Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 105 | Thanked: 99 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ India
#1
ifconfig and ifup are unknown commands. how to install them?
 
jedi's Avatar
Posts: 1,411 | Thanked: 1,330 times | Joined on Jan 2010 @ Tatooine
#2
You have to be the root user first...
__________________
May the source be with you.
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jedi For This Useful Post:
Posts: 1,680 | Thanked: 3,685 times | Joined on Jan 2011
#3
-_-' dude, run as root!
__________________
N900: One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to vi_ For This Useful Post:
Posts: 255 | Thanked: 107 times | Joined on Nov 2010
#4
^---
install rootsh first
then

sudo ifconfig ...
sudo ifup ...

or
sudo gainroot
ifconfig ...
ifup ...

or you can take a risk and do
/sbin/ifconfig ...
/sbin/ifup ...
it might just work if you're only viewing info.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Char For This Useful Post:
Posts: 105 | Thanked: 99 times | Joined on Feb 2011 @ India
#5
thanks guys. usually when a command requires root, it throws appropiate message like "not permitted".
 
Posts: 255 | Thanked: 107 times | Joined on Nov 2010
#6
but this command was in /sbin. iinm, /sbin is only in the executable path of root, and not user.
 
Copernicus's Avatar
Posts: 1,986 | Thanked: 7,698 times | Joined on Dec 2010 @ Dayton, Ohio
#7
No need to become root! Nor do you have to add "sbin" to your path. Just prepend the full path to the name of the executable when you run it, e.g.:
$ /sbin/ifconfig
I check ifconfig all the time, it has plenty of value as a non-root utility.
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:57.