Notices


Reply
Thread Tools
Posts: 1 | Thanked: 0 times | Joined on Nov 2014
#1
Kept doing the constant reboot. so reflash. Accidentally grabbed RX-34_2008SE_2.2007.51-3_PR_LV_MR0_ARM.bin and the Nokia desktop flasher actually put it on!

Bow just a blank screen but I can get it to show up on the system (Windows 7) as n800. flasher-3.5 and the tablet flasher see the tablet but wont allow me to flash it with the correct n810 firmware.

HELP!?
 
endsormeans's Avatar
Posts: 1,871 | Thanked: 4,196 times | Joined on Feb 2013 @ Supa Natural Vancouver Island
#2
Sorry didn't notice your post ...
been a little busy...
ya flashing from win7 is doable...
better is winxp or 'buntu (I suggest for those who are unfamiliar with linux since it installs and finds all necessary devices and stuffs auto. ...hence the best for the basics of what you need)
so unless you wish to do a virtual of winxp or linux (saying you have on your pc enough excess ram to really play with vm's that is. )
My best suggestion is this.
1- get a copy of the Nokia Internet Tablet Software Update Wizard
not an easy file to find...I'd give you a copy of mine...but I'm not going to post it openly..nokia proprietary stuff 'n stuff...which means private messaging you...which means in turn to do so...you have to post in proper forums (not the general forums) i think 10 times...then the spam filters figure you are ok ...and you are finally allowed to message fellow maemoers ) .
So the other option is using the one I know of on papy's

http://www.autopano.net/wiki-en/acti...d_on_Nokia_770

which should work fine. (if it doesn't for whatever reason...post enough times then pm me and I'll give you my copy)
This program is MEANT for windows...works fine on my winxp and win7 (just make sure you run compat. wiz. so it runs proper on your win7 is all).
Alot easier than the flasher... for those used to a visual windows program.

Next...
2- get the PROPER os2008 n810 diablo image... eh?


3- make sure your battery is full.
4- do exactly what it says on the wizard.
5- 1minute 30seconds later voila.
6-Tapioca!

Any probs just shout, whistle, vuvuzela, yodel ...etc
and I'll give you a hand.
__________________
Lurker since 2007, Member since 2013, Certifiable since 1972
Owner of : 1-n770 (in retirement),
3-n800's,
3-n810's,
5-n900's
-3 flawless
-1 loose usb (i don't muck with it & stress it , considering selling it, another can fix the loose usb)
-1 no telephony (perfect for permanent set-up as mini-pc with one of my monitors)
half a neo900 pre- "bought"....due for production any day now.


PIMP MY N8X0
Everything you need tightly explained in layman's terms ..in an easy to understand format.. and a video walkthrough to boot.
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94294
THE LOST GRONMAYER CATALOGS
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ight=gronmayer
N8X0 VIDEO ENCODING THE EASY WAY
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ght=mediacoder
242gb ON N800
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=90634

THE PAIN-FREE MAEMO DEVELOPMENT LIVE DISTRO-ISO FOR THE NOOB TO THE PRO
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=95567

AFFORDABLE MASS PRODUCTION FOR MAEMO PARTS
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=93325

Last edited by endsormeans; 2014-11-17 at 04:54.
 
endsormeans's Avatar
Posts: 1,871 | Thanked: 4,196 times | Joined on Feb 2013 @ Supa Natural Vancouver Island
#3
As far as the continuous reboot prob goes...hell just gettin' out of the "...can't flash properly..." issue goes...
removing the battery, inserting the power and usb cable then inserting the battery with home key and power button depressed should then show "found device n810" on the update wiz and then allow you to reflash using windows xp (possibly win7 too).
And I really reallly reallllly suggest using the proper NIT software update wiz for windows(remem. to use compat. mode for the wiz on win7)....it works the best prob. free for flashing using a windows host pc.
Connecting the device first and then putting the batt in ...should give the old girl the electroshock therapy she needs to jumpstart her properly.

Possible causes for continuous reboot are...
1-updating busybox can do it. Older versions of maemo-mapper, and mweather. The RSS reader can also do it. It can get stuck in a loop trying to download updates to certain software on bootup (before it has a network connection)
2-Happens consistently when switched off when running on battery and switched on after being plugged in. Doesn't happen if the charging icon appears.
3. Has not happened prior to additional software being installed. installed RDesktop, Slypheen and xterm. (Others have mentioned xterm as being a possible cause of the problem)
4-some have confirmed osso-xterm 0.13 was installed both times it exhibited the looping reboot syndrome.
5- device also reboots sometimes when transferring files around
etc.
These are allllll probs relating to continuous reboot issues with the older chinook firmware.

The only time I personally ever had the prob with continuous reboot with diablo... I narrowed down the culprit to the n810 charger...tried using an n800 charger (blockish looking charger) and used another battery...as well I cloned the os to external micro sd card and then upgraded the os ...asui, cssu, and upgraded to diablo turbo.
Never ever ever ever ever had a single continuous reboot prob since.
I do believe that the older firmware (chinook) while being great and all...didn't have the patches, tweaks and fixes that kept it sharp and prob free from buggy loops that could undermine the system in a varied number of ways and crop up consequently after doing or installing something/things or having just the perfect set of conditions battery-charge-wise.

After you proper reflash with n810 diablo.
I suggest immediately downloading rootsh, penguinbait's console tools v1, etc..., and grab your micro sd card and clone your os over to it, boot into it and continue with the upgrades towards having proper asui, cssu, and diablo turbo installed ...
there are lotsa write-ups around for it...
I did a couple pretty comprehensive ones meself even.
good luck...
tell me how it goes...
and if you need to puzzle through something just shout.
Me or someone else will surely hear and try to help.
__________________
Lurker since 2007, Member since 2013, Certifiable since 1972
Owner of : 1-n770 (in retirement),
3-n800's,
3-n810's,
5-n900's
-3 flawless
-1 loose usb (i don't muck with it & stress it , considering selling it, another can fix the loose usb)
-1 no telephony (perfect for permanent set-up as mini-pc with one of my monitors)
half a neo900 pre- "bought"....due for production any day now.


PIMP MY N8X0
Everything you need tightly explained in layman's terms ..in an easy to understand format.. and a video walkthrough to boot.
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94294
THE LOST GRONMAYER CATALOGS
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ight=gronmayer
N8X0 VIDEO ENCODING THE EASY WAY
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ght=mediacoder
242gb ON N800
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=90634

THE PAIN-FREE MAEMO DEVELOPMENT LIVE DISTRO-ISO FOR THE NOOB TO THE PRO
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=95567

AFFORDABLE MASS PRODUCTION FOR MAEMO PARTS
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=93325

Last edited by endsormeans; 2014-11-17 at 20:19.
 
Posts: 850 | Thanked: 871 times | Joined on Sep 2010
#4
Do you know the hardware revision? The flasher outputs something like this "Found device RX-44, hardware revision 0501".

You might be able to add --set-hw-revision RX-44:0501 (with the correct hardware revision) to the flasher command. If that doesn't work, you could replace the -f with -c to cold flash it.

Edit: Use flasher -i to get hardware revision
 

The Following User Says Thank You to auouymous For This Useful Post:
endsormeans's Avatar
Posts: 1,871 | Thanked: 4,196 times | Joined on Feb 2013 @ Supa Natural Vancouver Island
#5
great suggestion...
__________________
Lurker since 2007, Member since 2013, Certifiable since 1972
Owner of : 1-n770 (in retirement),
3-n800's,
3-n810's,
5-n900's
-3 flawless
-1 loose usb (i don't muck with it & stress it , considering selling it, another can fix the loose usb)
-1 no telephony (perfect for permanent set-up as mini-pc with one of my monitors)
half a neo900 pre- "bought"....due for production any day now.


PIMP MY N8X0
Everything you need tightly explained in layman's terms ..in an easy to understand format.. and a video walkthrough to boot.
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94294
THE LOST GRONMAYER CATALOGS
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ight=gronmayer
N8X0 VIDEO ENCODING THE EASY WAY
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ght=mediacoder
242gb ON N800
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=90634

THE PAIN-FREE MAEMO DEVELOPMENT LIVE DISTRO-ISO FOR THE NOOB TO THE PRO
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=95567

AFFORDABLE MASS PRODUCTION FOR MAEMO PARTS
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=93325
 
endsormeans's Avatar
Posts: 1,871 | Thanked: 4,196 times | Joined on Feb 2013 @ Supa Natural Vancouver Island
#6
So ....
Techbadger...
Wha' happen' man?
did you get your device sorted out?
__________________
Lurker since 2007, Member since 2013, Certifiable since 1972
Owner of : 1-n770 (in retirement),
3-n800's,
3-n810's,
5-n900's
-3 flawless
-1 loose usb (i don't muck with it & stress it , considering selling it, another can fix the loose usb)
-1 no telephony (perfect for permanent set-up as mini-pc with one of my monitors)
half a neo900 pre- "bought"....due for production any day now.


PIMP MY N8X0
Everything you need tightly explained in layman's terms ..in an easy to understand format.. and a video walkthrough to boot.
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94294
THE LOST GRONMAYER CATALOGS
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ight=gronmayer
N8X0 VIDEO ENCODING THE EASY WAY
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ght=mediacoder
242gb ON N800
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=90634

THE PAIN-FREE MAEMO DEVELOPMENT LIVE DISTRO-ISO FOR THE NOOB TO THE PRO
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=95567

AFFORDABLE MASS PRODUCTION FOR MAEMO PARTS
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=93325
 
Posts: 2,130 | Thanked: 8,333 times | Joined on May 2010
#7
Originally Posted by auouymous View Post
You might be able to add --set-hw-revision RX-44:0501 (with the correct hardware revision) to the flasher command. If that doesn't work, you could replace the -f with -c to cold flash it.
No, you can set only HW revision (0501), not device (RX-44).

Anyway, why you cannot flash correct FIASCO image for your device?
 

The Following User Says Thank You to pali For This Useful Post:
endsormeans's Avatar
Posts: 1,871 | Thanked: 4,196 times | Joined on Feb 2013 @ Supa Natural Vancouver Island
#8
I'm curious at that too...
a proper reflash should do the trick.
I figured it was in part the fact he's using win7 to be some of his issue with the wonky behaviour. But if he does a proper reflash ...that should clear up his device and have it working right.

Just a guess...but perhaps he got a wee bit frustrated and has set down his device...and hasn't come back here since posting.
__________________
Lurker since 2007, Member since 2013, Certifiable since 1972
Owner of : 1-n770 (in retirement),
3-n800's,
3-n810's,
5-n900's
-3 flawless
-1 loose usb (i don't muck with it & stress it , considering selling it, another can fix the loose usb)
-1 no telephony (perfect for permanent set-up as mini-pc with one of my monitors)
half a neo900 pre- "bought"....due for production any day now.


PIMP MY N8X0
Everything you need tightly explained in layman's terms ..in an easy to understand format.. and a video walkthrough to boot.
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=94294
THE LOST GRONMAYER CATALOGS
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ight=gronmayer
N8X0 VIDEO ENCODING THE EASY WAY
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php...ght=mediacoder
242gb ON N800
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=90634

THE PAIN-FREE MAEMO DEVELOPMENT LIVE DISTRO-ISO FOR THE NOOB TO THE PRO
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=95567

AFFORDABLE MASS PRODUCTION FOR MAEMO PARTS
http://talk.maemo.org/showthread.php?t=93325
 
Reply

Thread Tools

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:07.