Notices

I was just wondering if there is anyone out there who could give a detailed explanation on how to use X terminal to install Debian files since I am quite new to all of this and all the explanation i have seen are not for novice users like me.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to medi37 For This Useful Post:
Posts: 67 | Thanked: 28 times | Joined on Oct 2009 @ Switzerland
Originally Posted by medi37 View Post
I was just wondering if there is anyone out there who could give a detailed explanation on how to use X terminal to install Debian files since I am quite new to all of this and all the explanation i have seen are not for novice users like me.
sudo dpkg -i foo.deb

Posts: 11,700 | Thanked: 10,045 times | Joined on Jun 2006 @ North Texas, USA
Thread moved to more appropriate location. Please note that Brainstorm is not for help, but rather, for discovering and discussion new ideas and solutions.

Thanks!

The Following User Says Thank You to Texrat For This Useful Post:
Posts: 643 | Thanked: 628 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Seattle (or thereabouts)
0.) You should be aware that installing random .deb files is a good way to end up having to reflash. Say to yourself, out loud, "I'm ok losing all the data on my N900 when this goes wrong."
1.) Download the .deb file you want to install from maemo.org. .deb files for Debian or Ubuntu will almost certainly not work the way you want them to, unless the program is very simple with few or no dependencies.
3.) Put the .deb file on your device at the same level as the "Audio Clips" and "Documents" folders.
4.) Go to Application Manager, install rootsh.
5.) Open X Terminal, type:
Code:
root
Code:
dpkg -i /home/user/MyDocs/foo.deb
(where "foo" is the name of your .deb file. Remember that the Linux terminal is case sensitive. If there are spaces in the filename you must put a \ before the space. (dpkg -i /home/user/MyDocs/my\ deb\ file\ with\ spaces.deb)

-John