Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Copernicus's Avatar
Posts: 1,987 | Thanked: 7,682 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Dayton, Ohio
#1381
Originally Posted by robthebold View Post
If I were to hazard a guess at their motivations, I'd suppose that they chose 3 symbols -- and those particular three -- instead of two to ensure that you'd never send the same symbol twice in a row. This might make timing recovery on the receiving end much easier. You get away without a clock on that end.
Interesting! Let me take another look at my info; I'd thought that while you'd never get a 1 or a 0 twice in a row, the "same as previous bit" value would be sent as many times as necessary to get through a sequence of identical bits...

Thanks!
 
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 4,822 | Thanked: 14,377 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#1382
Originally Posted by Copernicus View Post
Interesting! Let me take another look at my info; I'd thought that while you'd never get a 1 or a 0 twice in a row, the "same as previous bit" value would be sent as many times as necessary to get through a sequence of identical bits...
Not necessarily. Substituting x for "same as previous", 11111 can be transcoded as:
  • 1,1,1,1,1
  • 1,x,x,x,x
  • 1,x,1,x,1
The same for a line of zeroes of course

Although I personally fail to see a huge benefit in not sending the same sequence twice if the protocol is well designed, I think robthebold has hit the nail on the head.
__________________
In particle accelerators atoms are indeed not only touching each others. But banging together in a massive explosive orgasm.
-- nieldk in a TMO post
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
Copernicus's Avatar
Posts: 1,987 | Thanked: 7,682 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Dayton, Ohio
#1383
Originally Posted by pichlo View Post
Not necessarily. Substituting x for "same as previous", 11111 can be transcoded as:
  • 1,1,1,1,1
  • 1,x,x,x,x
  • 1,x,1,x,1
The same for a line of zeroes of course
Ah, well, the document I'd read (although extremely weak on specifics, sadly) seemed to indicate that the B&O protocol demanded that there never be a consecutive pair of 0s or of 1s. But I don't recall it demanding that there never be a consecutive pair of the third value...

Still, as you say, that would be logical, if there were any value in never seeing consecutive values. (I still don't really understand how beneficial that is; these particular values are "space encoded", meaning that they are sent by turning on the LED for a fixed amount of time, and then turning it off for a variable amount of time. If I recall correctly, a 0 is the shortest off-time, a 1 is the longest off-time, and the third value has a duration between the 0 and 1 times. You can't really get away without having some timing mechanism on either end, I think...)
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Copernicus For This Useful Post:
Posts: 992 | Thanked: 736 times | Joined on Jun 2010 @ Low Earth Orbit
#1384
I have recently misplaced the remote control for a Toshiba 40L1354DB TV. I tried the various Toshiba TV keysets and none of them work. I found that the Anitech TV Keyset 1 does allow channel up/down and volume up/down (but not eg power on/off). Any chance of adding this to Pierogi? TIA.
 
Posts: 29 | Thanked: 28 times | Joined on Jan 2013 @ USA
#1385
I've been using Pierogi ever since I got my N900 about 4 years ago. It's great to have a whole bunch of remotes in my pocket. I was using my HP48G to be my remote control before the N900, alas, I don't have my HP48G anymore....

Recently I've been getting some equipment with missing remotes. Unfortunately I can't seem to find keysets that work completely, so I ended up buying the actual or a work-alike remote.

The questions I have -
1. It looks like all the remotes are hardcoded into the binary, so it's not really possible to move buttons around or to make a keyset that has all the functions of a particular device on the same keyset that's currently on two keysets?

2. I ended up using irrecord on a full Linux box to record remotes that I can't seem to find on Pierogi. Is it possible to get these added? I need to test these lircd.conf files to make sure they work with the device, and I probably should submit them to the lircd project as well...

I just recorded:
Funai VCR (Sylvania?)
Funai DVD player (Symphonic)
Broksonic (CRT) TV

I recently also got a SV2000 DVD recorder/VCR combo. The two Funai remotes above appears to just about be able to control all the functions of the combo - having just one but not the other I'm missing half the features of the SV2000... The irrecord output looks a little weird and not sure if they actually can be combined into one file - which is weird as both remotes can power the device, yet the file looks very different for the representation for the power button... strange.
 
Posts: 1,132 | Thanked: 1,794 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ The Netherlands
#1386
I can't remember if you added Nikon DSLR command already but I came across it in a dutch forum.

Can you do anything with these numbers:

Code:
38444,76,1058,15,61,15,137,15,1078,76,1058,15,61,15,137,15,1078
This is the code for snapping 1 picture on Nikon DSLR.

source:
https://gathering.tweakers.net/forum...ssage/51342113


Another source: http://www.sbprojects.com/projects/nikon/
__________________
N900 loaded with:
CSSU-T (Thumb)
720p recording,
Pierogi, Lanterne, Cooktimer, Frogatto
N9 16GB loaded with:
Kernel-Plus
--
[TCPdump & libpcap | ngrep]
--
donate
 
Posts: 29 | Thanked: 28 times | Joined on Jan 2013 @ USA
#1387
I thought I did see the Nikon DSLR remote control already in Pierogi...at least I've used it before to trigger my D5100...
 

The Following User Says Thank You to eccerr0r For This Useful Post:
Posts: 252 | Thanked: 220 times | Joined on Jul 2010
#1388
Originally Posted by Copernicus View Post
You know, back when I was attempting to get the Fujitsu protocol up and running, I _did_ find detailed info for a Mitsubishi AC protocol as well. Let me put these two ACs back onto the top of my list, now that I have a running N900 again (finally got another battery!). No promises as to how quickly I'll get it done though, as AC controls are pretty much the hardest for me to encode right now...
Has anything happened on the Mitsubishi AC front? Also, is the command line idea getting anywhere?
__________________
21.2011.38-1Smaemo7 (CSSU Stable)
2.6.28.10power53 (not overclocked)
Yes, I search before posting.

Last edited by chill; 2017-08-22 at 09:09.
 
Posts: 185 | Thanked: 197 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Accra,Ghana
#1389
hi. can anyone suggest a keyset i can use for an Acoustic Solutions DS533 home cinema surround system. thanks!
 
Posts: 2,233 | Thanked: 3,964 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ England
#1390
Originally Posted by tcbl50 View Post
hi. can anyone suggest a keyset i can use for an Acoustic Solutions DS533 home cinema surround system. thanks!
The company have links with Goodmans so maybe start there?
__________________
The stable-beast currently runs...
21.2011.38-1Smaemo8 (CSSU Stable)
2.6.28.10power53 (125-600Mhz SR VDD1&2)

Wiki Admin
sixwheeledbeast's wiki
Testing Squad Subscriber
- mcallerx - tenminutecore - FlopSwap - Qnotted - zzztop - Bander - Fight2048 -


Before posting or starting a thread please try this.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sixwheeledbeast For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
infrared, pasta, remote, remote control

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 13:50.