Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jan 2013 @ Perth
#1
Hi!
I am in Australia and I found recently that my Nokia N900 GPS is not working, that is, not getting 'locked'. I had this problem 6 months ago but when I changed the server from Nokia to Google (supl.google.com), it started working perfectly. Now the same problem happening again... this time with Google.... Any solution will be very appreciated as I need GPS a lot!
Thanks

Last edited by babak; 2013-07-05 at 10:40.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to babak For This Useful Post:
pichlo's Avatar
Posts: 4,964 | Thanked: 14,886 times | Joined on Sep 2012 @ UK
#2
Which application you are trying it in? Nokia Maps times out after 10 minutes, even though locking may take up to 20, so Nokia Maps may never get the lock. Try GpsData, GpsJinni or Modrana.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pichlo For This Useful Post:
Posts: 2 | Thanked: 2 times | Joined on Jan 2013 @ Perth
#3
[QUOTE=pichlo;1356991]Which application you are trying it in? Nokia Maps times out after 10 minutes, even though locking may take up to 20, so Nokia Maps may never get the lock. Try GpsData, GpsJinni or Modrana.[/QUOTE

Thanks for your reply. I just installed those applications you mentioned but they didn't work too. I think it has nothing to do with the application that I am running on my phone. Perhaps there is something wrong with the GPS server...

P.S: I'm using Nokia Ovi maps.

Last edited by babak; 2013-07-05 at 09:22.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to babak For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 3,210 | Thanked: 5,822 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#4
Just check once more in settings, that really supl.google.com is chosen!
I have this often reset to nokia.com after a ungraceful shutdown.
If it os set to google check with your data provider that port(s) 7275/7276 are really open.
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
AliasXZ's Avatar
Posts: 103 | Thanked: 36 times | Joined on Apr 2010 @ United Kingdom, Huddersfield
#5
I have also noticed that it takes an age to see GPS location.

it used to work perfectly up until last week

using supl.google.com

it must be an issue with supl.google.com - my s2 also does it
__________________
Kernel panic: Not Syncing
My N900 = CSSU-Thumb, kernel-power-52 @ 1000MHZ

Last edited by AliasXZ; 2013-07-05 at 10:14.
 

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AliasXZ For This Useful Post:
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#6
Do we have the root certificate in place for supl.google.com ?
They used to use Thawte, but now they use Equifax
Perhaps the Equifax Secure Certificate Authority is not installed.
(http://www.geotrust.com/resources/ro...tes/index.html)
 

The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post:
peterleinchen's Avatar
Posts: 3,210 | Thanked: 5,822 times | Joined on Aug 2010 @ Ruhrgebiet, Germany
#7
Just tested and got sat fix within seconds (Germany).
__________________
SIM-Switcher, automated SIM switching with a Double (Dual) SIM adapter
--
Thank you all for voting me into the Community Council 2014-2016!

Please consider your membership / supporting Maemo e.V. and help to spread this by following/copying this link to your TMO signature:
[MC eV] Maemo Community eV membership application, http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94257

editsignature, http://talk.maemo.org/profile.php?do=editsignature
 

The Following User Says Thank You to peterleinchen For This Useful Post:
Posts: 206 | Thanked: 367 times | Joined on Jan 2011 @ Estonia
#8
Originally Posted by babak View Post
I am in Australia and I found recently that my Nokia N900 GPS is not working, that is, not getting 'locked'.
Actually Nokia N900 GPS does not need any server for getting GPS "lock". These servers (supl.nokia.com etc and the service name is Assisted GPS or AGPS) are only used to accelerate getting the lock. GPS satellites send position signals after every 12.5 minutes, so it takes maximum that time to get a GPS fix in the conditions that there is unobstructed view to the sky. Go to the open landscape an you should get the fix. If not, then... probably hardware failure...

Last edited by acrux; 2013-07-05 at 14:13.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to acrux For This Useful Post:
Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
#9
Originally Posted by acrux View Post
Actually Nokia N900 GPS does not need any server for getting GPS "lock". These servers (supl.nokia.com etc and the service name is Assisted GPS or AGPS) are only used to accelerate getting the lock. GPS sattelites send position signals after every 12.5 minutes, so it takes maximum that time to get a GPS fix in the conditions that there is unobstructed view to the sky. Go to the open landscape an you should get the fix. If not, then... probably hardware failure...
No GPS with A-GPS needs the A-GPS. But, it will make the lock happen faster.
The mechanism is a bit complicated. Shortly, it downloads 'most recent information' from the area you are located, which it finds using GSM towers and triangulation. A lock will happen really fast, but a precise lock will happen far later, perhaps half an hour, when the GPS have recieved a complete set of data.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assisted_GPS
 

The Following User Says Thank You to For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,523 | Thanked: 1,997 times | Joined on Jul 2011 @ not your mom's FOSS basement
#10
Tha's basically what he already said.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to don_falcone For This Useful Post:
Reply

Tags
a-gps, nokia n900

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:12.