something else out there, though.

Tim

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to timsamoff For This Useful Post:
GNU Backgammon seems to be the only viable option. It has GPL license and GTK+ made UI. That's probably possible to port, but like I said, I am new and don't know GTK+ much at all. I have been learning Qt straightaway.

Any other Backgammon-lover who would like to correct this oddity (of not having this great game on this platform available)?

The Following User Says Thank You to pillar For This Useful Post:

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ColdFusion For This Useful Post:
did anyone ever find a working backgammon game?
Thank you

Posts: 23 | Thanked: 36 times | Joined on Nov 2009 @ Germany
I'd like a bg app on the n900. especially gnubg would be nice. I think I could help porting it, but of course I wouldn't do it alone. Don't have the time for that.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kore For This Useful Post:
xgammon is also an option. The codebase is tiny, and it builds and runs in scratchbox but it could use some hildonisation.