Active Topics

i just picked up a n810 and want to do something useful w/my 770 currently running 2007HE

some questions
1. is it even possible to create a mail server on the 770 running 2007HE? do i need to downgrade to 2006?

2. i control a domain and i am the only user so the volume of mail should not overwhelm the tablet

3. i am a relative linux newbie so i need good instructions as to how to do this- where can i find a faq if it is possible

4. am i asking too much to put up a webpage as well on the 770?

any suggestions are appreciated

tia

Posts: 794 | Thanked: 784 times | Joined on Sep 2007 @ /Canada/Ontario/GTA
Not sure if there are any MTA's ported to Maemo or not. You might be able to just 'apt-get install' either postfix, or sendmail from the command line as root. As for installation instructions - both postfix and sendmail are heavily documented and supported in their respective communities.

Issues I see are:

1. A mail server should be connected all the time - this means power cord in, and turned on all the time.

2. What about backup, virus scanning, spam filtering. You would need something like ClamAV and Spamassassin running via mailscanner for example.

I also have my own domain, and I was running a postfix/courier-imap/mailscanner installation on an Ubuntu 6.06LTS home server. I had it running for over a year, and I found it to be a bit of a pain after a while. Ensuring mail is backed up (via RAID, and rsync), keeping on top of Antivirus, etc.

So, I recently switched my domain's mail to Google Apps (www.google.com/a). As long as you control your MX records, you can use their service, and benefit from their venerable mail system (now with IMAP). This has really reduced my daily headache, and has given me alot more functionality than I had before.