Active Topics

 


Reply
Thread Tools
Slixor's Avatar
Posts: 79 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ England
#1
Ok i have a shell script, but firstly, what file extension does it need?
and secondly, where do i put it on my phone, and then how do i run it?

big thanks to anyone who can help
 
brendan's Avatar
Posts: 531 | Thanked: 79 times | Joined on Oct 2006 @ This side of insane, that side of genius
#2
unless you have shell access on your phone, you cannot run shell scripts.
__________________
Nokia n800
OS 2008
Pharos iGPS 360-BT
ElmScan 5 BlueTooth
BlackBerry Bold (9000)
AT&T Wireless
 

The Following User Says Thank You to brendan For This Useful Post:
Slixor's Avatar
Posts: 79 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ England
#3
how do i get shell access
 
brendan's Avatar
Posts: 531 | Thanked: 79 times | Joined on Oct 2006 @ This side of insane, that side of genius
#4
on your phone? i dont think you can.

are you referring to your nokia ITT as a phone? that would be a different story.
__________________
Nokia n800
OS 2008
Pharos iGPS 360-BT
ElmScan 5 BlueTooth
BlackBerry Bold (9000)
AT&T Wireless
 

The Following User Says Thank You to brendan For This Useful Post:
Slixor's Avatar
Posts: 79 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ England
#5
yeah sorry, i meant my IT xD i didnt mean to say phone
 
brendan's Avatar
Posts: 531 | Thanked: 79 times | Joined on Oct 2006 @ This side of insane, that side of genius
#6
install xterm, or flash to the newest OS2008, as it is a default package.

to make a shell script executable, chmod +x /path/and/filename

or to simply execute a file

sh /path/and/filename
__________________
Nokia n800
OS 2008
Pharos iGPS 360-BT
ElmScan 5 BlueTooth
BlackBerry Bold (9000)
AT&T Wireless
 

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to brendan For This Useful Post:
Slixor's Avatar
Posts: 79 | Thanked: 5 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ England
#7
Cheers mate =]
 
bluesubaru's Avatar
Posts: 197 | Thanked: 39 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Long Island
#8
Where can i put the scripts so they are in the path?

They don't run from /home/user without a ./
 
Johnx's Avatar
Posts: 643 | Thanked: 628 times | Joined on Mar 2007 @ Seattle (or thereabouts)
#9
Code:
echo $PATH
will show you which directories are in your path.
 

The Following User Says Thank You to Johnx For This Useful Post:
bluesubaru's Avatar
Posts: 197 | Thanked: 39 times | Joined on Jan 2008 @ Long Island
#10
Is there GUI file manager I can run that will see all the directories after I gain root access in Xterm?
__________________
Paul <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
Linux newbie with a N810 OS2008 >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Art is the lie that shows us the Truth
Don't let a suitcase full of cheese be your big fork & spoon
 
Reply


 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:49.