Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 225 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#101
Well, to double check you need to do a two things:

ls -al /home/user/.canola/youtube

That will let you know if your link is working.

Also, do a:

df -h

That will tell you what the system thinks you have for free disk space.

Good luck.

desiv
 
Posts: 197 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Jan 2007
#102
[QUOTE=desiv;158903]Well, to double check you need to do a two things:

ls -al /home/user/.canola/youtube

That will let you know if your link is working.

Also, do a:

df -h

That will tell you what the system thinks you have for free disk space.

Good luck.[/quote/}


OK, I did your first instruction and got this reply

drwxrwxrwx 4 user users 0 Mar 21
23:28
drwxrwxrwx 8 user users 0 Mar 22
14:56


etc, etc

Is that what it sould look like?
Neil
 
Posts: 197 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Jan 2007
#103
and just did a df -h
Got this reply

Filesystem Size Used Available Use % Mou
nted on
/dev/mtdblock4 2.0M 2.0M 0 100% /mn
t/initfs
none 512k 28.0k 484.0k 5% /mn
t/initfs/tmp
/dev/mtdblock4 123.5M 115.4M 8.1M 93% /none 512.0k 28.0k 484.0k 5%
/tmp
none 1.0M 44.0M 980.0k 4%
/dev
/dev/mmcblk0p1 979.7M 598.7M 381.0M 61%
/media/mmc1


What in the world does all that mean?!
Neil
 
Posts: 225 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#104
As for the ls, it depends on the "etc. etc".. :-)

You should see a line that says something like this:
lrwxrwxrwx 1 user users 23 Mar 20 20:40 videos -> /media/mmc1/tmp/videos/

That shows that the link is there and what it points to.

As for your df, the important ones show that your memory card is 61% used (sounds like plenty of space there) and your root filesystem (/) is 93% used.
You only have 8.1 MB free.

That's a bit tight, but as long as the link is working, you should be OK, unless Canola caches somewhere else.

desiv

p.s. The df -h is easier to read if you go full screen. You can read the legend at the top and it's all lined up and you can see what the columns are.

Last edited by desiv; 2008-03-23 at 00:04.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to desiv For This Useful Post:
Posts: 197 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Jan 2007
#105
So, would removing un-used applications free up more space on the root file system?
 
Posts: 225 | Thanked: 59 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#106
Yes,
Especially if you mostly went with default installs.

You can go into Application Manager and look at installed software and it'll show you what each application is taking.

Then you can choose to uninstall something from there.

One thing that nailed me when I was first using my tablet was Maemo mapper.
I put my maps on my memory card. But then I redownloaded map repositories and wasn't paying attention and when I downloaded new maps, they went to the regular filesystem. That didn't take too long to fill up my 770. :-)

desiv

WARNING, serious GEEK-NERD hint ahead!!!
OK, if you want, you can go into a terminal and type this: (It's tricky!!!)

du -h | grep [0-9][M,G]

OK, after the "-h" is a space and then a "pipe", it's available with the onscreen keyboard under "Symbols".
Basically, it will look in all the directories from your current path (should be /home/user) down and give you file sizes for each directory, but since that would be WAY too much info, we pipe it into grep.
"grep" is pretty easy to understand. It's basically the GOD of command line!!! All HAIL GREP!!! :-)

OK, what that does is show you just the lines that have a number [0-9] followed by either the M or the G [M,G].
So, you'll only see entries like:
1.0M ./.canola/covers
1.5M ./.canola
Which means my canola directory and all its subdirectories is 1.5M in size, and the directory covers inside .canola is 1M of that.

Usually, I'll do a du -h --max-depth=1 on a Linux box, but the 770 dh command doesn't understand the max-depth option. (Don't list subdirectories more than the max-depth)
(sorry, I was feeling extra nerdy and couldn't help myself. :-)

Last edited by desiv; 2008-03-23 at 00:24.
 
briand's Avatar
Posts: 566 | Thanked: 145 times | Joined on Feb 2008 @ Tallahassee, FL
#107
Originally Posted by desiv View Post
No prob. I run a constant state of kernel panic at work myself. :-)

Just a thought, could you edit your original post that had that to show the correct ln format, and also change the "users" to "user", to save some other newbies.
Okay, done.

Originally Posted by desiv View Post
Although, I think it's been pretty educational, so maybe not. :-)
Too late. The educational aspect is good, but your original thought regarding folks reading up to (but not beyond) that post before acting on the instructions, is sound. We don't want to have to confuse more new folks any more than necessary...
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#108
Discovered a strange problem. I have Canola2 beta 7 working perfectly on my N770. Installed the YouTube Plug-in...connected to the web. Anything I try with the plug-in (search, featured, etc.) I get unkown error. Looked in home/user - there's no .canola dir. Anybody have any thoughts?

Thanks
 
handful's Avatar
Posts: 1,412 | Thanked: 594 times | Joined on Aug 2005 @ Recife, Brazil
#109
Inter: the person who was having this, I asked him to go to the web browser, try opening any page (youtube.com as example) and do a search there.
Also, the old windows style : reboot. It worked for them, can you see if works for you?

the .canola dir is hidden it will not show on the file manager, only via xterm / ssh

Marcelo
__________________
Marcelo Eduardo
www.marceloeduardo.com
----------------------------
OpenBossa Labs @ INdT, Recife Brazil
http://openbossa.indt.org
 
Posts: 3 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Jul 2007
#110
Got it! - I had to do 2 uninstalls and reinstalls. Third time did it - working now.

Thank You


Marcelo:

I can search OK from the browser. Tried rebooting - still no go. I went in through xterm and checked....still no .canola dir.

Unintalled the plug-in, re-booted, and re-installed....still no luck. I do have a canola-conf.log file though but it's empty.

Thanks for the reply

Last edited by intersys; 2008-03-23 at 04:45. Reason: Solved
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:16.