Active Topics

Guest | Posts: n/a | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on
So I was thinking last night, I seem to recall seeing on a video at some point there was a preferences/settings screen which someone flipped through and there was a discreet setting for changing the number of desktops from 1-4. It's possible I dreamed this or made it up, but that's fairly irrelevant since it's just to serve as background information

I'm figuring that somewhere in the fremantle code, there must be a setting that tells the system how many desktops to display. Surely we could just change this and add as many desktops as we want? Say, another 4... or 8.. or 16...

Seriously though. That could be really useful. I can see myself running out of screen real estate pretty quickly. Another 4 desktops would be A++.

Posts: 1,605 | Thanked: 1,601 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Southern California
This might sound like a good idea -- and I thought about it after I started playing with the N900 myself -- but even with four desktops, one can begin to get confused.

There really shouldn't need to be a way to add more desktops, as applications are their own desktops in a sense. So, you can open up several apps and switch back and forth between all of them via the multitask button. Then you can go to the desktop and flip between 1-4 of them...

Once you start adding more, you are really impeding the speed of operations by having to find, then select what you want.

Imho, of course.

Tim

The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to timsamoff For This Useful Post:
Rather than desktop..how about different OS for each desktop. You got iPHONE desktop and then Adroid and Palm pre. All in different desktop?

Originally Posted by timsamoff View Post