Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
JayOnThaBeat's Avatar
Posts: 1,028 | Thanked: 578 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ Chicago
#11
Originally Posted by qole View Post
Another cool thing you can do once you get an SSH server onto your Windows computer: you can use sshfs on your tablet to map Windows file folders onto your tablet. So anywhere you can get WiFi (or, if you tether to a phone, anywhere you can get service) you can access your files as though they were on the tablet...
Ok, I got sshfs installed, now I am stuck
Code:
sshfs [user@]host:[dir] mountpoint [options]
I'm not quite sure about everything after user@host.

Care to help a brotha out?
__________________
maemo.org search
I AM NOT A ROLE-MODEL.
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#12
You have to ssh in to your server and find the directory you want. On my Windows machine running cygwin and openssh (this sounds like what copssh is, too), there's a directory called /cygdrive that has all of the server's drives under it. So if you want the Windows machine's C: drive, your directory would be /cygdrive/c/ ... So, if you want to map your C: drive, your first part looks like:

Code:
sudo sshfs WinUsername@your.ip.add.ress:/cygdrive/c/
You need to be root, so I'm using "sudo" in the example above. You need sudser or easy-debian installed to use that.

As for the tablet's mountpoint, you want somewhere that is visible to the File Manager, so that means somewhere under /home/user/MyDocs ... I have made a directory called "lan" that has all my shares in it. So, you have to first make the directory on your tablet:

Code:
mkdir -p /home/user/MyDocs/lan/c
Now you have the mountpoint. Lastly, you need the options. In order to allow everyone to use the shared directory, you have to add "-o allow_other" and if you have a custom port, you add it too.

Here's the final command for our example (using the stuff you've put in your tutorial):

Code:
sudo sshfs WinUsername@your.ip.add.ress:/cygdrive/c/ /home/user/MyDocs/lan/c -o allow_other -p 2222
Now you should be able to open your file manager on the tablet, go into "lan" and then "c" and see your Windows machine's C: drive.
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to qole For This Useful Post:
JayOnThaBeat's Avatar
Posts: 1,028 | Thanked: 578 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ Chicago
#13
Snap man!

U are, by far, the shi t.

That was awesome.. I need a smoke now!
__________________
maemo.org search
I AM NOT A ROLE-MODEL.
 
JayOnThaBeat's Avatar
Posts: 1,028 | Thanked: 578 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ Chicago
#14
@qole

I linked to that post in the guide (and full credit given, of course).
__________________
maemo.org search
I AM NOT A ROLE-MODEL.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to JayOnThaBeat For This Useful Post:
Posts: 183 | Thanked: 18 times | Joined on Jul 2009 @ italy
#15
it still gives me "could not connect to the server"....if i use the hom connection (the same of the pc) it's all ok, with ssh, without and with static ip or dynamic...
if I use bluetooth and my nokia e51, nothing...still doesn't connect...
 
JayOnThaBeat's Avatar
Posts: 1,028 | Thanked: 578 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ Chicago
#16
Originally Posted by pinguino89 View Post
it still gives me "could not connect to the server"....if i use the hom connection (the same of the pc) it's all ok, with ssh, without and with static ip or dynamic...
if I use bluetooth and my nokia e51, nothing...still doesn't connect...
So... if I get this right...

1. You can establish the tunnel on wifi and over your phone via BT.
2. You can use VNC viewer properly using localhost:1 over wifi.

3. However, when you try to use VNC Viewer while tethered to your phone, it cannot connect?

clarity is key....
__________________
maemo.org search
I AM NOT A ROLE-MODEL.
 
JayOnThaBeat's Avatar
Posts: 1,028 | Thanked: 578 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ Chicago
#17
Well, I'm pretty sure I figured out my speed issues.

Apparently you need to have a video hook driver, or a mirror driver, or something to that effect loaded up to make the screen captures more efficient. Well, apparently the drivers that these VNC servers try to load are not 64bit compatible (shocking :-/).

I have already tried TightVNC, RealVNC, and UltraVNC on Vista64 and XP 64.

The only one that is able to load up its hooks (or mirror) driver is TightVNC, and that's the one that has issues with being logged out of windows.

So, I'm going to install XP 32-bit, triple-boot into that, and report back.

Any thoughts / suggestions in the meanwhile would be superb.
__________________
maemo.org search
I AM NOT A ROLE-MODEL.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to JayOnThaBeat For This Useful Post:
JayOnThaBeat's Avatar
Posts: 1,028 | Thanked: 578 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ Chicago
#18
So it turns out that my computer will not allow me to install a 32-bit OS. I tried XP 32 bit and got a BSOD and I tried Vista 32 bit that just gave me some kind of text error msg (too distraught to remember....).

Could it be that I have some sort of supercomputer, sent from the future?

(It is an Acer after all...... :-/)

I guess I'm stuck between a fast VNC server w/o a working service and a relatively slow VNC server that I can log into windows with.

Things could be worse I suppose.
__________________
maemo.org search
I AM NOT A ROLE-MODEL.

Last edited by JayOnThaBeat; 2009-08-27 at 01:30.
 
JayOnThaBeat's Avatar
Posts: 1,028 | Thanked: 578 times | Joined on Mar 2009 @ Chicago
#19
Muah ha ha!

I've settled on UltraVNC cuz I just figured out how to block all hosts except 127.0.0.1 from gaining access to it.

(I found this to be a necessity when I got a random request for access (thank god I turned that on ))

<Adding to the guide>

///EDIT
<ADDED!>
__________________
maemo.org search
I AM NOT A ROLE-MODEL.

Last edited by JayOnThaBeat; 2009-08-27 at 03:48.
 
qole's Avatar
Moderator | Posts: 7,109 | Thanked: 8,820 times | Joined on Oct 2007 @ Vancouver, BC, Canada
#20
Originally Posted by JayOnThaBeat View Post
... I got a random request for access (thank god I turned that on )) ...
And I had just about figured out your password, too!
__________________
qole.org --- twitter --- Easy Debian wiki page
Please don't send me a private message, post to the appropriate thread.
Thank you all for your donations!
 
Reply

Tags
ssh tunnel, vnc, windows

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 15:40.