Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 328 | Thanked: 72 times | Joined on Oct 2010 @ Venezuela
#41
I installed this app yesterday, but i'm having a problem where the script is not updating the widget, is it supposed to work that way?
 
GreatGonzo's Avatar
Posts: 275 | Thanked: 389 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Sydney
#42
What do you mean? The browser widget is not automatically refreshing.
__________________
Quick Widgets - http://wiki.maemo.org/Quick_Widgets
 
Posts: 19 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Feb 2011
#43
Hi,

I'm probably being a real idiot, but I don't understand how to get the widget working. I downloaded the webwidget.qml file, but cannot get it to work with Facebook. I managed to create the widget and it never loads! At least I created the widget to sit on my desktop, eh? Anywho, doesn't load, and then I try to tweak the settings and it says there aren't any settings! What to do, what to do?
 
GreatGonzo's Avatar
Posts: 275 | Thanked: 389 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Sydney
#44
I have created a new widget - tagespod. It shows the most recent entries of the german Tagesschau podcast and can play those.
This could be easily modfied to use other RSS feeds/podcasts.

You need to update quick-widgets to v0.2.3 for this to work.

Next I will be playing with the location stuff
Attached Images
 
Attached Files
File Type: zip tagespod.zip (1.3 KB, 223 views)
__________________
Quick Widgets - http://wiki.maemo.org/Quick_Widgets

Last edited by GreatGonzo; 2011-03-17 at 02:53.
 
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#45
Originally Posted by GreatGonzo View Post
Unfortumately it isn't working out-of-the-box. Qt mobility needs to be installed and linked to the default search location

Code:
sudo gainroot
apt-get install libqtm-12-declarative
ln -s /opt/qtm12/imports/QtMultimediaKit /usr/lib/qt4/imports/
ln -s /opt/qtm12/imports/QtMobility /usr/lib/qt4/imports
DO NOT DO THIS ! You *will* bork your Qt install at some point/upgrade if you go down the path of manually modding Qt lib paths (which is the reason it isn't done that way 'out-of-the-box' in the first place)

The right (future-proof) way to do this for now is to handle the import paths from your code

Code:
viewer.engine()->addImportPath(QString("/opt/qtm12/imports"));
__________________
Blogging about mobile linux - The Penguin Moves!
Maintainer of PyQt (see introduction and docs), AppWatch, QuickBrownFox, etc
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to attila77 For This Useful Post:
GreatGonzo's Avatar
Posts: 275 | Thanked: 389 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Sydney
#46
Originally Posted by attila77 View Post
DO NOT DO THIS ! You *will* bork your Qt install at some point/upgrade if you go down the path of manually modding Qt lib paths (which is the reason it isn't done that way 'out-of-the-box' in the first place)

The right (future-proof) way to do this for now is to handle the import paths from your code

Code:
viewer.engine()->addImportPath(QString("/opt/qtm12/imports"));
Was going to do that but am just too lazy to push another release now. Wouldn't these symlinks just get overwritten though?
__________________
Quick Widgets - http://wiki.maemo.org/Quick_Widgets
 
Posts: 3,319 | Thanked: 5,610 times | Joined on Aug 2008 @ Finland
#47
Originally Posted by GreatGonzo View Post
Was going to do that but am just too lazy to push another release now. Wouldn't these symlinks just get overwritten though?
No, you would get a package manager error for trying to replace files not from that package. The other reason you don't want to do it like that is that it's all too easy to end up loading imports which actually link to different versions of mobility, something which you would also want to avoid.
__________________
Blogging about mobile linux - The Penguin Moves!
Maintainer of PyQt (see introduction and docs), AppWatch, QuickBrownFox, etc
 
GreatGonzo's Avatar
Posts: 275 | Thanked: 389 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Sydney
#48
This has now been rectified in quick-widget-0.2.3. Sorry I was about to go to bed and got impatient.

I have also edited the offending post.
__________________
Quick Widgets - http://wiki.maemo.org/Quick_Widgets
 

The Following User Says Thank You to GreatGonzo For This Useful Post:
GreatGonzo's Avatar
Posts: 275 | Thanked: 389 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Sydney
#49
Just pushed v0.2.5 to extras-devel. It is now possible to add widgets from the terminal, e.g.

Code:
quick-widgets ~/MyDocs/test.qml
__________________
Quick Widgets - http://wiki.maemo.org/Quick_Widgets

Last edited by GreatGonzo; 2011-03-21 at 13:13.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to GreatGonzo For This Useful Post:
Posts: 662 | Thanked: 653 times | Joined on Feb 2010
#50
@GreatGonzo

Is it possible to use the "process" element in either my Desktop environment or is it possible to import the quick widgets module on-device for use in non-widget qml applications?
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 20:32.