Active Topics

Posts: 37 | Thanked: 68 times | Joined on Jun 2015 @ Munich, Germany
First off: I'm new to rooting. Anyway, I tried some things.

The first thing I tried was to manually install SuperSU to /opt/alien. Everything was in place but the su binary didn't escalate privileges. After some looking I saw that there's a background process needed. Without said process you can't define rights and everything is denied by default. Ofc. the process needs to be started as root (and the methods it delivers with seems to work on real android only) - a catch 22.

So I thought about different methods. And I found one, right on the phone!

There's /opt/alien/system/bin/sh - Nothing special, just a shell you might think? Well, then open an android terminal and type in:
Code:
/opt/alien/system/bin/sh
Looks just like before? Good, that's expected but remember the shell prompt or, even better, remeber the output from
Code:
whoami
It should say something along the lines "Unknown user, bla".

Okay, now open a SfOS terminal and type:
Code:
devel-su
cd /opt/alien/system/bin
cp sh su
chmod 06755 su
then go back to the android terminal and type
Code:
/opt/alien/system/bin/su
You see the different prompt? Now look what surprise
Code:
whoami
gives you. Yes, you see right, you're root! But wait, how?
We simply copied the binary sh to su - It's the exact same file! That means the damn "shell" behaves as a root shell when called su!

So it is (easily) possible to get root rights under android, why does every root checker tell the device isn't rooted then?
Well, I guess this is because this "new" su executable doesn't understand any parameters but android apps (like root checkers) tend to try to execute "su -c something" which fails (su returns error code 1, checking app gets the error code and interprets it as: No root).

Okay, but now that we have at least manual root, shouldn't it be pretty simple to install, say, SuperSU?