Active Topics

 



Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
kake's Avatar
Posts: 47 | Thanked: 4 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Finland
#11
Originally Posted by Snaps View Post
Its open version of Quake 3 (But you can install the real Quake 3 too)

Quake 1 has been converted. Its in devel.
Do you mean Maemo Extras-devel repository? I would like to run Quake 1 (and Quake 2) on my N900, with HWA But i haven't seen any Quake 1 or 2 apps in app.manager.
__________________
N900: Anna sen soida!
 
Bec's Avatar
Posts: 876 | Thanked: 396 times | Joined on Dec 2009
#12
...not anymore... Ith was there, I know, I've tried it, but it was the N8XX version with no hwa.

I'd try quake 3 (ioquake) but I'm sure it isn't as well optimized (control wise) as open arena.
__________________
 
F2thaK's Avatar
Posts: 4,365 | Thanked: 2,465 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia Mate
#13
quake 1 port for Nokia 770, N800, and N810:
http://wardenclyffetower.com/MaemoFi...e/sdlquake.htm
WORKS ON N900!!

see my vid.. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mq7CYsyFl24




quake 2 port for n8x0
http://www2.lut.fi/~thietan1/maqii.html
cant get working on N900
.
.

Last edited by F2thaK; 2010-02-08 at 07:26.
 
Posts: 337 | Thanked: 192 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Atlanta
#14
Hello,

Now that OpenGL ES 1.1 is available for the N900, is anyone working on porting Quake and Quake 2? I have Quake Trilogy installed on my N82 and would love to have the Trilogy on my N900. If I was as tech saavy as some of you all, I would do it myself and share with the community. I am willing to donate to whoever is able to make working versions. The S60 FP1 HW Accelerated versions are fantastic.

Thank you for your time.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Deaconclgi For This Useful Post:
F2thaK's Avatar
Posts: 4,365 | Thanked: 2,465 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Australia Mate
#15
if you read my msg above, you can see Q1 already works on N900 !!!!!!!!!!!
 
mthmob's Avatar
Posts: 378 | Thanked: 206 times | Joined on Dec 2009 @ Denmark
#16
you could run quake 2 on psx4all
 
Posts: 337 | Thanked: 192 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Atlanta
#17
Originally Posted by f2thak View Post
if you read my msg above, you can see Q1 already works on N900 !!!!!!!!!!!
I read your message before I posted and what you supplied is a way to get a version of Quake from another device to work on the N900.

What I and others are asking is for a Maemo 5 version of the PC Q and QII just in the same fashion as the Q3 from the repositories that takes advantage of the N900 hardware.
 
Posts: 337 | Thanked: 192 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Atlanta
#18
I have Quake installed and I am trying to runthe game full screen. I see on the page you linked that I have to edit the config file to hardcode the resolution but I cannot access the config file.

Is there anyone available to help me edit the config file? If I copy and paste the info that is in the link above, it doesn't work, even with root and sudo gainroot.

Thank you in advance!
 
Posts: 31 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Mar 2010 @ Venlo-Blerick, The Netherlands
#19
both quake and quake2 are available for the N900. all of this stuff can be manually installed, bit of a pain, but it all works. one only needs the binaries below and the demo or retail game data files.

quake (by pipeline) (runs 800x480 in software, -winsize 800 480 on the command line):
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=10064
http://wardenclyffetower.com/MaemoFi...e/sdlquake.htm
http://wardenclyffetower.com/MaemoFiles/sdlquake/

quake2 (including ctf support) (by pipeline):
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=20603
http://wardenclyffetower.com/MaemoFiles/quake2/

quake2 mission pack support (by pipeline):
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=20603&page=2

quake2 update (by qwerty12) (runs 800x480 in software, +set sw_mode 4 on the command line):
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=20603&page=5

xqf multiplayer gameserver browser (port by pipeline):
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=19965

many thanks to both pipeline and qwerty12!

being a quakeworld and quake2 player myself, what i'd personally love to see, are arm ports of the greatly enhanced clients used in the competative quake and quake2 communities, with opengl support. sources of these windows/linux clients are ofcourse available as demanded by the gnu gpl.

quake:
ezquake - http://ezquake.sourceforge.net/

quake2:
r1q2 - http://www.r1ch.net/stuff/r1q2/
q2pro - http://skuller.net/q2pro/

anyone up for doing it? :)

Last edited by cure; 2010-03-23 at 00:40.
 

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to cure For This Useful Post:
Posts: 337 | Thanked: 192 times | Joined on Feb 2010 @ Atlanta
#20
Thank you for the informative post. How do I type that in the command line to resize the screen?
 
Reply

Tags
accelerometer, hardware, quake 1, quake 2, remastered

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:13.